We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful when staying or eating here.”
Review of Hotel ManGaby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ManGaby
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We recently ate a nice dinner here. When we left we forgot our babies back pack which had our camera in it with all of our pictures of our beautiful trip to Playa Hermosa. We returned the next day and they gave us the backpack without the camera in it. When we questioned them about it the manager said that he and his son and the waiter were the only ones to have had the backpack. Please be careful when staying our eating here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank 1221RustonLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmangaby H, Gerente at Hotel ManGaby, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Hotel and Restaurant ManGaby you were pleased by recivirlos in our restaurant. Our end has always been that customers leave satisfied. But we can not know that customers bring or do not bring,
therefore, we are dificl know if the object mention, it may have left elsewhere before coming to our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

we loved hotel mangaby, very quiet and close to the hot springs
hope to comeback next year
rooms are clean and spacious

great seafood at the restaurant, try the ceviche
we stay at the room by the restaurant and pool

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhonsvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This hotel is very clean and safe it is one block or so from the beach. Alberto the owner and his son Alberto are very nice..The restaurant has great food and is fairly priced for the area. The pool is very nice and clean. We will plan on staying there again if we go back to this area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gatorpate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

If you are looking for a less costly alternative to the fancy resorts springing up along the beaches of Costa Rica, this is a great place. Very nice clean rooms a long block from the beach and you can watch the monkeys on the way to the beach. Nice breakfast. And I loved the pool with its little waterfall. Good choice.. Friendly owners.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarilynUtica_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

First time here and very satisfied. Small hotel with great pool, very friendly and truly happy staff, good size rooms all with private balcony wth view to pool. Will return and certainly recommend to others as friends did to us. If possible, ask for a second floor room for a better view to trees and birds. Very good value and peaceful.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingTico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Very modern and clean , a 1 minute walk to the beach. We stayed one night in a comparably priced hotel on the beach and moved the next morning to mangaby. Breakfast included, a great pool, and amenities in the room .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shashann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Small, nice, clean, relaxing and comfortable place. Sadly, the restaurant's food very expensive....If you are looking for a calm place this might be the perfect hotel for you, (great for kids too). The beach is near by, it's a beautiful clean place but don't expect restaurants or other places to hang out there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunandpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Hermosa hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
0.3 mi away
Condovac la Costa
Condovac la Costa
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
567 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Acacia
Villa Acacia
#8 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#3 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Villas Huetares
Hotel & Villas Huetares
#6 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ManGaby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ManGaby

Address: Playa Hermosa segunda entrada, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#1 Best Value Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range: £64 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ManGaby 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ManGaby is a modern two-story facility of the latest design. We have a total of 17 room accommodations distributed as follows:13 Standard Rooms including two Full sized beds.5 on the first floor made handicap accessible.8 on the second floor each with their own balcony overlooking the pool.2 Mini-Suites including one King sized bed, furnished living room, a small breakfast area and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel ManGaby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangaby Hotel Playa Hermosa
Hotel ManGaby Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing