We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Samara”
Review of El Lagarto

El Lagarto
Ranked #4 of 73 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
chicago, il
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best meal in Samara”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is an excellent restaurant right on the beach. We had surf and turf, and it was sooo good! Our waitress was a cute little girl from Australia. She was very friendly and welcoming. There is a fascinating wood fired oven where the coals come down a chute. We would recommend this as a restaurant not to be missed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank skacian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    168
    63
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wear Bug Spray!!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Food was delicious and entertaining to watch food being cooked on this massive grill. We sat near the beach and got annihilated by mosquito - my husband and I each had at least 15 bites just on our legs after eating at this place. We moved seats and luckily we had beach towels that we wrapped around our legs for the remaining time, but then our feet got destroyed by bugs. The atmosphere is really unique, under a huge tree - but we couldn't enjoy the food with all the bites!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joyfultraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“MUST go to!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Amazing diner. Cool atmosphere. Got the filet and the lobster tails and it was absolutely delicious! Definitely recommend this restaurant to everyone going to Samara!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maria o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An experience!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was, by far, the best restaurant in Samara. Everything grilled to perfection! The ambiance was wonderful...right on the beach. In addition to fabulous food we were treated to a thunderstorm and light show courtesy of Mother Nature. A great night!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jshor4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“one of the Top 2-3 in Samara”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Massive Ambiance, Crazy unique Grill that dumps only red hot coals down to cook with (very efficient and visually appeqalling) VERY good meat cuts and sea food preps. Had the fillet mignon and lobster, should have subbed a ribeye ( my wife had this, VERY good) for the mignon (tender but mush less flavor). The lobster was messy and PERFECT, other than they dont believe in melted buter (I delt with it). They also have cover in case it rains. I hear the drinks are also crazy good, I did not partake at this meal (was driving). Right on the beach, in the middle of a tree, got more attention from the staff here than anywhere else in Costa Rica. A MUST if your anywhere near.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Lagarto also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to El Lagarto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing