We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a relaxing break”
Review of Hotel ManGaby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ManGaby
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a relaxing break”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Staff here are so friendly,they really go out of there way to make you feel welcome. Our room was kept spotless, as is the rest of the hotel and pool. We extended our staff as we were having such a good time! I don't normally write reviews but they really deserve the praise!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicolaH75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    73
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
102
185
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I am a volunteer living in another part of the country and chose to take a solo weekend trip to relax and decompress. Playa Hermosa was perfect for this and Hotel ManGaby was equally exactly what I was looking for. As a 27 year old female solo traveler (gringa), I wanted to make sure I felt safe in the room (i.e. that there was a trustworthy way to lock the door) and wouldn't be concerned about leaving my things in the room. I felt safe at this hotel; it was nicely furnished and clean, I had a beautiful balcony overlooking the lovely pool, the staff was excellent, and it was just a short walk to the beach. The price was very reasonable for the quality of the room. I have traveled to many other parts of the country and mostly stayed in hostels - this trip was my most gringo-style trip (in terms of having a room with A/C, hot water, etc.) and I paid more than for the hostels, but far less than you'd pay for an equivalent room in the states. Overall, I was very pleased and would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank majebl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2011

This is the best place to stay in Playa Hermosa. Pick-up service from the airport, great value, hot water, television, and wifi! Breakfast is included. The restaurant is five star! The hotel itself is beautiful and is only steps from the beach. I loved the swimming pool. The owner is extremely friendly and will go out of his way to make your stay wonderful. I've travelled throughout Costa Rica and Playa Hermosa is my favorite.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alice_0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2010

The Hotel Mangaby was not exceptional but very nice. The people were wonderful and totally awesome. The service is beyond compare. The room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcwestbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Hotel Mangaby is a great place to stay!! Great pool that cools you off on those hot days! The hotel owners and staff were great!! Nice walk to the beach too! Local to other places in the area!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mountains
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

No TV due to accident(not hotels fault), a small walk to beach. Small walk to nice restaurant but expensive. OK so the fire hazard rooms.... you do NOT have a normal door you have ONLY sliding glass doors for an entrance. You MUST have a key to LOCK from INSIDE! We locked door at night but if there was an emergency and we had to quickly escape we'd have to fiddle with finding the key...so we ended up leaving it in the lock....BUT next morning I was taking shower and my husband needed to use their internet so he asked me do u want me to leave it unlocked or locked? I told him to lock it of course but when I was finished my shower I realized I had no way of getting out. We only stayed one night so we didn't get to check out local town or anything.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wannatravelworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2010

We traveled the entire pacific coast from south to north ending up at the Mangaby. While we were at some very upscale locations that were very nice, the Mangaby beats them in so many genuine ways. The staff was super, drove us to Coco beach because we needed some things from a pharmacy. Rooms were always neat and clean as was the pool. Their little open air cafe was a nice touch for snacks and relaxing but for meals we chose to dine at one of the beach front restaurants. Cable TV was best we had our entire trip. Stations were actual US networks, not spanish with english subtitles. This was the ONLY place we stayed where they actually had free wifi available 24 hrs a day and it stayed up too. In contrast, Best Western in Jaco Beach had free wifi but good luck FINDING AND KEEPING A SIGNAL. This is NOT a beach front hotel, it's about a block to the beach. It is also NOT a luxury hotel. Rooms are very nice but nothing plush. I'd stay here any time and advise anyone I know going to Playa de Hermosa to do the same!!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alftex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#3 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
412 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,515 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ManGaby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ManGaby

Property: Hotel ManGaby
Address: Playa Hermosa segunda entrada, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ManGaby 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ManGaby is a modern two-story facility of the latest design. We have a total of 17 room accommodations distributed as follows:13 Standard Rooms including two Full sized beds.5 on the first floor made handicap accessible.8 on the second floor each with their own balcony overlooking the pool.2 Mini-Suites including one King sized bed, furnished living room, a small breakfast area and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel ManGaby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangaby Hotel Playa Hermosa
Hotel ManGaby Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing