We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay.”
Review of Samara Palm Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samara Palm Lodge
Ranked #2 of 32 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at the Samara Palm Lodge at the end of our 3 week trip around Costa Rica and it was by far the best place we stayed! The Swiss couple the ran the lodge were extremely friendly and helpful.

The beds were made beautifully each day and the honesty-system mini-bar by the pool was a really nice touch. Nothing like a few cervezas by the pool after a day snorkelling/hiking/drinking cocktails on the beach.

On the day we left we realised (after 45 mins in a taxi) that we had left our passports at the lodge and had to return quickly. The staff we very helpful giving us the bus time table so we wouldnt waste money on another taxi to San Jose and suggested that we sit by the pool and use the mini-bar whilst waiting for the bus.

Such friendly service doesn't go unnoticed!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at the Samara Palm Lodge over Christmas for three days and I didn't want to leave! The grounds are incredibly well maintained, lush plants, hammocks to relax in, beautiful pool and howlers monkeys around the corner which you can see / hear! Some complained that they woke them up in the morning but I never heard them that early. The rooms are simple but have lots of character. The only thing I wish they had was a mini fridge in the room. There is only one mini fridge on site by the pool which is an honesty bar fridge. If I had a couple of beer or a bottle of white wine I wanted to chill I just put it in the bottom drawer but if everyone was doing this then there would be no room. Breakfast was available for $8/person. It looked wonderful but we decided to skip and head to town as I wanted as much local food as possible (and the price at most soda's for breakfast was about $5/person). The location is literally 5 minute walk to town, very close. They had a rodeo and fair set up on the grounds down the road which we went to. It was so much fun and the food was incredible. Samara is very safe during the day and at night. As well, the owners were very friendly and approachable. All and all an amazing place and I highly recommend!

Room Tip: I prefer the first floor rooms as they have AC. The second floor rooms only have fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theatlanticviewns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

After having travelled 3 weeks through Costa Rica & Panama we decided to spend our last week in Samara at the Palm Lodge! It was number 1 at Trip Advisor and we read some good reviews so we had some expectations..!
We were not disappointed by our choice as it was even better than we would ever have imagined!
The two owners (Lothar & Brigitte) are so nice, helpfull and make you feel at home!
The rooms are great and the pool is surrounded by beautiful trees and flowers. Moreover the prices are very reasonable.
We had a fantastic week at this small paradise and strongly recommend Samara Palm Lodge!

Pierre & Amy
Holland

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pierrefromholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Defiantly the best place we stayed in Costa Rica. Comfortable, clean, beautiful and affordable! The owners were very helpful, kind and nice. Only tip would be to allow online bookings as we almost skipped over this little gem although they do get back to you about reservations quite quickly over email. - We would go back in a heart beat!!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Neltam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

If you visit Samora, I HIGHLY recommend staying at the Palm Lodge. It is owned and operated by a wonderful young couple named Brigette & Lothar who genuinely care about giving you and outstanding experience. The rooms are impeccable and you'll enjoy the family of Howler monkeys that live in the trees next to the lodge. It's only 2 minutes from the Main Street and 4 minutes from the beach. It's quiet, air conditioned (or giant fan) and absolutely private and safe. The pool on site is surrounded by lush greenery and tasteful accents. You will LOVE the Palm Lodge and the warmth and service provided by the owners. 5 Star lodgings at the most affordable rates!

Room Tip: Affordable rates and only $5 dollar cost difference for a room with AC! Also, the owners will assis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

After a round trip through Costa Rica, the Palm Lodge turned out to be the perfect place to relax. Lothar and Bri are exellent hosts! Not only did they make our stay as comfortable as possible, but they also assisted us when help was needed with the Costerican Police.
The small pool at the lodge was nice to jump in after a day at the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SyR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

An all in all great stay. Nice and clean rooms, very kind owners, top service. Not to much and not to "poco" ;-) The little pool is so nice when you come back after a day on the beach.
There you can really come down to get away from it all...

Room Tip: You can choose the AC&TV rooms on the base level or standard rooms without AC&TV in the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank webbi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
856 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
296 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
898 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samara Palm Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samara Palm Lodge

Address: | 250 mts del Banco Nacional oeste, Rio Lagarto, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range: £49 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is situated around 5-7 minutes from the village /center of Playa Samara. (Walking distance 5-7 minutes) and nearby the Beach (around 5 minutes)The Lodge is under a Swiss- German Managment.We know how important holidays are for you, and we promise you an unforgettable, lovely stay at our Lodge.We are looking forward to welcome you in our little paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Samara Palm Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samara Palm Lodge Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing