We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sol Samara
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho De La Playa(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirador de Samara(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Samara Beach(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Giada(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
118
64
36
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
64
36
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall poolwalk along the beachan enjoyable staydecent breakfastevery requestpura vidanice place to staysmall hotelstayed two nightsrestaurants and barsleotownstylizedshellstreesclosetloungers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Last summer I stayed at hotel Sol Samara with a group of 20 people. The staff of the hotel is superfriendly and helpfull. They brought some of their chairs by car to the beautifull beach ´Playa Carrillo´.
Because it was our last night of the trip they helped me organise a farewell dinner: they made big barbeque with a campfire at the beach in front of the hotel for a really good price as well.
The hotel is a little bit from the centre of Samara but still walkable: within 30 min. or 10 min by local buss that passes the hotel.
I would recommand this hotel and their welcoming owner and staff: they make you feel at home in their paradise!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

IT is a couple of miles south of Samara-a quick ride and a half hour walk. We were there in April and it was pretty hot-too hot to walk except really early in the morning. It is a working beach not a tourist beach. Swimming was better at Carillo beach which is a couple of miles further south. A really pretty beach with fairly gentle surf and shade. The hotel was very clean and the outdoor eating area was lovely. The breakfasts were delicious. They had there own mango and papaya trees. The room was spacios and comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. The pool and pool area is very small but clean. The hotel is in a real neighborhood, but not an upscale one. It was interesting to see how people lived and it felt safe , but it's a little rough. Overall we liked it but would have enjoyed a better beach.

Room Tip: balcony was nice and corner rooms bigger
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patty1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My husband and I travelled here to attend a wedding. Most of the guests were part of the wedding group so it became a wonderful spot to enjoy the festivities.
The staff were amazing and so invested in making our stay as pleasant as possible. The rooms were clean and comfortable; the grounds well kept and the food was delicious. Every effort was made by the staff to work together in making this special and it was. Thank you so much!!!
The wedding reception was at the hotel and the work done to make it special was outstanding.
We walked to town along the beach which let us enjoy the shells, fishing boats and ambiance of the area. Several people enjoyed tours that were organized by the reception staff.
It is a little far from town but you can get a cab if you want so you don't have to feel out of town too much but the location was great for us and the pool area was a big hit on those hot days.
I would love to go back and recommend others enjoy this hotel.

Room Tip: They have a second floor so if you don't want stairs...request a lower level one.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junglejimles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We chose this hotel based on the many excellent reviews and very few poor reviews, so I feel that I need to provide some perspective.

The good: the property itself is very nice, room very clean and air conditioned. Staff seemed nice and there is a charming outdoor eating area for the breakfast that is included.

The bad: it's a very long walk to the town of Samara, or you need a car to do the drive. As others have mentioned, it's in a "rustic" neighborhood and there's no security for parking, so patrons may want to be aware of that. Frankly, the trip to the beach is dirty and not at all nice; you would not want to hang out on the beach in the immediate vicinity especially as a single female. As we pulled up to the hotel, there was a bonfire of trash going strong on the property next door, not really what you want to be welcomed with. There are dogs and chickens wandering everywhere, including on the property, so be prepared for dogs barking until around 3am and roosters crowing at 4am. I also stayed at another hotel in Samara (which would not be considered luxury) so I know there are nicer budget places.

Honestly, I wouldn't mind the neighborhood if at least it was close to the nice part of the beach. It's too far out, with too many animals that you don't come to Costa Rica for.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The last leg of our trip took us to Sámara on the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. We had reservations at Hotel Sol Sámara so we were looking forward to being near the beach. So far, Gate1 Travel had done a great job of providing hotel recommendations. Hotel Sol Sámara would be no exception!!! Quite location, spacious and up-to-date rooms, Happy Hour every night, breakfast every morning, internet connectivity and great hospitality all made for a fantastic experience. This hotel was a little off the beaten path, but is a very charming place to hang your hat. The staff is bilingual and the hotel has all the amenities you would need. Great time had by all and the next time we are in the area, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews