We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“AMAZING, deal!!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
MuniraCDT
Paramaribo, Suriname
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING, deal!!”
Reviewed 5 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I travelled with my mom, aunt, unlce and my one year old baby boy. This house was better than what we expected, Being with so many people and a little one it was really nice to have the extra space and extra bathrooms... waking up in the mornings and being able to drink coffee next to the pool in the beautiful gardens was one of best things... My son had the freedom to run around outside and swim and Idid not have to worry being limited to just an hotel room. The fully equipped kitchen was really nice cause we could actully cook and just hang around the house. The staff was also very friendly and helpful and Roberto attended to our every need. You are about 15 minutes walking distance from the beach and once you are on the beach the center of the Town Samara was maybe a 20 minute walk over the beach.. easy walk and really nice.
We wanted to stay extra nights but it was already booked!! BUt we will DEFINITELY be back ,,, just amazing amazing amazing!!! loved every little bit of it!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool at the house!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy D
Steamboat Springs, Colorado, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Without question, one of the finest places I have stayed in Costa Rica.”
Reviewed 2 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

I have rented many homes in CR over the years, but Villa Sandy really has it all. Daily house, yard and pool service that is exceptional. Flawless high speed internet that with skype, kept me connected to the world. Both the house design and craftsmanship were executed with great care. The property is safe and secure, private and quiet, with nightlife only minutes away, its location is superb for day trips or quiet days by the pool. I stayed for nearly a month and after many trips through out the country, Villa Sandy was always a welcomed site.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to Carillo, Samara, Garza and Nicoya and morning swims.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2012
Grazie...Thanks a lot !!
Roberto
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan K
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Incredible Place Period.”
Reviewed 11 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Many places in the world offer good views, good service, good surroundings and good food. But I am yet to find a place that can match what Villas Kalimba have to offer. We, staying at Villas Kalimba - Sandy (this is a villa located off the main town, about two minutes drive to the beach) as a family of 6. At first I thought that it would be a downside not to be right on the beach, but boy was I wrong! Villa Sandy is something out of a fairy tale, the curves, the colors, the view are simply incredible. The villa has all the amenities you could want, 3 bedrooms, big kitchen, great little pool overlooking the surroundings. The Staff is super friendly and really keen to make your stay special. To put it in perspective one of my fondest memories of this trip was lounging on the hammock on the porch enjoying the sunset and wildlife. The greatest part is that being so close to town you feel as if you lived in the jungle, on a little dream island overlooking the ocean at a distance.

Before I finish I must urge whoever is reading this to consider one of Roberto and Mara's (the owners) culinary propositions. Roberto, has two hobbies, one is building villas and if his creations do not impress you, then his culinary skills will. If you have the opportunity sing up to one of his dinners - please do so. Roberto is a chef that cooks because he likes to, and when he likes to, not because he has to. This may seem odd but it makes a huge difference; every meal felt like we were invited into his Italian family and served with the most delicious Italian creations under the sun. I never thought I would enjoy Italian food so much in Costa Rica, and in my opinion there is nothing better then a home cooked delicious Italian meal after surfing all day. The only down side is that you cannot expect this treat everyday.

From the bottom of my heart I want to thank Roberto and his staff for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful rest, beautiful Villa, incredible food, Roberto and Mara!
Liked least: leaving this paradise
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2012
Grazie!!!!
Roberto
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dlofpa
Stoneboro
1 review
“Paradise in the tropics”
Reviewed 9 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We recently stayed In Villas Kalimba in Playa Samara. This Villa is a tropical paradise and the owner and staff are out of this world. The home we rented was so comfortable and beautiful that we didn't feel the need to even leave the courtyard. But we did, and really enjoyed all the sights and attractions that this area offers. The beach is close as are many resturants and stores.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2011
Thanks a lot!!!!
Roberto
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.
Reviewed 15 October 2009 for a stay in September 2009
3
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
csanch78
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2017
Muchas gracias lo esperamos de regreso pronto!!!
Roberto & Co
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$140
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing