We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“German/Swiss perfection in Samara!”
Review of Samara Palm Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Samara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Samara Palm Lodge
Ranked #2 of 34 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“German/Swiss perfection in Samara!”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

From the first email contact to the last meal at Samara Palm Lodge, Brigitte and Lothar were absolute hospitality pros! What a pleasure on every level! They take so much pride in everything they do and it shows! The hotel is beautifully maintained from the lobby to the grounds and pool area to the rooms which are bright and clean and tastefully decorated! Comfortable beds, well functioning bathrooms and not a bug to be seen (in Costa Rica, mind you!). The location is perfect and only a short walk to the beach and center of Samara. Brigitte was very helpful in pointing out the different restaurants on a map and help us find a place that would cater to our daughter's vegan diet. Free wi-fi, a lap-top on the terrace for everybody to use and a refrigerator with cold beverages left nothing to be desired! Nochmals vielen Dank und herzliche Gruesse aus Memphis, TN!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
203
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We (family with 2 kids 3 and 5 years old) stayed there 2 times because our children loved the place and the owners Brigitte and Lothar). It is a very clean and nice furnished hotel. they offer good breakfast and it is just a 5 minutes walk to the beach. They also give you good informations what you can do in this area. It is possible to rent bikes and snorkelling equipment.
We can really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidFrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I believe everything happens for a reason. I was about to continue driving out of town to Nosara when I decided to check with this location to see about pricing for accommodations. From the moment I walked into the reception to the moment I left 3 days later I felt like I was at home. Yes ~ that's right ~ 3 DAYS LATER! One night turned into 3 and I love the space, decor, and everything about this location. The level of pride Lothar and Brigete have for their hotel and town/tourism is off the charts. They informed me where I could go to get a pedicure and where to get lined up for kayaking on my Birthday. I returned to my room later that day to find a Birthday note from them along with lovely sweet treats. Being a sole traveler that made me feel like I had an extended family here in Samara. I can't recommend the Samara Palm Lodge enough! Love it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My husband and I found this a great place to stay for our few days in Samara. It was our first time in Samara and Brigitte was a wonderful person to introduce us to the area. She sat down with us and, with a map in hand, explained the area to us, so that we knew where we were going around town and where the best places were to eat/drink. The lodge was beautiful, quiet and right outside the busy center of town, a quick walk to everything. The rooms were spotless and the pool was nice and warm. A GREAT value. Hosts were very invested in their place and made sure you felt welcome. We highly recommend the Samara Palm Lodge. Vermont, USA

Room Tip: Loved the rooms downstairs, as you just step out to the pool area. We did have a/c but did not need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Samara Palm Lodge is the place to stay when visiting Samara. Brigitte and Lothar make you feel right at home as soon as you walk through their door. The rooms are spacious and spotless, the outdoor area (pool and garden) is very well maintained and is a peaceful haven away from the main street. SPL is a short walk from the beach and main street where you can find a variety of restaurants including bakeries and sodas.
Wifi is available and if you don't have your own laptop there is one available in the lounge area. There are also plenty of excursions on offer which Brigitte and Lothar can recommend and arrange for you...our personal favourite was horse riding with one of Lothar's friends. He'll take you to the most spectacular views that Samara has to offer!
Breakfast is a real treat with fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, toast and juice/coffee...make sure you are hungry as it is delicious! Thank you so much Brigitte and Lothar; if we return to Costa Rica we will make sure you have a room available!

Room Tip: The rooms are on 2 floors, all overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capriuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

we stayed here in feb '12 for a few nights and have nothing but praise for spl and the owners lother and brigitte. when we booked, all emails were answered promptly, which is always a good sign. the location is great, don't worry about proximity to the road, there isn't much traffic and you can't hear it from your room anyway. spl is on the edge of town and everything is within walking distance. rooms are quite big and absolutely spotless. wifi is free and if you don't have your own wifi device, there is a free computer to use by the pool. while we were there we had some serious transport issues and lother insisted on helping us out until it was resolved, he went way above and beyond to help us! many thanks again lother!
the closest bar is about a 5 minute walk away and is on the beach, but if you want a quiet drink at the hotel then take advantage of the well stocked honour bar by the pool. breakfast is excellent consisting of fresh fruit, yogurt and cold cuts with toast. do yoursel a favour and stay here!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonnysullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Thank you! Thank you! What a wonderful spot in Samara. For all those who appreciate well managed and clean places to stay, Samara Palm is a must. During the day it is a quite little retreat from the busier part of town with a refreshingly clean pool and outdoor lounge area. The owners are wonderful people who pour their heart and soul into the place and it truly makes staying here a joy.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the far right which was noisy for a couple of hours in the evening because it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Pequeno Gecko Verde
El Pequeno Gecko Verde
#3 of 34 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
#4 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samara Palm Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samara Palm Lodge

Property: Samara Palm Lodge
Address: 250 mts del Banco Nacional oeste | Rio Lagarto, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is situated around 5-7 minutes from the village /center of Playa Samara. (Walking distance 5-7 minutes) and nearby the Beach (around 5 minutes)The Lodge is under a Swiss- German Managment.We know how important holidays are for you, and we promise you an unforgettable, lovely stay at our Lodge.We are looking forward to welcome you in our little paradise. For any further questions or bookings please contact us directly ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Samara Palm Lodge Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing