We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private, plush, pastoral, perfect.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Samara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alta Vista Condominium
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We loved our stay in Samara and we felt that Alta Vista was the perfect place to stay. We loved waking up and watching the sun rise over the beach and ocean from our bed. It is a short walk down to the beach. We would get up in the morning walk down to the beach and play in the ocean, walk back and eat breakfast on the balcony. We watched howler monkeys in the trees behind the condo one morning. We would take another walk, play in the ocean some more. Take a nap. Walk down to the ocean, swim some more. Samara is the perfect place to relax and unwind.

The accommodations are great. We always felt safe and secure. Randall is there much of the time if you need help with something. Zorro, the chihuahua, would greet us as we came and went. The kitchen is well stocked with dishes, pots and pans. The bedroom is great. We rented some movies from the little video store down the road and watch them on the flat panel tv. The shower is great.

Beatriz is a great help if you want to plan activities. She arranged a short snorkeling trip for us that was a lot of fun. Even though the water was not the clearest because of some heavy rains the previous week, we still had fun. It is a short walk to the market, the video store, and a nice Soda if you want lunch. The walk into town is a little farther but not unpleasant. We walked into town a few times and didn't feel like it was too far at all.

Out of all the places that we stayed in Costa Rica, Alta Vista is at the top of the list and we would return to it in a heart beat. Just writing this review makes me want to plan another trip to CR in order to stay in Samara again at Alta Vista.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRJonesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2010

We checked all of the options in Samara and Carillo and kept coming back to Alta Vista. I contacted Patrick, the owner, and he quickly replied with the availability and rate. We booked it! When we arrived, we had the pleasure of meeting Patrick and he made us feel at home. We were introduced to Randal the guard/caretaker and Beatriz who is Patrick's ambassador. I wish I could clone both of them and take them with me wherever I travel. They are the epitome of Tico friendliness, kindness and charm. We stayed in the Catalina condo, one bedroom, and it was perfect for us. The view was fantastic from the front balconies and the back balcony and roof top were great for the howler monkey visits. The condo was clean, modern and fully air conditioned. It was located away from town and offered a very relaxing atmosphere. The beach was only a couple of minutes walk and the town of Samara was about 15 minutes. I would recommend a vehicle and would get a 4WD if you go in the green season. The 4WD may come in handy if you choose to travel around the area off the main roads. Traveling other than the main roads is a wonderful Tico experience. The town of Samara is small but offers a number of good restaurants. I recommend Pizza and Pasta A Go Go, Il Vino, Lagarta and of course the sodas. The food was great and you can drink the water if you choose. If you want a relaxing vacation in a beautiful country, I highly recommend Alta Vista in Samara.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyedent113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

We had a great stay here. The condo itself is very modern and clean. The watchman/ maintenance man Randal is a typical Tico which mean he is happy, helpful and trustworthy. The Activities Director, Beatrice, also stopped by daily to make sure everything and everyone were okay. The happiest dog in the world, Zorro greets you as if you were his owner and he is happy that you have comeback home. The wi-fi is also a big plus. The other reviews pretty much describe what an awesome place it is. I almost thought that they were phony because there could be no way than anyplace could get such good reviews but they are all honest opinions like mine is. You really have the best of both worlds here. You have a very modern spacious place to stay with much needed AC and it located at the far end (undeveloped) of the beach in a typical TICO neighborhood. You can see horses and cows walking on the street and you can stop and talk with any of the neighbors. Costa Ricans are extremely friendly people. It's great to meet and talk with them in their own neighborhood and not just say a few words to a waiter or maid in a hotel or restaurant. You get a cultural experience and get to know the true beauty of this wonderful country, its people. The view is awesome from the balcony, large bedroom window and rooftop. The beach at this end of town is smaller but pristine. It is a good 10-15 minute walk along a palm lined beach trail and open beach to where the restaurants, shops and bars are, but for us it was extremely pleasant and I needed the exercise...The neighborhood around the Alta Vista also has a few mom & pop restaurants (sodas) where you can enjoy a typical breakfast, lunch or dinner for a great price. The area is very quiet and safe. The other 2 levels were occupied by friendly Canadian couples. It's not a motel experience. If you are looking for modern comfort in a typical neighborhood with an awesome view and friendly people then you should stay here. I only hope that with all these good reviews, there will be occupancy available on my next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donche2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

I stayed at Alta Vista with my wife and two small children in March 2010. Booking our stay was easy, but we did find a descrepancy in the security deposit. The owner had posted $250 on a Samara web site, while Exclusive Escapes, a rental agent company he uses, wanted $500. Exclusive Escapes honored the owners rate without any hassle and they were great to work with. We called shortly before arriving and a representative met us at the condo. They also made a special effort to check the condo before we had to leave early the next day and refunded our deposit on the spot.

The grounds and interior of the condo's are well kept. We enjoyed the spacious Begonia condo. Wireless internet and the flat panel TV helped keeped the kids entertained during the hotest part of the days. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen is well stocked.

Randal, the caretaker, was on-site often and very helpful. We had neighbors in both the other units and hardly knew they were there. If we didn't see them out at the pool, we would have thought we had the place all to ourselves.

There are two dogs that live on-site. Zorro is a small energetic dog and Zelda is a large guard dog. Both are very friendly and well behaved.

The only downside for us was the distance to town. Its a ~300-400ft walk down the street to the beach and then another 1,000ft to the edge of town....probably another 800 feet to the center of town. There is a grocery store nearby and a couple of soda's. If you don't care to be close to the bustle of town, Alta Vista is perfect. If you want to be in town a lot and don't mind a good walk or bike ride, its good too. The street out front has very little traffic and the units are fairly well insulated from noise.

We would definetly stay at Alta Vista again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agabuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

My husband and I met Patrick, the owner of Alta Vista Condos, in a Spanish class we took together. We found him to be very trustworthy and honest so we decided to book a stay at his place in Samara Beach. What a lovely spot--a gorgeous beach, funky town, and lots of exotic birds and animals to gaze at right out the back door. We enjoyed many meals out on the deck, visits with "neighbors" around the pool, and long walks up and down the beach. A kayak trip out to the island just off the coast was fun too, with a couple sea turtles rolling along beside us.

Stayed: February 2010
Thank lookaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We stayed for 10 nights at the Alta Vista and enjoyed every minute of it. This condo complex of three units is one long block from the beach, on a lovely meadow of grazing horses. We stayed two nights in Begonia, the center condo - a HUGE two bedroom, living area, huge kitchen, two large bathrooms, and lovely large balcony. We stayed 8 nights in Amapola, the first level condo, which had two large bedrooms, two large bathrooms, large kitchen and a perfect balcony. We appreciated the very comfortable beds. Fully airconditioned ! We cooked many of our dinners and all breakfasts and lunches. The kitchen had the basics, but could have used a few more of the most common utensils. (ie, spatula) Alta Vista has a cooling off pool, which was very rereshing and which we used frequently after our daily walk of the beach - a 6 mile round trip walk if you go from one end of the beach to the tip of the other end. Randal, the on-site caretaker, is an incredible asset, as he patiently explains in Spanish answers to all of your questions. Don't speak spanish ? You'll still be able to communicate with him. And, he will bring you fresh seafood if you desire. The daily visits of Howler Monkeys in the trees right outside your windows are a delight. Free, gated, secure parking for your vehicles. You will want a car or a bike at this location, because although not far from the center of town at all, it is very hot ! Great surfing lessons at Ticos, and we also recommend the double kayaking tour with Ticos to the island. If you don't kayak, don't go it alone, take the guide, as the entrance to the island with the waves is tricky -- plus, you get free food and fruit, which more than covers the additional $8 for a guide. Esmeralda's restaurant was delicious and very inexpensive. Expensive but delicious was El Lagarto Restaurant. Take a short drive to Carillo Beach. Take care - one of the two banks in town would not cash our traveler checks because they did not exactly exactly match our passports. ie, Greg instead of Gregory. Plenty of delicious fresh fruit and veggies from the outside market next to the bank. Condo had GREAT wifi. Samara appears seedy when you first arrive, but once you start walking around and visit the different places, meet the friendly people, it quickly becomes very comfortable and feels like home. We heard fantastic reviews from several people about the Spanish Language School in Samara. We drove from La Fortuna, around Arenal Lake, toured at Selvatoura in Monteverde area, (the roads from Santa Elena to Selvatoura were HORRIBLE), then drove to Las Juntas (roads from Selvatoura to Las Juntas were bad, but not as horrible, and the views were gorgeous) , and took the beautifully paved roads all the way from Las Juntas to Samara, all in one day. We left at 6 am. Next time, we would have overnighted by Monteverde one night in order to see more in that area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huettl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

This was my second visit to Begonia Condo at Alta Vista Condominiiums. EVERYTHING about my visit was perfect--from the flight into Liberia to my departure. The condos are accessible and well maintained. They are staffed by welcoming, helpful individuals who are Ticans so you feel as if you are really "in country." My sister and I could walk to the beach, walk into town for shopping, groceries and DELICIOUS food at local restaurants. We found EVERYONE to be friendly and we had no trouble having our questions answered, even tho we are not Spanish speakers. I have stayed at 5 star hotels and not felt as comfortable as I did at Alta Vista Condominiums. I felt so relaxed and safe. I would go back tomorrow if my schedule permitted! I am already planning my trip for 2011!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niniBayHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
856 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
544 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mirador de Samara
Mirador de Samara
#16 of 16 in Playa Samara
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
897 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villas Kalimba
Villas Kalimba
#1 of 32 in Playa Samara
778 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
#4 of 16 in Playa Samara
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Vista Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Vista Condominium

Address: Meters (Yards) From the Beach in Playa Samara 150, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Playa Samara
Price Range: £64 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unobstructed ocean & beach views, steps from the sand and town, 1st world comfort with the jungle behind you and beach in front! Pool, A/C, wifi, hot & purified water, 1st world plumbing, full white line kitchens, modern design, secure on-site parking, full time caretaker, BBQ, Brand New! Unbeatable value + top notch service = we exceed your expectations. Our goal isn't one time business like the other guys, we want you to love us the first time and keep coming back! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alta Vista Condominium Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing