We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Hang Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Locanda

Locanda
Ranked #15 of 73 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian, Seafood, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Italian restaurant and Pizzeria, with large spaces and comfortable tables and seats on the beach, all under the shade of spectacular palm trees. The kitchen offers one of the most exciting interpretations of traditional Italian dishes, both land and sea, and a great choice of Pizzas cooked in a wood oven, accompanied by a good wine list and a wide selection of cocktails.
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place to Hang Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Ocean view, great place to have lunch and a cold beer. The food is very good at a reasonable price. I had a fresh tuna steak for lunch - most restaurants do not have that on the menu. The freshly made nachos are also excellent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DinoBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    126
    41
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, small portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

Went here a couple of times for breakfast because the location right on the beach is superb and the atmosphere is good (I liked the chairs as described in previous post since they are not plastic chairs).

The "desayuno completo" is ok (rice and beans were extremely dry, the scrambled egg too). The omelette is ridiculoudly small (if you go to Cafe Carola, which is of course quite far out and not on the beach, you get at least a double-sized omelette).

Service was rather slow (especially after having ordered the bill), but that is nothing really extraordinary in CR.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Playa_sol_mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect place for a wedding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We planned to get married in Samara on March 1st 2013. Having never been to the town, we didn't know where we were going to host our 20 friends and family for the night of the wedding. After visiting many restaurants in Samara, we decided we liked Locanda. With it's beautiful wooden tables (not plastic like many of the places) and big white cushions on the chairs we loved the look and feel of the place. After meeting with the owners, who were both extremely kind and sincere people, we decided this would be the place. We worked out a menu with them as they gave us exactly what we were looking for.
Upon arrival after the ceremony, we were excite to see the table set up. They went out of their way to make it special with beautiful fruit basket centrepieces, and had it set up out on the
beach. As the food started coming out it was clear we picked the right place!!! Amazing food! They were extremely organized and the service was amazing (and that is coming from 10 of us at the wedding being in the service industry!) As the night got dark they put out tiki torches and probably 100 tea lights which looked beautiful! They even surprised us with firecrackers.
Everything about the night was perfect. Our guests were all very happy as were we.
I would highly recommend Locanda for a location to hold a wedding. And if you're not getting married.....stop in for some ceviche or one of their amazing dishes.
THANK YOU LOCANDA for making our day extra special!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CochraneCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great beach-side restaurant to sit, eat, drink for hours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Third time in Samara, we keep coming back to Locanda for breakfasts and lunch. Eat, drink, read and let the world slip by for hours in the shade. Breakfasts: typico. Lunch: salads. Very fresh and healthy. Medium priced. Friendly servers. Playlists could use a shuffle.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Burnthemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Loved the presentation and quality of the food. Atmosphere seemed a bit more upscale then other beachside places. prices a bit higher but Service was good and location can't be beat.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcandtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Locanda also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing