We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok room, but noisy and no airco”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Locanda Samara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Locanda Samara
Ranked #15 of 33 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Odijk
Level Contributor
170 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Ok room, but noisy and no airco”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

The big plus about this location is that its located at the beach front and next to a surf school where you can rent surf boards.

The downside is:
- rooms are a bit cramped
- its very warm in the rooms and there is only a fan
- rooms are noisy, music from very nearby bars plays till late at night
- the bathroom facilities are very limited, small toilet right after the door and a shower with only cold water (which isnt too bad, since the water is warmed up by the heat in the area anyway)
- staff didnt clean our room during our 2 day visit
- you can't pay by credit card

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KvBerloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    31
    19
    8
    16
See reviews for
19
46
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We were there for a week in August 2011 as a family of 4. We had an apartment so we would not have to go to restaurant every day. It was cheap but for a reason. They never came to clean or get the garbage and we had to ask for clean and dry towel more than once. We stayed there any way because it was not bad but we won't go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adeblois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa Samara hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

This was our second to last hotel stop on a two week vacation across Costa Rica. What a nightmare. The entire room was covered in ants. Lighting was dark and depressing. It felt like a jail cell. The only redeeming quality was the ocean side restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBizzle612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieuw-Vennep, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
272 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed in front of the place on the beachfront; Massimo told us that the beds are free so we stayed the whole day having drinks and lunch. Janeth makes the best clubsandwiches in Costa Rica!
I cannot comment on the rooms but the ambiance on the beach was great!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teriben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

This place really is right on the beach, yet it is quiet at night. Our room was spacious and had everything we needed: comfy beds, a fridge, a bathroom, and a front patio with chairs. We didn't once find the need to eat off site as the restaurant at the hotel was really wonderful and we quickly fell in love with the fresh nachos with salsa and guacamole (I think we had that at least once a day). There were chairs for beach lounging which we seemed to always be able to find a place on when we really wanted to. And it was just a short (maybe 10 minute) walk into Samara proper although we only went in to town once as the hotel had everything we needed. The staff were pretty great too.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lurleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

We dropped in to Locanda for dinner one evening (were staying elsewhere in Samara)- we were seated and had our drinks served, placed our order for two starters for the table and entrees. We had been in country for almost a week and were totally comfortable with the Costa Rican pace of service, but the fact that we didn't have contact with any server for over an hour from the time that we placed our food orders (not even offers for another cocktail or get refills on water) got pretty weird. They just kept seating people but no food seemed to come out of the kitchen and some people started to leave (we finally paid for our cocktails and left after a painful 1 1/2 hours into our visit - still with no starters, drink reorders or explanation for why there was no food.)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieLynn67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

We stayed only 1 night in this hotel during our trip to Costa Rica. We wanted a place right on the beach, and were impressed by the inexpensive rates here.

The room was not air conditioned, but the heat was manageable with the fan in the room. The rooms were clean and quiet, but there were a few minor problems with the room. The hot water didn't work at all. Also, the sheets were very uncomfortable (felt more like a flag or tent than a sheet). The room was very dark, but it was clean.

We were a bit worried about the noise, as the place is located right between at least 2 bars, but had no problem sleeping.

Overall, for the cheap price, I would stay here again (for a short stay).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarissaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.6 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#10 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rancho De La Playa
Rancho De La Playa
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Mar Samara
Hotel Casa del Mar Samara
#11 of 33 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Samara

Property: Locanda Samara
Address: 300 mts oeste de el correo | on The Beach, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Locanda is located in the heart of Samara, right on beautiful Samara Beach! 'Locanda' comes from the traditional Italian name for a Tavern, modest restaurant with annexed accommodation. In the past centuries, it had nobler significance corresponding to the modern hotel, and also indicated, in the eighteenth century, luxury hotel. Hotel Locanda proposes to you alternative solutions for your accommodation in relation to the various needs: 2 fully equipped apartments with a large terrace 2 two-bedroom apartment with patio 5 double rooms with patio or terrace 2 triple rooms with patio 2 luxury beachfront double rooms 6 luxury bungalows in a tropical garden All rooms and apartments have just been completely remodeled at the end of 2011. Bungalows are just recently built Private parking, 24/7 security, wi fi, cable tv, daily domestic cleaning, in-room dining, congierge services, pet friendly accommodation are available and free for our clients ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Locanda Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Playa Samara
Locanda Hotel Playa Samara
Locanda Samara Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing