We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Alva, Fl
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We've known James Hamilton ever since he opened Tilajari Resort and Country Club in Muelle, Costa Rica, and we were delighted when he opened his new hotel in Playa Hermosa.
Both hotels reflect his dream to offer the best to his clients and the only complaint we have always had, was that we had to leave.
Do yourselves a favor and visit both hotels....Tilajari is near the Arenal Volcana, and Bosque del Mar is in a beautiful area of Guanacaste. Plus the fishing is awesome in Playa Hermosa.
Hopefully, you'll get to meet Jim and hear how he came to Costa Rica many years ago, and how he has succeeded. Great family and a great friend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn_alva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    164
    46
    11
    4
See reviews for
180
248
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We loved this hotel! The staff were wonderfully helpful and attentive (especially when we arrived in the middle of the night after a delayed flight), and the property itself was beautifully kept. The rooms were very clean, comfortable, and spacious. While we enjoyed the beautiful pool in the center of the property, we also loved the location right on the beach. (My only suggestion would be to build a "foot wash" near the edge of the beach.) Overall, our stay exceeded our expectations; we'd stay here again in a heartbeat if we make it back to Costa Rica again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaddyinDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Thank you staff of Bosque del Mar Hotel for our recent stay at your hotel. You made our Son and Daughter-In-Laws wedding a most memorable celebration we have ever experienced. From the moment we arrived we felt very welcomed and upon arriving we were greeted with cocktail drinks and help carrying our bags to our rooms. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast in the morning was very good and th service of the staff was amazing. I loved the idea of waking to Howler Monkeys in the morning. What a refreshing change to start your day. The pool and hot tub was very nice and they had waiters to provide bar and food service while guests enjoyed the pool and outdoor amentities. The wedding of our son and daughter-in-law was so beautiful and the staff at the hotel attended to make sure every detail was taken care of. The cocktail hour was held immediately after the wedding on the beach and appetizers and cocktails were delicious. The reception was amazing, the wedding meal was very good and we enjoyed the entire evening dancing. My biggest compliment was when the staff heard that our transportation would be arriving before we could have breakfast before we left, they brought in staff to prepare a buffet for the early travelers. I have never received service like that anywhere we have ever traveled to. If you are looking for a wonderful staff to caterer to your wedding then look no further, The Staff at Bosque Del Mar Hotel will take care of your every need!

Room Tip: Loved our second room floor. All rooms have a small balcony or patio. Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beavercreek, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
225 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Where do I start? This hotel is lovely. My family had an ocean front room and loved everything about it. Listening to the ocean at night is so relaxing. The sliding door to the outdoor patio does not have a screen so you can't sleep with the door open, but you can still hear the ocean. The room was clean and comfortable. We had a room on the top floor and for two nights during our visit we were awakened by howler monkeys fighting/playing on the roof. It would have really been awful except it was kind of remarkable to be woken up by howler monkeys. They sleep in the surrounding trees through the day. The garden and pool area is beautiful. One thing we didn't really enjoy was the food in the restaurant. It was average at best, although we really did like the buffalo wings a lot. The restaurants/bars down on the beach from the hotel are really good (We really enjoyed Aqua Sport a lot). If the food was better, I would have given this hotel 5 stars. The hotel's beach area has lounge chairs to use and the staff takes drink orders while you are relaxing. All four of us had messages on the beach during our visit and we really enjoyed them. After a day of snorkeling and hiking, the messages were much needed. One of the true gems of this hotel is its staff. They are phenomenal and their service is exceptional. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay the best it could be. My family was attending a wedding at the hotel and we had a great time. From the wedding, social hour, dinner, reception, to the fire pit on the beach after the festivities were over, the event couldn't have gone better. As for our visit, the only thing I would change would be to not take the horseback ride excursion the hotel offers. Repeat, do NOT take this tour. We felt so sorry for the fly covered horses and we didn't see any wildlife during the whole trip. Even with the totally disappointing horseback excursion, our experience with the hotel was wonderful. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again or host a family event there!

Room Tip: The top floor ocean front rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCB0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Tennessee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We recently spent a few nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had an oceanfront room and loved hearing the surf continually. One of the best things was having lounge chairs with cushions available for hotel guests in the shade under the trees (you could move to sun if you wanted) - lovely way to enjoy the beach without roasting. Also they provide drink/snack service out there as well. Food was surprisingly good for a hotel with reasonable prices. WiFi was strong and better than I expected and we were at the edge of the property - always important to me. Book your massage from one of the ladies on the beach instead of through the hotel - much cheaper and she was excellent. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was 601 - oceanfront but on the second floor so you had an ocean view but on the far end so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RagtopGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Luxury hotel placed right on the beach. I have room with jacuzzi on the terrace, big and airy room, which was perfectly designed. Perfect service, clean room and don't forget to have massage on the beach. One minus - hotel is quite expensive

Room Tip: 601 and 603 - ocean view and jacuzzi on the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yeneffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This recently built boutique hotel is located on the quiet black sand beach of Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste, CR. It is surrounded by lush tropical plants and trees populated by a fantastic array of different tropical birds, lizards, and visiting howler monkeys. There is an open air restaurant and bar as well as beautiful pool with waterfall and hot tub. We found the combination of beach side location, and large quiet beach with fantastic garden to be perfect for our trip.

Food at the restaurant was good to very good. Restaurant prices were very high for lunch and dinner (reasonable for breakfast), but we found it to be worth it for the location, view, and convenience.

We rented an ocean front suite which was perfect for a family of four. Would definitely recommend the second floor for a better view. The rooms are very modern with good air conditioning and Wi-Fi. Great areas for storage of clothes, suit cases and dive/snorkeling gear.

Room Tip: Ocean Front suite second floor was ideal. We did not experience any problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.5 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
2.4 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
5.0 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#3 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
2.5 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
10.6 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa

Property: Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
Address: Primera Entrada a Playa Hermosa 300 mts Oeste, Playa Hermosa 50303, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique beachfront property in Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste with a high-end boutique eco concept comes alive with Hotel Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bosque Del Mar Playa Hermosa Costa Rica - Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing