We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint, secluded hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Marin, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Quaint, secluded hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights here in July and enjoyed our stay very much. We stayed in the larger room with the kitchenette. It was perfect for our family, as we could make some meals ourselves. We also ate at the hotel restaurant. The food was always fresh and flavorful. The rooms were simple, but comfortable. We enjoyed the beach down the road more than playa samara. The beach was clean and well protected because it was in a cove. We also enjoyed cooling down in the hotel pool. We were quite happy with our stay at hotel Paradiso del Crocodrilo and would stay there again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank explorista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    13
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
45
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

During my vacation in Costa Rica, I came across to the Hotel Paraiso Cocodrilo and from the beginning I liked it so much. The Room, the service and especially the international and national food. Recently we had a Serbian bean soup and otherwise they have always fresh fish and is delivered daily by local fishermen. The hotel complex has impressed me really. The green area and pool are well maintained. The hotel is not directly in Samara, its like 25- 30 minutes by car. But this was good for me. Here I could enjoy the quiet time and the walk to the beach Playa Buena Vista was only 10 minutes. Also worth mentioning is the Playa Barrigona. A white sand beach and blue sea where you can relax very well and sometimes to take time out to breathe. For longer stays, I recommend to rent a car to be flexible and to visit other places.

Room Tip: Alle Zimmer sind top ausgestattet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is about a 15 min drive from Samara, so you need your own ride. It's very clean, a little quirky, and nestled in a hideaway area of jungle with lots of local wildlife (and beautiful nighttime fireflies). Nice pool and the quirky owner makes a damn good meal! A 10 min walk to the beach (or two mins if you walk through the crocodile area - not recommended lol). This is a great place to stay if you want to be out of the way but close to samara

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jamesdaley1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were traveling through Samara and needed a place to stay for one night and Paraiso del Cocodrilo fit the bill. We were looking for something a bit more rural, and beach proximity was not essential (we were en route to Playa Grande, where we would have plenty of beach time). This hotel has a lot of character and the owner seemed friendly, albeit a little strange. The grounds are very pretty, and the pool is nice. The hotel is a bit removed from Samara, and having your own transportation is crucial, especially if you're planning on staying longer than a day or two. It's about a 15 minute drive from town, and the beach is about a ten minute walk down a dirt road.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wodaley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We are a young couple and spent 5 nights here during march 2014. We liked the hotel very much and recommend it to you!

First of all, the service is great - Rainer and his team take care for all your special wishes, no matter how strange they might be. ;-)

Then, we admired the big garden - everyone can find his perfect spot here, either the pool, green grass, palm trees, quiet corners, shiny places... And a lot of cute animals appear during all times of the day, e.g. apes, perroquets and iguanas!

Moreover, the food is very good. Even some guests from the other hotel nearby came over each day as they prefered the food at our hotel. :-D

Please be aware that you will not enjoy this hotel without a car - because it is located several kilometres away from Samara (where you can find restaurants and bars). And you will also like it for adventures. So we were happy about our car. However some other guests were happy without a car as well, so I guess it depends on what you want to do. ;-)

Don't worry about the river: even a normal car like a Corolla can easily pass through, as it is not as deep as it seems.

Please pay attention to pickpockets at Barrigona Beach, as a lot fof things get stolen here! Still, the beach is very nice, surely one of the best in Costa Rica!

The other beach next to the hotel is also geat, but with darker sand.

If you have the chance, book the tour to the volcano, it's worth a visit!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is our tenth year coming to this little bit of paradise. Now remember we are in Costa Rica and to get the tre experience get out of town ...explore the beach a nice walk along a private country road.
The hotel is like going to a cottage up north in a Canada ..we say every year Costa Rica offers up some new experience often we don't have to leave our garden .here at the Paradiseo
Each year we come for two or three months and feel safe and taken care of like we are part of a family.
Kitchens are provided in some of the units to cook if you wish The restaurant offers god basic home cooking with all local produce and fish from near by We would recommend to stay at the very basic one week ..Tours can be organized and the owner always has interesting stories to help you ..weather it's a canopy tour whale watching seeing the waterfalls val canoes or exploring the many many beaches close by . We love Costa Rica and the little hotel that makes it our home each winter!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed here for 5 days, as a last leg of our honeymoon, and boy can I say we were happy with our choice! We stayed in the cheapest room/house and it was incredibly clean, roomy and well located. Mind you you do need a 4x4 car to get here, since you need to go through a small stream/river, but that also was one of the charming things about this beautiful place.
The food was good, drinks were cold, and location just perfect. Very near to an almost private beach, and a small car ride away from the famous Samara beach.
Definately a recommendation, and for a very good price also!

Room Tip: Any room you choose will be great, we had the cheapest one, and we felt very comfortable. Great rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Remy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.0 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rancho De La Playa
Rancho De La Playa
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mirador de Samara
Mirador de Samara
#16 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo

Property: Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
Address: Playa Buena Vista, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo" is a full-service hotel, and not just a guest house or B&B. It is located within the beautiful Costa-Rican countryside, 3 miles further north from Samara, and 900 ft distant from the turtle beach Playa Buena Vista. Playa Buena Vista is the next beach up north to Playa Samara, close to the gorgeous white sand beach Playa Barrigona, where you can even see a nice waterfall (during rainy season). The reception is open 24 hours a day, and the daily housekeeping is already included in the price. Each room and appartment has a privat bathroom, AC, and a refrigerator. The "Paraiso del Cocodrilo" has a Restaurant with a Bar and offers free Wifi to all the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Paraiso Del Cocodrilo Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing