We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This hotel was amazing.... beautiful room, awesome ocean view suite and great beach. The staff was very friendly and really appreciated our attempts to communicate in Spanish. The food was good, especially breakfast. The housekeeping staff did a great job of getting the sand out every day. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlagRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    165
    48
    11
    4
See reviews for
182
249
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We had mixed feelings about this particular hotel. There were good things and bad.

The rooms appeared to be recently renovated or new. The finishes were nice and the bathroom was gorgeous. Plenty of closet space. The beds were very comfortable and we had a suite with a couch which they offered to put bedding on if we wanted. In other places in Costa Rica it seemed that things got damp easily. At this particular hotel it seemed that this was not the case - the inside of the rooms had easy to control temperatures and it was not damp like in other places in CR.

Our stay was riddled with little problems. Overall the facility is quite nice, but we seemed to have a bad string of luck.

There was a musty/smoky smell in our room when we arrived, but the front desk worked quickly to try and solve that problem. Though the smell never really went away, they did everything they could and it was considerably better by the end of our first day there.

Our jacuzzi on our porch worked, but only partly. It worked enough for us to use it, but the lights in it were broken and we definitely had the desk staff up there helping us turn it on because it wouldn't work when we got there.

We had a burnt out light bulb on our porch. Our jacuzzi was dirty when we got there. The pool was disappointingly small. Our door key stopped working randomly and it took two or three times for them to get a new key that would work for us. Our door fell off the track and it took them quite some time to fix it. Just a bunch of little things that seemed to add up to begin to annoy us. Not to mention when we returned home we discovered that our travel agent had called the hotel and asked them to send a bottle of wine and snacks to our room - a gift we never saw!

If you are looking for a private beach, this hotel is great. The beach here is very small - just about 1/2 a mile-1 mile long and with just a couple of hotels right on the beach. There are not a lot of people out there, so it is a nice quiet location. Just beware the dogs and the iguanas and chickens. They seem to walk freely around the property. The only time it is really annoying is if you are eating at the hotel restaurant (which is open air) and the dogs come and sit next to you waiting for you to feed them. It is kinda icky.

When we say that it is secluded, we mean it. There is not much around this hotel. If you are looking for a town or some shopping or some local nightlife, do NOT stay here - you will be very disappointed.

We did find a guy who came up onto the beach offering snorkeling for $25 per person. Based on the recommendation of another guest, we went and it was a great choice for us. He was a great guide and made sure we saw lots of fantastic marine life. Well worth the $25.

There are not too many eating options in the area. We HIGHLY recommend that you try the restaurant at the Villa del Sueno. The prices are similar to the Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar but the quality of the food and the service is much better. We ate there twice and received a discount for our second dinner there since we had been there before. We also recommend walking up the street to the pizzeria. There are 2 pizza shops near the hotel. We went to the one closer to the hotel and it was great. The prices were reasonable and they even had a deal - buy one bottle of wine, get the other free. There was no one else in the restaurant when we were there and the server/owner was very accommodating and great to talk to about the area and the culture in Guanacaste.

If we had to choose again, we would probably stay somewhere else. I think the kicker was the last night when we had to be up at 4am to catch our ride to the airport and from the hours of 1am to 4am there were loud banging noises coming from our roof. It sounded as though there were iguanas fighting or rolling around on the roof. Then again, it also sounded like there was a dog running back and forth in our room scratching up the floor. The echo of this ridiculous noise might have been worse than the actual noise. Either way, it was the nail in the coffin of this particular stay. If you are going to spend this kind of money, you could probably stay somewhere just a little better.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scrunt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We stayed in a beachfront suite with jacuzzi on our deck. Were woken by the howler monkey family that resides there - one of them came right on to the deck rail above us.
Wonderful sounds of waves - very quiet beach with shade available. Large comfortable rooms with huge bathrooms and great shower.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KyaVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

We arrived at this hotel after a very long drive from Montervede, and were greeted by very friendly front desk staff. The hotel is a little piece of paradise. It sits right on the beach. The lobby is beautiful. A great starting point of what is to come for our final leg of our Costa Rican vacation.

The restaurant is right off the lobby and facing the beach. We ate here for every meal except one while at the hotel. The continental breakfast which was included was far from continental. The first day was a week day we ordered anything off the menu and the 2nd day was a weekend day they had a wonderful breakfast buffet. One night we had room service and I had a wonderful Sea Bass and the final night we ate in the dining room facing the ocean and watching the sun set. I had one of the best steaks in my life with a wonderful coconut sauce. The food prices were fair for a hotel and the food was outstanding as well as their service.
The beach is wonderful. It’s clean and very open with not many people. It’s like you’re own piece of paradise. There are a few places you can walk to from the beach. There are a few tiny hotels on this stretch of beach. We did walk down and checked them out. Had lunch at one of them and drinks at another. We did not go to the beach shack next to the hotel. The guy who said he was the owner was a bit shady for me and his prices were not low enough to be a beach shack!
The hotel rooms were amazing. It was more like a suite with a living area and a separate bedroom. The room was very high-tech. The lighting was very nice and the speaker system was great. We were able to get a cable from the front desk and plug in our iPod and listen to music in surround sound in our room. We had a nice balcony, and were able to look out at the pool and could see lots of howler monkeys in the trees outside our large windows. The bathroom was beautifully designed and had an incredible shower set-up. . Everything was very clean and very new. We had 2 flat screen TVs and a mini fridge in our room.
This hotel was our 4th and final hotel while in Costa Rica. While here we saw more animals than we saw anywhere else in Costa Rica. There were howler monkeys everywhere, and iguanas by the pool and by the beach. They even have some chickens and chicks by the beach, cute but did not understand.
At the point of our stay they had yet to have a hotel bar, but were working on opening in the next few weeks. . While at the pool you could request drinks from the restaurants and they would bring them out to you. Once we started doing this they kept checking back with us to see if we wanted anything else. Great service!

We want to go back and stay at this hotel again. Only have 2 small suggestions which would make this an even more amazing resort.
1) Hotel Bar – but this was being worked on while we were there , so just a matter of time before it opens
2) Cushions for the chairs at the pool and the beach.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jerseyjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2010

The hotel is right on the beach with beautiful surroundings! The hotel should be a 5 star rated hotel with a 3 star budget. It is breathtakingly beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcwestbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Hotel Playa Hermosa is a first class hotel with a first class staff. Our stay was outstanding!! Beach front in area with plenty to do.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

This is now one of my all time favorite hotels. Stayed here with family and friends April 15 - 17. The rooms are modern and well appointed. We were greeted with cold towels and fresh drinks and made to feel very welcome. The beach is incredible, it fel like we had our own private beach. The staff is one of the best I have encountered. My mother injured herself during the trip and they went above and beyond assisting us and making sure she was comfortable. The monkee's that visit in the morning's were great, just don't leave any food on your balcony! The hotel has a nice pool with a rock waterfall (look for the iguana's that like to sun on the rocks in the morning). We ate all of our meals at the restaruant and found all the food to be excellent. Each room came with a mini fridge, hair-dryer and coffee maker and there is a grocery store nearby. The hotel is in a very private/quiet area, but only five minutes from Playa Del Coco which has numerous restaurants and bars. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone. I plan on going back and booking one of the oceanfront suites with a hot tub on the balcony.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbowmantn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.5 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
350 reviews
2.4 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
5.0 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#3 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
412 reviews
10.6 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa

Property: Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
Address: Primera Entrada a Playa Hermosa 300 mts Oeste, Playa Hermosa 50303, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique beachfront property in Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste with a high-end boutique eco concept comes alive with Hotel Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bosque Del Mar Playa Hermosa Costa Rica - Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing