We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Rancho De La Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rancho De La Playa
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
CT
2 reviews
“Nice place”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The hotel was a nice hotel. The rooms were clean, the pool was nice(although it had some stuff that could easily be cleaned out), and the staff were wonderful. Overall it was a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggiCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    31
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
29
32
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I have stayed in countless hostals and Rancho de la Playa ranks along with the best I have stayed in.

Friendly and efficient staff who showed me a number of rooms with/without aircon, private/dormitory to fit most budgets.

The food was great, the pool was excellent and the live music in the evening was the cherry on top of the icing on the cake.

Many thanks to Megan and her team who were incredibly professional and who ALL made me feel welcome - even though I was only staying one night!

Room Tip: If you can afford a room with aircon go for it, Samara gets hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickStClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond Bar, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I arrived in early April and planned on staying for a couple of weeks.
I asked the staff about security and I was told that it was safe.
So I left my personal belongings and first my IPhone was stolen form my phone and then some of my money was stolen from hotel room.
My advise is to stay away . If you do go do not trust anyone there.
I left early because I wanted to relax and rest and I found to stressful to stay and be worrying about getting rob in a place that you put your trust on.
Very sad and disappointed with this place . I was asking the locals Americans and I was told that alot of theft goes on in Samara. I was told that one of the Local americans had been rob over 5 times. I have travel extensively and this ranks with one of my worst experiences.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marco g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

A friend suggested I stay at this place. Megan & Roberto are the absolute best! So helpful, caring for pretty much every need (and want!). The pool was a great place to cool off in during the heat of the day. The food served at the restaurant was top quality, and with a wide selection. And if there's something I wanted to eat that wasn't on the menu, or if I wanted to substitute something, no problem! They went out of their way to make it happen. The bar has all kinds of liquor; they will make (almost) anything you can think of. The room was clean, and had a fridge, TV, and A/C. Security was tight, especially at night, which made me feel safe. Besides Roberto & Megan, the next best thing was the live music...and dancing! FABULOUS!! There's nothing really to complain about. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crissy-dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I was directed to this hotel from a friend who had lived in the area. This place is really nice, fun and super friendly! They have a pool, which was kept very clean, nice size rooms that are clean and they have hot water for the shower. The manager, Megan is friendly and helpful as are everyone else working there. They have a restaurant on site with very tasty food at a great price and while we were there they had 2 nights of live music. Its a minute walk to the beach. They also have a secured parking lot on site. Will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Playa Samara! Muchas gracias everyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tat2mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. The apartment we stayed in was not fully equipped. Our room was dirty & many things falling apart. The toilet ran non stop. The pool needed cleaning as well as the the surrounding areas. The plus was the bed was okay & the people are nice. The price we paid was high & the food was okay but expensive . A little maintenance would be good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srborden57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

It is the utmost scam in the world when you are being promised a paradise but instead, being delivered to hell--where Garden of Eden becomes Dante's Inferno. These are the things that are likely to happen only in some Wes Craven film's Opus in some Hollywood production. The only problem this time is the location, event and characters aren't coincidental but purely real. Let's call it Hell Hotel Rancho de la Playa in Samara, Costa Rica.

Rancho de la Playa as the advertisement goes will lure you to throw in a hefty deposit to reserve a room. I tell you now this is their doorstep to Hades. Whatever happens do not, I repeat--do not lure into drawing your hard earned money and give them a deposit. This is where all the miseries will start for you as it happened to me. I paid them a cash deposit to hold rooms for me as anybody would do in a standard operating procedure. However they will suddenly inform you that the management have changed and the hotel had been sold to some other proprietor and that the reservations you paid for cannot be honored under the new management. However furious you are, you will be rendered helpless by this miserable hotel policy and I ended having a big hole in my pocket to the tune of $8000.
http://letstraveltheworldblog.wordpress.com/2013/04/17/rancho-de-la-playa-the-hell-hotel/

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank USTrotter111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
390 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
514 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
869 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho De La Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho De La Playa

Property: Rancho De La Playa
Address: 75 metros oeste de casa Paraiso | Nicoya Guanacaste, Playa Samara NA, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Playa Samara
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful hotel located in the center of Samara and 75 meters from one of the most beautiful beach in Costa Rica. We offer a variety of rooms to meet your travel needs with wonderful accommodations. We offer rooms from 20$ to 110$,like a Dorms,Private rooms with air conditioning a shared bathroom and kitchen,Private rooms with air conditioning and own bathroom,Also we have 4 fully equipped apartments. All rooms have a Cable tv and wi-fi free at the room Hotel and Pool surrounded in a tropical garden with fruits trees, Possible Transport to / from Airports, Laundry service, Parking, Free Internet WiFi. You can enjoy a cocktail poolside, free high speed internet, enjoy various kind of breakfasts, The restaurant is open only for big events and every saturday we serve a dinner at the hotel when we arrange a Live Music night. Also let us to arrange a variety of tours for you during your stay. We speak English, Italian, and Spanish. Come to enjoy your best travel with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rancho De La Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho De La Playa Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing