We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Fun!”
Review of Hotel Sol Samara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sol Samara
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly and Fun!”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Picked this location because it's close to the beach and they allowed our dogs. They had a good menu, great service and super friendly staff. The place is new, had clean rooms and great food which they would bring to you at the pool if you asked. There were lovely grounds with a nice pool with shaded areas. The beach was a short walk away and you could see the fishermen as they headed out in the early morning, returning in the evening. They were mending their nets at the beach. Rates at Hotel Sol are great and we will stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraD656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    58
    32
    7
    8
See reviews for
58
88
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel. The rooms are clean, with air conditioner, tv and very comfortable beds. Incredible typical Costa Rican food, and a very nice and tasty breakfast. Good location, it takes 5 minutes to drive to the center of sámara or 45 minutes if you want to walk on the beach. And also good service. Definitely the best hotel to visit while staying at samara beach

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielguerracu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Sol Samara for two nights during our 8 night stay in Costa Rica. This was our second trip to Costa Rica. Our room was very nice, and very clean, with a/c and wifi. Our balcony over looked the courtyard garden where some rosters roamed. And by the way the roasters do crow, and that starts at sun up. The hotel is a short walk down the road to the beach and a short car ride to the downtown area of Samara. You could walk it on the beach in about 45 minutes or so. While you are there make sure you head just a little further south to Playa Carrillo, it's well worth the drive. All in all a great pace to stay and we will be returning to Sol Samara on our next visit to Costa Rica.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cmitchell213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We had two rooms for two nights at this location as part of a package. One room was standard and it had everything you would need. The second room was an upgraded very HUGE room. Both rooms were very clean, modern and very comfortable. All staff at front desk was very friendly. I read other reviews and one person said it was like visiting old friends and I agree totally. It was a very short walk to a quiet and clean beach. We walked into town easily but took a taxi back because it was very dark although we felt very safe. Only thing I can say is we had a little trouble finding the hotel because there was not much of a street name, but Carillo is where you are headed! Breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger room just because it is very spacious, but standard rooms are great too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryGCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed at Sol Samara for 2 nights and were very happy with our stay. The rooms are contemporary and all have garden views and are very clean. It is just a very short walk to Playa Samara, or you can also walk to Playa Carillo which is a more beautiful beach, but a 20 min walk. For us it was no problem and it was an easy walk. Sol Samara is about a 7 minute drive to Playa Samara or you can walk along the beach to get to Samara. We didn't do it, but were told by fellow travellers it only takes about 25 minutes, plus it is a beautiful walk.

We had dinner one night which was really good and we also had breakfast each morning which was included in the room price and this was also delicious!

The front reception is very kind and helpful. Leo was always willing to answer questions I had or help to book transportation to our next destination.

I would highly recommend staying at SS for its peaceful surroundings (ok there are roosters that crowed every morning, but just bring earplugs as you could get this anywhere in CR), good food, fresh exotic fruit juices, beach location and friendly staff.

Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room on the 2nd floor ( there are only 2 floors) as you get a nice veranda with chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Going to Hotel Sol Samara is like visiting a friend in an out of town are. It is great fot peace and quite, close to a great beach, you can 'borrow' thier Kayake and slide across the water or take a light chair and relax under the palm tree on the beach or in their lovely garden. HOWEVER, you need a car to get to town as it is 2.5 km away, otheriwse it is ideal for what its offer....Will stay there again

Room Tip: You need a car if you want to get to town as it is 2,5 km away
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivien49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and were very pleased. The rooms were clean and the pool was great for a refreshing dip. Food was good (had dinner one night) and it was just a short walk to the beach for fabulous sunsets. You do need a car if you want to go into town - or you can walk along the beach to town, maybe 1/2 hour. The young man who worked during the evening was very attentive and a very hard worker - wish I knew his name. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.5 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
874 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
392 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
291 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mirador de Samara
Mirador de Samara
#16 of 16 in Playa Samara
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol Samara

Property: Hotel Sol Samara
Address: Samara Beach, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sol Samara 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sol Samara is located within walking distance of Playa Samara and very close to Puerto Carrillo Beach, two of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica and Central America, according to expert travel critics such as Trip Advisor.You will be greeted at our hotel with authentic Costa Rican charm and courteous service, making you feel at home from the moment of your arrival. Hotel Sol Samara offers within its facilities an open air lobby cafe/lounge, a restaurant specializing in fresh seafood and a pool. Rooms offer new features such as flat screen TVs, telephones and air-conditioning, all of which can be left behind at your choice to fade into the relaxing tropical paradise Samara Beach.From the hotel, you can enjoy unforgettable tours and guided activities such as kayaking and snorkeling trips to Isla Chora, turtle observation tours to Playa Camaronal or Ostional National Park, tours to Palo Verde, guided trips to the Barra Honda Caverns, Dolphin watching tours, bird watching tours on bike, tours with the crocodiles and many adventure activities like the fun banana boat ride and the innovative Stand up and Paddle in Playa Samara. You can simply relax in our facilities or explore this vast beach and enjoy the extraordinary sunsets of Playa Samara, participate in the traditions and culture of the Samara community and surrounding villages as well as the colonial city of Nicoya. Observe and share experiences with local families and learn about artisan lobster fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sol Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sol Samara Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing