We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HATED TO LEAVE”
Review of Samara Palm Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samara Palm Lodge
Ranked #2 of 32 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at Samara Palm Lodge and I must say we were not disappointed. From my first email to inquire about reservations to the moment we departed, the hosts, Lothar and Brigitte, were very prompt, friendly and accommodating. Check in was a breeze with Brigitte providing us with a map of the local area and giving us recommendations about where to eat. Our room, #1, was cozy clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the beer in the honor bar was cold! The pool was clean and refreshing. There is a great common area as well as hammocks to lounge in. We loved our stay and had a hard time leaving. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank javanican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013

We really enjoyed our week at Samara Palm Lodge. I must say it is one of the nicest boutique hotels we have come across. The attention to detail is amazing. The rooms and pool area are so nice. We had beautiful weather in Samara and it was so relaxing around the deck and pool (which was very refreshing on a hot day)! The computer available to guests was appreciated. The breakfast was delicious and the honesty bar provided cold drinks. The owners were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, however we really liked the ground level rooms that open up to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My Husband and I first came across this little gem of a hotel two years ago. Having had a great experience last time, we decided to stay again this February. I'm happy to say that again we weren't disappointed. This hotel is located a short 5 minute walk from Samara beach. The location is perfect as it's close to the beach/town center, yet away from the noise and bustle when you want to just relax and get away from it all. The pool here is very clean and there are plenty of lounge chairs, hammocks, and a covered sitting area when you need to retreat from the Sun. The rooms are very clean and have a comfortable king size bed to sleep in. Local woods and a nature inspired decor compliment the rooms and the hotel itself. The hosts (Lothar and Brigitte) are very friendly and extremely accomodating. They had all sorts of suggestions for where to eat, what to do, etc. They even went so far as to book our next hotel for us when we were leaving Samara for Nosara. There is no doubt we will be staying here again on our next trip down.
Wendy & Kevin Jones

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRBound_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samarapalmlodge, Owner at Samara Palm Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear Wendy & Kevin

thank´s for your lovely review on tripadvisor! It was our pleasure to meet you again & we hope to welcome you both´s next year again !! Take care and all the best to you both´s !
saludos de pura vida
Brigitte y Lothar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We spent eight nights at Samara Palm Lodge and quickly learned the reviews (including my own) simply do not do this lovely bed and breakfast justice. Brigitte and Lothar were incredibly welcoming and knowledgeable; the grounds and rooms are immaculate. The location was fantastic, as well - a great (short!) walk to the beach and town. I highly recommend Samara Palm Lodge and hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: We had a ground room floor and loved our own sitting area which included a hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pisces1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I booked a last minute trip to Playa Samara after reading all the wonderful reviews for this property. I was impressed from the second I arrived. I felt very welcomed immediately as Brigitte greeted me outside the property right as I got off of the shuttle. She was very friendly and took the time to explain the ins and outs of Samara and even made great suggestions on places to eat and book some SUP lessons. The rooms were beautifully decorated and extremely clean. The common areas have a lovely pool and covered area with tables and chairs if you want to relax or check email on their free wifi. They have an Honesty Bar where guests can grab a beer and soda which was awesome for latenight if you don't feel like walking to town. The beach is only about a 5 minute walk and the town of Samara is very safe with lots of friendly people. I watched the superbowl at La Vela Latina (highly recommend) right on the beach. Although I was traveling alone, my experience was a ton of fun and I will definitely be back to Samara Palm Lodge soon. Brigitte and Lothar are wonderful hosts and will go out of their way to make sure each guest is happy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Samara Palm Lodge is a paradise within a paradise! The attention to detail is exquisite. Hosts Brigitte and Lothar made us feel welcome the moment we arrived. They suggested restaurants and coordinated local tours for us that were beyond expectations. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Samara Palm Lodge for about five days between Christmas and New Year's. The owners are quite nice and very accomodating. The hotel and space inside the walls are wonderful. A great clean and modern room, complete with hot water and a lovely pool area. Perfect for lounging around when you want a break from the beach. Their daily breakfasts are quite good as well. Everything that's within the owner's control is perfect.
The two things that can be a bit less than perfect are: 1) It's on a pretty busy road that can be quite loud at times and requires you to be very careful when walking into town (five or six blocks) or to the beach. Lots of traffic that mostly doesn't slow down or pull over for pedestrians. 2) During our stay it was really quite loud until about 1:30am each night. There was a rodeo in town (a twice a year event, the owner told me) and the PA system there would be the envy of any NFL team's stadium. So, I would recommend that you be sure and just ask if there are any special events going on during your stay. If loud music and wall vibrating bass aren't an issue for you, then no worries.
Other than that, it is really a great hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure there are no festivals/rodeos planned duing your stay. It can be quite loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BruceSpates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
864 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samara Inn
Hotel Samara Inn
#10 of 16 in Playa Samara
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
408 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samara Palm Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samara Palm Lodge

Address: | 250 mts del Banco Nacional oeste, Rio Lagarto, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range: £49 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is situated around 5-7 minutes from the village /center of Playa Samara. (Walking distance 5-7 minutes) and nearby the Beach (around 5 minutes)The Lodge is under a Swiss- German Managment.We know how important holidays are for you, and we promise you an unforgettable, lovely stay at our Lodge.We are looking forward to welcome you in our little paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Samara Palm Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samara Palm Lodge Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing