We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at the Hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hideaway for 3 nights last month. The hotel is beautiful! The rooms are large and very comfortable. All rooms seem to have a large balcony and ours was situated where we could watch (and hear!) the howler monkeys on the mango trees right outside of our room. The pool and outside dining/lounge area was equally as beautiful and yes, you are can see and hear the monkeys from there too.

Breakfast was included. We always choice Gallo Pinto which consists of beans and rice, an egg cooked how you like, fresh delicious fruit, orange juice, and coffee or tea. They also serve lunch, dinner, and snacks and drinks any time you like. The food is very good and there's a nice variety. Note, there are no other restaurants a short walk away.

As the name suggests the Hideaway is tucked away which we thought was perfect. It is surrounded by nature rather than more hotels, bars and restaurants. The sounds we heard were the ocean and the animals living in the trees of the property. The beach is only a 5 minute walk away, the even more beautiful Carrillo beach is a 10 minute drive, and "downtown" Samara with shops, restaurants and bars a 10 minute drive in the other direction.

Doug, the owner, will do his best to ensure each person has an enjoyable stay. He is knowledgeable about the area and will make arrangements for a variety of activities you select. We chose horseback riding and the guide he arranged was excellent! We chose a 2 hour ride through the mountains with views of three coves then down to the beach just before sunset.

The rest of the team is very pleasant and equally concerned with making every guest comfortable. They deliver excellent service.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad choice. We were very happy with our room which was located in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jana1389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Hideaway Hotel is an extremely well-run establishment. Doug Ancel and his staff made us feel very welcome, and made our trip to Samara wonderful! I would highly recommend staying at the Hideaway if you would like a more upscale, comfortable lodging.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pcmiller_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Wonderful hotel at a reasonable price. Great owners who treated us as friends, caring staff, comfortable and spacious acomodations, maybe 100 yards from the beach. 45 minute beach walk to Samara. We had a problem with payment to our transportation company upon arrival and the owners, adeptly without getting involved, gave us information that we used to resolve the problem. Oh, and cool iguanas hanging out along with howler monkey sounds. Couldn't get much better. Love it.

Room Tip: All rooms seem great to me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was our 1st trip to Costa Rica and we got lucky when we choose The Hideaway, it was absolutely beautiful. It was our 25th anniversary and although we didn't reveal this, you would have thought they knew with the very personal service we received. Everything was perfect from the large rooms, refreshing pool & beautiful grounds. We also met Doug (owner) who was very pleasant & helpful. The best part of staying at the Hideaway (besides everything else) was the staff Carlos, Dixie, Brian & Loyda (free Union :-) and the others who besides being friendly, helpful & courteous gave us a genuine feeling that we where welcomed there. Last thing or we can write all day is the food at the restaurant was fantastic (local Costa Rican) but you must try Doug's Banana Rum Smoothie and the homemade Ice Cream (Coconut or Cinnamon). Tips: Carillo Beach, El Lagarto Resturant, Kayak to Isla Chlora, horseback riding & must go fishing.
Thanks for a memorable stay. We are planning for next year.
Michele & Andrew K.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

my daughter and i recently stayed at the hideaway and we loved it- beautiful gardens , wonderful staff, awesome food and doug was so helpful in planning our activities. the rooms are big/ comfortable/ spotless and very nice. we will return!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is just a hidden paradise. It's just a great hotel... great rooms, great pool, great food, great drinks (they can make something up for you), great staff... I guess you get the point :-)
My wife an I stayed here during our getaway and all I can say is you can't go wrong with this place in the options list. You just have to visit it... probably one of the best places all among the Guanacaste area.
You can get to Samara beach (to the very end of it) on foot just 2 minutes away following the same road/trail where the hotel is located.
It's located right between Samara and Carrillo, so it takes about the same time to get (driving) to one or another. Samara has the night life... Carrillo has the nice beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CR_Traveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We spent 4 wonderful days at the Hideaway. The staff were excellent. So helpful, courteous and personable. They truly enhanced the experience. The facility is immaculate. Beautiful rooms, commons areas and grounds. It was just around the corner from our favorite beach, Playa Carillo. We had fun picnics on the beach provided by the kitchen from the Hideaway. The food was excellent. We had breakfast there very morning. It was such a peaceful way to start the day. We also had a lovely dinner there one evening. I would highly recommend this hotel and would love to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Samara
2.5 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
916 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
223 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
409 reviews
13.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara

Address: On the Road From Samara To Carrillo | on the road from Samara to Carrillo; 150 meters from the ICE Tower, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range: £82 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Hideaway you will enjoy the privacy of our exclusive location on Samara Beach in Costa Rica. We offer 12 hotel rooms and a Penthouse suite with 3 bedrooms. The Hideaway appeals to travelers looking for a luxury hotel, who appreciate extra amenities. Our quiet location close to Samara & Carrillo offers relaxation and privacy, plus easy access to exciting activities. Our boutique hotel on Samara Beach is uniquely situated on a one-acre private lot, approximately 1-minute's stroll to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing