We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad”
Review of Las Brasas - CLOSED

Las Brasas
Cuisines: Spanish
Description: http://samarabeach.com/lasbrasas/index.html
Restaurant details
Description: http://samarabeach.com/lasbrasas/index.html
Milan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very bad”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We wanted to stay upstairs: they told us it was not possible. Our choice wasn't on the menù, they told us only after we ordered the beverages. In the end we ordered a fish fillet, absolutely nothing special and not cheap.
The worst thing is we strongly suppose it was not "seabass" as we were told but "pangasius", I know that fish very well.
There are better places in town!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank balzarasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent food, not-so-great service”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Had dinner here with my family on a weeknight. Husband had the lobster, which was pretty good. Grandpa had steak, which he enjoyed. The kids had simple stuff like ravioli and spaghetti. No complaints. The calamari appetizer was very good. It's a cute place and I think we would have enjoyed ourselves a little more if the service had not been so slow and unfriendly. It was clear that our waiter did not like waiting on families with children. Also, we were the only ones in the restaurant since it was kind of early for dinner, and our food still took forever to arrive!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hnm90807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We came here with our friends from our hotel. I had the seafood pasta which was delicious. My fiance had the steak with was pretty undercooked. He asked for them to take it back and cook a bit more. They brought it back out and it was still just as pink. He wasn't able to finish it because it was making him feel sick...

Our friend had the lobster which was stuffed with a delicious sauce and all types of seafood! It looked and tasted delicious. Three out of our four plates bought were great so overall this place was ok/good. I would eat here again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBlonde526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay, nothing special and a bit overpriced”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Food was okay. Nothing special and definitely more expensive than other restaurants we ate at in Samara and Playa Carillo. Service was lovely, the usual for Costa Rica. We did not choose to go back other evenings.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
132 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent paella”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Excellent food. We stayed 5 nights in Samara and went 2 times to this resaturant. The paella we had on New Years eve was great, altough the portions were quit small. Not cheap...Friendly staff.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank William_Decoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Las Brasas also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing