We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We spent 4 wonderful days at the Hideaway. The staff were excellent. So helpful, courteous and personable. They truly enhanced the experience. The facility is immaculate. Beautiful rooms, commons areas and grounds. It was just around the corner from our favorite beach, Playa Carillo. We had fun picnics on the beach provided by the kitchen from the Hideaway. The food was excellent. We had breakfast there very morning. It was such a peaceful way to start the day. We also had a lovely dinner there one evening. I would highly recommend this hotel and would love to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

This place is amazing and is truly a little piece of heaven. My family did not stay at this hotel on our trip to Samara, however, once there were recommended by both locals and travellers to enjoy dinner there. We went for our final night, and it was incredible. The food and service was second to none.. the resort is very beautiful, and very quiet as it is down the beach from the town center (25 min walk, $6 cab), and walking from Carrillo Beach (known as very quiet and scenic)

What I didnt expect was the kindness and generosity of the owners. I had a broken ankle, actually I thought it was a bad twist/sprain at the time, but after dinner Doug offered my family a ride back to our villa. I cannot begin to tell you how much I appreciated the ride... now, after 5 weeks in a non-weight bearing cast, I look back and needed to say thank you and provide a recommendation to all who are considering a visit to Hideaway Hoteal at Samara Beach. You will love the place, the food and the hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacquie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a clean hotel on beautiful grounds. The pool area is great and the food is very good. I enjoyed breakfast and liked that it was included. However, while this hotel is perfect for couples, I'm not sure I'd recommend it for solo travelers. It truly is a hideaway (as it is billed) as it is a drive (or long walk on the beach) away from town. It also is very quiet as the restaurant and reception area closes down at night. If you have a car or are traveling as a couple or with others though, that probably will not be a problem.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swimmer456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights with my couple, and let me tell you this place is magic, the room #2 is perfect for couples, very quiet and retired, very clean, the room service and food are awesome, very comfortable, Dixie and crew are very friendly and helpful, will come back, ohh almost forget it, Carrillo Beach (one of the most beautiful) it's only 1 minute from the hotel!!!

Room Tip: For me and my girl room #2, retired and in a second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

That little hotel with only 12 rooms is well hidden. It is like being with family.
The staff is most helpful and always with a smile and very friendly. So is the owners who are always available to help.
The pool is great so is the FOOD
Great place!!!
Highly recommended.
We will definitely go back to Hideway next time we go to Samara.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor corner unit. Our room was large so was the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetiredandHappyinCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed for 4 nights here 2 weeks ago, had a great time. Doug and Rosie (the owners) are real people who want you to have a great stay and be comfortable, they are generous, fun and happy people. It felt a little like we were visiting their home. It's not fancy, but it IS classy and Clean. The grounds: simple, clean and I can't stress how comfortable everything is. Sort of like you're protected from whatever world you just were transported from; when you get to the Hideaway, you are hidden away.

Pool: Small but perfect for cooling off, if you want to swim, you do have the entire Pacific Ocean 2 minutes away on foot

Food: Simple, Fresh, Plentiful. Desserts were pretty remarkable.

Drinks: They know how to make them and beer lovers: Doug actually stocks the local micro-brew from San Jose, I think they had 3 different kinds from 'Costa Rica's Craft Brewing Co.'...that's the name of the brewery... http://beer.cr/

Rooms: A/C works great, it was hot out, so definitely needed it. Small fridge + Microwave in room, awesome big bathroom with walk-in stone showers. TV, but no time for TV in Samara, it's too beautiful.


To get to the 'town' of Samara, you'll either want your own car or you can take a taxi, but they are all very reasonable, maybe $5 one way. You could walk or bike, but be careful, it's a windy road with no sidewalks between the hotel and the town.

Beach is about a 2 minute walk, we did a kayak+snorkeling tour one morning which left right from our beach access at the hotel. There were almost no other people at 'our' beach. I don't know when the high season is for visitors, but I get the feeling that this is always a relaxed and pretty secluded area.

Having Doug, Rosie and their staff there to answer questions, arrange tours, etc...made this a an easy place to stay and they know how to not make you feel like a stranger or a tourist. You sort of feel like you've got some inside local knowledge, but everyone in Samara was nice...Pura Vida, stay at this place its just right.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flaggship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We loved the Hideawy. Doug and Rosy do a great job and the staff is wonderful. All you need to know is its perfect and so are the Mango Margaritias!!!! Carillo Beach is a short jaunt away and is perfect.

Room Tip: i think they are all probably good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsoloSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Samara
2.5 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
584 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
228 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara

Address: On the Road From Samara To Carrillo | on the road from Samara to Carrillo; 150 meters from the ICE Tower, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range: £68 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Hideaway you will enjoy the privacy of our exclusive location on Samara Beach in Costa Rica. We offer 12 hotel rooms and a Penthouse suite with 3 bedrooms. The Hideaway appeals to travelers looking for a luxury hotel, who appreciate extra amenities. Our quiet location close to Samara & Carrillo offers relaxation and privacy, plus easy access to exciting activities. Our boutique hotel on Samara Beach is uniquely situated on a one-acre private lot, approximately 1-minute's stroll to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing