We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Villa del Sueno(Playa Hermosa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Velero(Playa Hermosa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel ManGaby(Playa Hermosa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Acacia(Playa Hermosa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Condovac la Costa(Playa Hermosa)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Costa Smeralda(Gulf of Papagayo)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (615)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveller rating
367
178
55
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
178
55
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshowler monkeysocean frontbeachfront suiteoutdoor jacuzzicosta ricabeautiful hotelseparate sitting areahotel restaurantsitting roomlarge treesgarden viewhot tubbeautiful roomliberia airportquiet beachlarge bedroomopen air restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
480 - 485 of 615 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2007

We stayed here 3 nights and loved it. Right on the beach and cheaper than the hotels that are up the hill. The food and drinks at the hotel were very reasonable. The room was a little small but was clean and had air conditioning. No phone but the front desk will let you use theirs.

The snorkeling they suggested was a bit pricey for us but there was a guy on the beach who approached us and took us and another couple out for 2 hours one morning and swam with us and showed us amazing fish and starfish and stingrays. $70 for me and my husband and it was better snorkeling than hawaii! I did get stung by several little tiny jellyfish so I would recommend snorkeling with a tee shirt on.

Playa del Coco is a short drive away but not nearly as nice as Playa hermosa. Although if you want to get all your souvenir shopping done in one place, go to one of the souvenir "superstores" in Playa Coco. The prices were the lowest we had seen.

The pool was nice but the jacuzzi wasn't hot, it was cold with jets. Which I ended up loving after I got a sunburn.

We ate dinner one night at Ginger which was nice but the 2nd night we ate at Finisterra right up the hill and had one of the best meals of our lives. Seriously, top ten. Go there at dusk to watch the sunset, the view is amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cybperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2007

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights for our honeymoon and had a great time despite the fact that it rained a lot (we got caught in unusually bad weather--the worst they had seen in 15 years). The location is fantastic: steps from the beach and ocean. The restaurant is casual but excellent, particularly the meat and fish dishes which were exceptional and very nicely priced. We stayed in the newer rooms (which we recommend). They were private, clean, comfortable, and really nicely decorated. The grounds, especially the pool area was just gorgeous, surrounded by trees and plants--incredibly romantic. And you can beat the price.

The best part of our stay was the manager and the whole staff--super friendly and attentive to our every need. They arranged everything from a private dinner on our balcony to transportation to nearby Playas del Coco. They also put us in touch with Memo Espinoza, a local tour guide who put together a fantastic tour at a very reasonable price and drove us everywhere we asked! Ask for him--he was fantastic.

The hotel is near several restaurants. On the second night we walked over to the Villa del Sueno hotel where we also had a fantastic dinner--the hotel, especially the elegant restaurant, looked very nice (I believe it's a bit pricier), but it had neither access to the beach nor as beautiful a pool area as Hotel Playa Hermosa. When we go back to Costa Rica, we'll definitely stay at Hotel Playa Hermosa again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SFparadiseseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2007

I stayed at Bosque Del Mar November 18 - 24 and I am glad I booked this resort - it was quiet (expect for the monkey's), clean, and a beautiful beach.

We had room 110 one of the newer suites. It had 2 queen beds a sitting room a balcony and a very nice bathroom. There was a mini fridge and a coffee maker in the suites.

The beach is about 1 mile long and Bosque del Mar is one of the only hotels directly on the beach. There is a restaurant that we ate lunch at and there are a few others within walking distance.

We rented a car so we went to Playa del Coco for dinner most days - that beach area is too busy!

My tip - bring your own beach towels - the hotel does not give them out and bring bug spray (2 cans).

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lot418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2007

I apologize for the lateness of this review. We stayed at the Hotel Playa Hermosa during the last week of May and the first week of June, 2007. An excellent, eco-conscious, family-friendly hotel with a good restaurant and a very friendly and courteous staff. Muchas gracias a Jose, Alex, Marlon, y Miguel. Most of the staff is bilingual and they are very patient with any stumbling attempts at Spanish. They will arrange tours and excursions, car rentals, taxi service, wi-fi access, almost anything that you can think of.

It's a relatively small hotel; the updated deluxe rooms are excellent. They are clean, well-furnished, and comfortable. The hotel is well landscaped, and it blends almost seamlessly into the surrounding bosque. You'll see iguanas, parrots, and papayas just strolling the grounds. I hope that they don't destroy any of the trees or surrounding vegetation if they expand.

It has a small pool, which is well maintained. The dining area is casual, open air, with several tables to accommodate intimate or family dining. The lunches and suppers are well prepared, and the ingredients are fresh.

The beach is a short walk from the hotel. It's clean, and they have chairs in front of the hotel. The beach is approximately a one-mile, crescent-shaped strip. The Hotel is at the south end of the strip. You'll see several small fishing boats anchored in the protected water. The water is safe for swimming, even for children. (The surf can get occasionally choppy, but nothing dangerous.) You can stroll the beach northward where you can walk into the town itself.

This is a unique hotel, reasonably priced, that is well managed and maintained. The staff and service are excellent. The town of Playa Hermosa is growing rapidly. It would be nice to think that Hotel Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar can preserve its unique character.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank theroux_houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2007

We spent 5 dys at end of August at Bosque Del Mar right on the beach. We had one of the newer rooms which are lovely. Even had TV, A/C, and coffee in room coffee maker every day. The grounds are lovely. We watched monkeys in the trees while laying at the pool. Beach was rather empty but clean & beautiful. We watched the waves while dining. Hotel restaurant was more than adequate. There were a few nearby restauants that we also tried. Hotel staff was very attentive and accommodating. We found a young man that took us on tours of the jungle, volcano, natural parks, etc. We took a canopy tour and swung through the forest. Very cool and we aren't young! We didn't have a car and wouldn't have found our way around anyway since the roads have no signs and many are in very bad shape. Weather was a little rainy but not enough to spoil our time. I would go a little earlier in the summer next time - maybe not so rainy. Overall it was very relaxing and enjoyable. Would definitely stay here again! In this hotel and at Playa Hermosa!

2  Thank Harley2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews