We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Samara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alta Vista Condominium
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquil paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

I don't usually write reviews but for this stay I had to make an exception. The accommodations were amazing!! Overlooking the ocean and walked to town every night. Quiet and relaxing. Extremely clean with great kitchen for cooking. Plan on visiting again very soon!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DfwTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Our group of four adults stayed in the first floor unit of this condominium building, Alta Amapola in February of 2013. We had a wonderful time, Samara is the best and this condo is within walking distance to the town. The beach is a quick 5 minute walk from the front door! We spent a lot of time walking the beach, enjoying cocktails on the deck, grilling on the barbaque, and cooling off in the plunge pool. The ocean was wonderful for swimming. The condo was well supplied with all the amenities as my sister and I enjoy cooking. Fresh fish and prawns can be purchased in town from the locals, as well as local fruit and vegetables. The grocery store in Samara is also well stocked. Some Spanish would have helped, we we managed without! We loved the laid back, relaxed feel of Samara and felt very safe there. We would definitely recomment this condo.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed at Alta Vista for part of our Honeymoon in March 2013. What a wonderful place. Samara is a great little beach town with friendly locals and beautiful beaches.
We can't say a bad word about Alta Vista Condos. We stayed in the 1 bedroom Catalina and it had an amazing view. Randall (caretaker) was extremely friendly and the puppies were such fun.
The rodeo was on across the road while we stayed. It was great to see how the Costa Ricans party.
When we are in Samara next we'll make sure to stay at Alta Vista.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jus737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We just returned from two weeks at Alta Vista. We rented the top one bedroom floor named "Catalina". Two decks, both in the shade before noon. We loved our stay. Samara is a sleepy great beach town, laid back and relaxing. The Alta Vista is about a 15 minute walk along the beach to town. Very convenient. Within 5 minute walk is a local bakery and small grocery store. Get this, we stopped at Walmart by SJO to purchase our wine. For the exact same bottles, it was less expensive at the local grocery store in Samara. We were so disappointed to have supported Walmart instead of the local store for our wine. Anyways, the condo complex is wonderful, has a giant Webber gas grill and lovely rooftop deck with panoramic views of Samara and the beach and hillsides. We felt very safe, comfortable and we would go back again. Isn't that the ultimate test of a vacation rental? Owner was very easy to work with and available. His local staff takes care of all or any needs that you will have. Convenient side trips to nearby areas, including Carillo Beach. Certainly, one of the nicest and longest beaches to enjoy anywhere. Google earth this area, you will not be disappointed. Life is good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurer80218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed 18 days in the 1st floor unit (Amapola), and really enjoyed it. Lovely view of the beach and the sunrise, and you can be in the surf in 5 minutes. Playa Samara is a lovely, long beach, never crowded, and the condo is located at the end where the locals tend to play with their families. It takes less than 15 minutes to walk along the beach to the center of this small town.

The unit itself was very comfortable, with 2 bedrooms & 2 baths. It's well-oriented vis-a-vis the sun, and ceiling fans in each room kept it comfortable enough we only used the a/c for an hour or so before bed to cool off the bedroom. The on-site guardian is very helpful (limited English), and keeps the outside spotless. Maid service twice a week kept the inside just as clean. The "plunge" pool is tiny, but refreshing after the walk up from the beach or from town (rinse off first in the outdoor shower near the pool.) Howler monkeys are all around, and there are a couple of small iguanas that sun themselves on the garage roof every day. If you're a cook, you might want to bring a few spices--the kitchen is minimally equipped.

Room Tip: Amapola is the most convenient (nearest the pool.) Begonia has a larger common space, and a much bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccdoerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed in Begonia for a week in August. There were 2 couples and the place was perfect for us! We loved sitting out on the balcony in the morning with our coffee watching the morning activities. We also enjoyed watching the monkeys daily trip behind the house. Randal was fantastic and Beatriz helped us with some local information. The location is great for getting to the beach, restaurants and shops. We rented bikes and only used the car once to go out of town on a day trip. There is a bakery and grocery store right down the street where we seemed to make daily trips. We can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3littlebirdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We are a family of four- we stayed in the Begonia, which was just perfect- clean, spacious, modern and fully equipped - from the living room balcony u could see the ocean and the mountains - the back balcony face a treed hill- the grounds keeper, Randall was available for just about anything- he was even there when we left at 2:30am to help with our luggage!! Beatrix, the property manager, spoke perfect English - she arranged our transportation to and from the airport and everyone was on time- the beach is 5 minutes down the street- it is hard packed sand- perfect for walking or running- the water is warm and the waves are great for jumping- the sand bar goes out for at least 100 m - there is a great bakery and grocery store 5 minutes up the street- the town is about a 10 minute walk- the food was fresh and inexpensive by north American standards- we ate out 3 nights and had fabulous dinners for under $100 US for 4- my kids went biking, snorkeling and kayaking and had a great time- we felt safe even at night- everyone was friendly and helpful- I would highly recommend this place

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runningfree35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Pequeno Gecko Verde
El Pequeno Gecko Verde
#3 of 33 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
#4 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Vista Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Vista Condominium

Property: Alta Vista Condominium
Address: Meters (Yards) From the Beach in Playa Samara 150, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unobstructed ocean & beach views, steps from the sand and town, 1st world comfort with the jungle behind you and beach in front! Pool, A/C, wifi, hot & purified water, 1st world plumbing, full white line kitchens, modern design, secure on-site parking, full time caretaker, BBQ, Brand New! Unbeatable value + top notch service = we exceed your expectations. Our goal isn't one time business like the other guys, we want you to love us the first time and keep coming back! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alta Vista Condominium Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing