We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”
Review of Hideaway Hotel

Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #47 of 73 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: I want to review the restaurant, not the hotel (lodging).
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We didn't stay at this hotel but had a very nice lunch here out by the pool area. It is owned by an American expat who. Came out to say hello to us which I thought was nice. We had a veg pizza and a hamburger. Good sized portions and both were very tasty! I also had the coconut ice cream for dessert which was good.

It is a bit pricey, but worth it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sumo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    3
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Excellent service. That is the stand out here. The owners are very helpful and friendly as are the staff. Everyone speaks fluent English. The grounds are well maintained and the rooms are clean and spacious. Apart from the hotel's bar and restaurant, the town with restaurants and bars is a 30+ min walk away, so you have to keep this in mind in planning your day. It is called 'Hideaway', so that's the whole idea. You aren't in the thick of it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Onesimusmaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We actually stayed at the house next door, but ate breakfast here every morning. The owners, Doug and Rosie, are the nicest, most personable people we met. I will not hesitate to stay at their hotel on a return visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dgwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to unwind”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Loved the hotel - great place to unwind, surf, eat, swim. Recommended to all but worth noting it's a 40 min walk on the beach from town, or a 4,000 colones ($8) taxi ride.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I think this place is over rated. Someone said this was a close walk and well worth it, I am wondering where they walked from. We came from almost the center of town and it took 45 minutes to walk there. I wish we would not have wasted our time. If you are going to walk the beach go during low tide, because at hide tide there is not a clear path to walk because of how high the water comes up. The service was good and the outdoor seating by the pool was nice and low key. I had the guacamole that everyone was talking about and I thought it was good. My husband at the chicken sandwich and said that it was nothing to write home about. We tried the famous brownie sundae talk about a let down! The brownie tasted like it was made 3 days before and it was crumbly not soft and moist. The strawberry ice was delicious. If you are going to get dessert go for any of the homemade ice cream and skip the brownie. Overall if you had a car take the trip if not there are plenty of places in town that are just as good or better.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aroasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hideaway Hotel also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing