We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hiking experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Samara Trails

Samara Trails
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.99*
and up
Samara Trails Including Werner Sauter Biological Reserve
Ranked #6 of 29 Tours in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Samara Trails is a trail system within the private 346 acre Werner Sauter Wildlife Refuge. The Refuge is in Dry Tropical forest and contains various species of plants and animals including monkeys, birds, mammals, and amphibians. The hike takes approximately 3-4 hours to complete - private hikes are completed at 7am or 3:00 pm and are led by experienced and bilingual guides.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hiking experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Alverro, the grandson of the owner of this property is a wonderfully friendly and knowledgeable guide. The tour runs about three hours and he sets a very nice pace throughout the hike. There are some steeper inclines, but we took some breaks along the way. It is so worth the walk, as the top of the trail has some amazing beach views! We learned so much about this tropical dry forest area - from the plants and trees to the birds, insects, fruits and berries that populate this unique area. Would highly recommend this tour - try to do the morning tour, as it may get a bit hot and possibly rainy, depending on the time of the year.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank hlew123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    13
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We did this wonderful hike on a Saturday morning with my family of ten( six adults and 4 kids age 17 to 5) and had a fantastic time. Alvaro,out guide, was extremely informative and was great with the kids. He paced the hike just right with nice breaks after the tougher uphill sections. You can really tell he cares about the local ecosystem and he wants to make sure his guests have a great experience. I highly recommend this to anyone who wants to get off the beach for a while, get some exercise, and learn a lot along the way.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pbusalac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fascinating Beautiful Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My boyfriend and I had really wanted to hike through the rainforest to cap off our amazing Costa Rica trip, and our hike with Alverro did not disappoint! Like the reviewers before me have said, Alverro is very friendly and extremely knowledgeable and the property is huge and absolutely gorgeous. This was definitely one of the top highlights of our week-long trip. We learned a lot about the history of the land and it's native peoples, as well as the different plants, animals, birds, insects and fruits we passed during our walk. The pace was comfortable, the incline wasn't too steep and we frequently took short breaks while Alverro told us about different plants and wildlife we passed by. The three hours went by surprisingly quickly and we didn't feel tired afterwards. As others mentioned, we got to taste different fruits and plants we passed by, and even a termite (they were very small and tasted nutty). He also brought pineapple and watermelon for us to eat to restore our energy while we rested at the panoramic viewpoint at the top of the trail, which was amazing. We were lucky enough to have a cloudy day which kept the temperature slightly cooler (the path is mostly shaded by the thick foliage of the forest though, so you don't really need to worry about sunscreen anyway) but the humidity still had us working up quite a sweat. Surprisingly, mosquitoes/flies/bugs were really not a problem at all despite being in the middle of the forest, but probably still best to put on bug spray, especially if you plan to wear tshirts or shorts. I would recommend wearing sneakers as it is a dirt path with some red ants here and there along the way, but certainly no need for heavy duty hiking shoes. We were in the beginning of the rainy season, so the trail wasn't wet, but apparently a few streams run through the forest towards the end of may/beginning of june.

Overall, fantastic hike! If you are in the Samara or Carrillo area, you DEFINITELY want to do this hike!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Alvarro, the guide, is amazing. He really knows the lay of his land, and it was a fascinating hike. He got my son to try a termite and my friend's kid, who won't even eat salad at home, to chew on a leaf. Such a cool hike! If you go to Samara Beach, this was my favorite excursion of all that we did.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful intro the nature of Samara!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

The property is beautiful and the guide, Alvaro, is awesome! He's not only very knowledgable about the history of the region, the wildlife and sustainability, but he's clearly very passionate about all of it. The sunset views over Samara and Carrillo beaches are a must see.

Thanks for the great tour Alvaro!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Samara Trails also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Samara Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing