We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & amenities with incredible staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great location & amenities with incredible staff”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My friend and I decided to trek up along the coast from Mal Pais last week and having seen the reviews of this place decided to check it out. I'm glad we did. The location is hidden away with "downtown" Samara just a stroll down the beach.

The room was clean & spacious. The first thing I did was change into my swim trunks and jump into the pool. Within seconds the staff had brought us towels and asked if we needed anything else.

The clear standout of this hotel were the owners Doug & Rosie who went out of their way to make us feel welcome. They're a great source for information about the area and seem to genuinely care. If you're staying in Samara check it out!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    94
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
218
465
25
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

My husband and I recently spent two nights at the Hideaway Hotel in Playa Samara.....We have
a finca and small Inn in the mountains above San Ramon (one hour north of San Jose) and often like to have a several day escape to the beach. (As well, we are always scouting out places at the beach to recommend to guests that spend some time with us but would also like some time at the beach).
We have been to Manual Antonio, Jaco, as well as many places on the Nicoya Peninsula
(Montezuma, Tamarindo, the Four Seasons at Papagayo, Hotel Punta Islita, etc. etc.)
We enjoyed the Hideaway because it is small (12 rooms), intimate, very clean and just
a few years old. It is a lovely setting around a pool at the restaurant's edge. Whether you
want to bask in the sun or relax beneath an umbrella, the staff is very attentive and will do
whatever they can to make you comfortable. The rooms are lovely, clean, with a proper
(laptop size) safe, TV and air conditioning.

The owners, Doug and Rosie, are very hands on and take great pride in what they have created. Though they are already rated #1 accommodation for Samara on Trip Advisor
I still felt compelled to send my review....!

Also, the food is wonderful. Having eaten in many of the restaurants in Samara, I rate it
among the best. I am a pretty serious cook and quite demanding re the quality of cuisine.

It is a two minute walk to the beach. One of the highlights was during a late afternoon walk
on the beach when five horses ("semi" wild....and of course very safe.....not at all interested
in us humans) came down to the water and ran along the shore.
As a horse lover.....nothing for me could have been more exquisite.....!

While we just wanted to chill around the pool.....we could see that they are very involved
in helping guests plan various activities available in the area.

A lot of these surf towns have a funky element to them which is what make them so charming...but Samara is more low key then Montezuma which has become a bit too much
and very touristy. Our sons (one is a serious surfer) have travelled the coast and rate
Samara as a favourite place to visit.

I am looking forward to going back.....!

Room Tip: Basically, you have an option of first or second floor....pool view or jungle view....just depends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serenatoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hills, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We loved this hidden gem of a hotel. Too bad we couldn't stay longer. We only had 2 nights but it was well worth it. The rooms are spacious comfortable & beautifully appointed (the bathrooms, too). Doug and Rosie are gracious hosts that made my family feel as if we were staying at the home of friends. Hope to go back someday :) Close to the beach, 5 minutes from Playa Carrillo and great mango margaritas make the Hideaway Hotel a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We went to Costa Rica on our honeymoon and were looking for the right balance of romance, adventure, and relaxation and found it at Playa Samara and especially the Hideaway. Doug, Rosy and the rest of the staff at Hideaway provided us with tons of the right information, helping us with tours, dinner reservations, cab rides and yummy homemade guacamole, mango margaritas, and ice cream! Doug & Rosy really make the Hideaway guests feel like they are each the top priority.

Even when we had a huge snafu with a car rental they saved the day by calling around, figuring out what we could do and getting us another car rental. Thanks a million! Also, we were a bit stuck one night in town because there weren't any cabs since it was New Years Day, we called Hideaway and a cab came right away.

The Hideaway is located at one end of Samara beach (20 minute walk to town on the beach) and just a little over 5 minute walk from Carillo beach. Both beaches are awesome. We really enjoyed everything about the Hideaway Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courtneyian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffern, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The hotel is beautiful with a very pretty garden. We especially appreciated the efforts of Doug and Rosie to accommodate our dietary needs, and their efforts to help us find interesting things to do. Really wonderful hosts. My highest recommendations.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This is a wonderful hotel in a super location. It does indeed have very friendly people giving good advice about local attractions. The rooms are large, air conditioned and very clean. The food in the restaurant is excellent. Our family is interested in natural history (and gardening) and this hotel is a great place from which to explore those interests. The hotel gardens are varied and beautiful, and have a number of resident Iguanas and Geckos. There were 3 Magpie Jays checking out our balcony every morning at 6 am- a Howler monkey family traveling through the trees on and just outside the property- Brown Pelicans, Whimbrels, a green Heron and many other birds at the 2-minute away beach, coral, coconuts and Turret shells at the 10-minute away beach. Near-by rivers were full of Chiclids (and some crocodiles). It's a 2 hour drive to Ostional, to see the Olive-Ridley Sea Turtle nesting ground, a unique and very moving experience. We thoroughly enjoyed our 9 day stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiriamGNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My girlfriend and I spent three nights here and really enjoyed it. The room was big, comfy and clean, and the staff and owners were very nice. What's not to like about a pina colada in the pool with monkeys howling in the distance? If you have a car, the location is wonderful, since you can drive to town at night, but spend the day at a secluded part of the beautiful Samara beach (2 minute walk) away from the crowds. There's another beach that's a ten minute walk if you want a change, but we preferred Samara.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
871 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
516 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
216 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara

Property: The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
Address: On the Road From Samara To Carrillo | on the road from Samara to Carrillo; 150 meters from the ICE Tower, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Hideaway you will enjoy the privacy of our exclusive location on Samara Beach in Costa Rica. We offer 12 hotel rooms and a Penthouse suite with 3 bedrooms. The Hideaway appeals to travelers looking for a luxury hotel, who appreciate extra amenities. Our quiet location close to Samara & Carrillo offers relaxation and privacy, plus easy access to exciting activities. Our boutique hotel on Samara Beach is uniquely situated on a one-acre private lot, approximately 1-minute's stroll to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing