We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

Our second stay at this boutique hotel that feels like you arrived at your private beach home in Costa Rica.
Managed very professionally by Doug and Rosi.
Delicious breakfasts and cocktails by the pool with the beach a few steps away to run, horseback riding... Truly blissful!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    90
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
210
455
24
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

Out of the many resorts and hotels my wife and I stayed at, I felt that this property was the absolute best value for your dollar. We also operate a small property ourselves in Canada so our expectation levels are above the average travelers.

Doug and Rosy were there upon check in (the owners) and right from the get-go were extremely friendly and helpful. They have established a network with the locals and can arrange just about any tour you can imagine in about 2 minutes. They gave us suggestions, they asked how our various day trips were afterwards and were just fun people to be around.

The property is one of the few places that we stayed that has high quality construction and building materials. It is a gated property, with lots of parking and once you get checked in you literally walk along little cement paths to your room with just awesome landscaping. It really feels secluded and manages to capture the natural feel of Costa Rica while providing a safe and quite feel. This place had THE BEST AC unit out of all our stays, which was extremely nice during the humid rainy season. The room had satellite TV, a great bed, a kick-butt luggage rack, safe, fridge - you name it. My wife loved the bathroom. They even had a guard on at night to further ensure vehicle and guest safety (which isn't even an issue in most of Costa Rica).

The restaurant was a pleasant surprise, its small but they managed to get a really fantastic chef back there in the kitchen. The menu is a mix of local items and western "comfort foods" sometimes you just want a cheeseburger - well Doug has a killer cheeseburger on the menu and Rosy makes homemade brownies. The food was so good we didn't bother going anywhere else, we ate breakfast lunch and dinner at the Hideaway and not once were we ever disappointed with the food. Many of the other places we stayed and ate charged twice as much for half the value.

When I think back on the 5 places I stayed on our trip to Costa Rica, this one is the place I will remember and suggest anyone staying in the Playa Samara to check it out first hand and see for yourself.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeNeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

We arrived to the Hideaway after a 4 night stay at an all inclusive 2 hours away in CR. My husband and I were in room number 12 and my parents were in number 7. We stayed in 4 properties throughout CR and 3/4 of us agreed that the Hideaway was our favorite location on our whole two week trip.

The property itself is tucked away on the far side of Playa Samara. The hotel is less than a min walk from the beach and the little town is a $5-7 taxi or maybe 20min walk? We never walked in but were told it is possible to do on the beach at certain times of the day.

If you're looking for a relaxing retreat we would recommend this location. We spent much time swimming in their pool, reading on our balcony and sampling their delicious menu.

Doug and Rosy were incredibly helpful in suggesting things to do, general CR quirks, business, politics, or really about anything you wanted to chat about! As first time CR travelers you can have a lot of questions about where you're going and they were great in letting us know their honest opinion. Which in the rainy season can be invaluable!

In terms of service I can not comment enough about their level of attentiveness without being intruding. The whole staff was excellently trained and we felt very taken care of. All four us also loved the food. Chocolate brownies, homemade ice cream, delicious pineapple salsa and it goes on and on...

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to couples seeking a lovely intimate hotel while visiting Costa Rica.

Please feel free to message me if you need further convincing:)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiki28Canmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Hideaway for the second half of our Costa Rican honeymoon. The Hideaway is in a perfect location - secluded and quiet, but an easy 20 minute walk along the beach to Samara. Doug and Rosy made us feel as if we were their personal houseguests, and the staff were all attentive and professional. The rooms were large and spacious and well-equipped with all the amenities you might expect from a pricier hotel. We did come across crawling critters in our room occasionally, but that is simply part of the romance of tropical climes. The food and drinks were excellent, and all suggestions for activities in the area were spot on! We have already recommended the Hideaway to friends and family, and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonLager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hideaway Hotel for five nights and greatly enjoyed our time there. The owners of this boutique hotel, Rosy and Doug, were such wonderfully attentive and thoughtful hosts. The staff was always there to make sure that we were properly taken care of. Located walking distance from the peaceful Playa Carillo, and a short drive to bustling Play Samara, this hotel was perfectly situated. The staff are also happy to make great suggestions of activities to do and able to make travel arrangements. (Whale watching and turtle nesting are both musts!) Make sure to try Doug's homemade cinnamon chocolate flavoured icecream. Kataya (sp?) in Playa Samara is a great little restaurant that serves delicious and fresh Thai fusion food.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calitrip01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

It was the perfect hotel for my daughter's wedding. As the hotel is not large it was ideal for type of wedding my daughter wanted.The hotel itself is hidden away in it's own little world surrounded by trees and wild life. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated and equipt withall you needed for a holiday.. The food was good {great homemade ice cream and brownies!} The staff, especially Rosie and Doug,went out of their way to make sure the wedding went off with no problems and they helped and orgainized many things for us. Thank You! We had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schollyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

The Hideaway is awesome. Perfect, casual place to stay in a beach town like Samara. It's tucked away from the noise of the noise of the town, very quiet and has great food. Doug and Rosy and the entire staff are gems. Super enjoyable and tremendous value. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Samara
1.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara

Property: The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
Address: On the Road From Samara To Carrillo | on the road from Samara to Carrillo; 150 meters from the ICE Tower, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Hideaway you will enjoy the privacy of our exclusive location on Samara Beach in Costa Rica. We offer 12 hotel rooms and a Penthouse suite with 3 bedrooms. The Hideaway appeals to travelers looking for a luxury hotel, who appreciate extra amenities. Our quiet location close to Samara & Carrillo offers relaxation and privacy, plus easy access to exciting activities. Our boutique hotel on Samara Beach is uniquely situated on a one-acre private lot, approximately 1-minute's stroll to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing