We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel I've stayed in yet”
Review of Iguana Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Hermosa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Iguana Inn
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Best Hostel I have stayed in in Costa Rica by far!, great for young backpackers, Playa Hermosa is uncrowded and beautiful . And the owners of this place are amazingly friendly and helpful !

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2009

Nice place, awesome location, nice people.

The number is (---) -------- if you want to make a reservation.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiteLightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2009

I stayed there for one week to relax a little, work a little, swim, take sun and run. I got what I was looking for at a very good price. The owners are very friendly and ready to help. The beach is a one minute walk and is very nice, quiet and clean. I generally slept well and my fan was good enough. Upstairs room are probably cooler.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lhotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2008

We had a room overlooking the pool and patio for US$20 a night. Weren't even going to go to Costa Rica on a year-long trip volunteering in Central America but ended up staying a week.The pool was always empty and everyone was usually out so it really was like having our own place in Costa Rica. The rooms were not like a normal hotel, more like a guest cottage at a friends so maybe not for everyone but very fresh and clean with nice gardens. Also, not directly on the beach but a block or so walk away. This is a really sweet village, though with a nice beach. When we left the owner even gave us a lift to the bus station. Does anyone have a phone number for them?

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mugu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2007

A friend and I went to playa hermosa looking for a cheap quiet pacific beach. The beach was wonderful and not overcrowded, with beautiful sunsets. The first night we were there were stayed at the Iguana Inn. The Inn had a kitchen we could use and a very small clean pool. It was thirty dollars total for the two of us. We got a room with a single and a double bed and a private bathroom. The room was very poorly lit and somewhat dingy, but pretty clean. Our biggest problem, though, was the temperature of the room. We had been okay in various other places in Costa Rica without air conditioning. Not here! The room was probably 10 degrees warmer than the 80-90 degrees it was outside. There was one pathetic fan that did nothing for the room. We stayed in Playa Hermosa two more nights but transferred to a nicer hotel and were so much happier.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bcitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Pablosjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Groinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Hermosa hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Acacia
Villa Acacia
#8 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#3 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
0.0 mi away
Condovac la Costa
Condovac la Costa
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Inn

Address: Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Number of rooms: 172
Also Known As:
Iguana Hotel Playa Hermosa
Iguana Inn Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing