We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good place to stay for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rancho De La Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rancho De La Playa
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place to stay for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

The rooms were clean and the staff nice and friendly. While it's not on the beach, it's about a block away and it's in a good location for the price and in walking distance to everything in samara. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannahD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    28
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
27
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Bedrooms very clean and big, swimming pool very cool and people friendly and helpful. Food is good, cocktails excellents ! The plan was to stay 3 nights but we are there since 10days now and we dont regret it. If you'r lucky you might see and heard monkeys in the yard..

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Zelda_brrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed one night in this nice little hotel in Samara, with a quaint setting, and all of the features one really needs. We were very pleased with the accommodations, and they served a great breakfast in the morning at a discount if you pre-ordered the day before. Megan was super friendly and over-the-top helpful in getting everything we needed, including confirming our "truck-taxi" to get us across the river and on to Nosara, and arranging for our breakfast to be served extra-early the next morning.

The location is an easy walk to the beach, being only one small block up from "Ocean Drive", and since the town is so small it is located near many mini-supermarkets and restaurants. If you opt to dine right at the hotel, you will not be disappointed. The food and service is fantastic. I definitely recommend this hotel, it is a great place to relax, sun by the pool or play a game of ping-pong.

The room was comfortable, equipped with remote control A/C, had a nice large bathroom and shower, with hot water. No bugs were seen in the room, which was well maintained, and kept very clean.

There is secure parking on site as well, if you are driving.

We expected a lot of noise and action on the Saturday night there, but it was kind of quiet, with not too many people in the restaurant/bar area where we hung out with friends for the evening.

The price was reasonable, and the rates were just as posted, so no surprises. There are several different types of accommodations, depending on your party's needs.

Would definitely recommend, and return to this hotel.

Thanks Megan, your exceptional customer service is unprecedented!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GuillermoGloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I go to Rancho every Saturday night for live music and it is always bustling with people. The operator of the place, Megan is really good at her job and is a wonderful person. She always takes time out of her day to ask about how you are doing. She keeps good conversation going while the food is being made if its not too busy. The bartenders are equally as cordial and are always smiling to see you come back. The music is always top notch, the crowd it brings super chill, and the wine and beer flowing and tasty. Highly recommend a visit for a beer or some music. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tam22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Undoubtedly the best combination of delicious food, awesome live music, dancing, and the best damn staff in ALL the Americas you'll come across in your travels. Beautiful, fun people make you feel right at home at this gorgeous outdoor space where you can play ping pong, take a dip in the pool, dance the night away, or just chill out at the bar and talk to the AMAZING bartenders and staff. You'll feel right at home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damiennnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

what can i say....the service is fantastic. live music 3 nites a week, excellent and attractive bartenders,nice hotel owners(super), food cooked with love, pool, pingpong. they will arrange anything you need or direct you to someone who can. i cannot say enough about this place!!! stayed there twice and certainly will again. bless and love for everyone there!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vincentsedlmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Good food + live music + amazing staff = place to be!
Rancho on a Saturday night brings all types of people to experience a great time with their open mic night. Milo starts things off and jumps in and joins other who want to share the stage and their talents. AND lots of great talent from all around the word join in.
Food is good and served by a super friendly and you can tell ~ hard working staff. It does get busy and they do hustle.
So if you find yourself in Samara on a Saturday night be sure to not miss out on the fun!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.0 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mirador de Samara
Mirador de Samara
#15 of 15 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho De La Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho De La Playa

Property: Rancho De La Playa
Address: 75 metros oeste de casa Paraiso | Nicoya Guanacaste, Playa Samara NA, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful hotel located in the center of Samara and 75 meters from one of the most beautiful beach in Costa Rica. We offer a variety of rooms to meet your travel needs with wonderful accommodations. We offer rooms from 20$ to 110$,like a Dorms,Private rooms with air conditioning a shared bathroom and kitchen,Private rooms with air conditioning and own bathroom,Also we have 4 fully equipped apartments. All rooms have a Cable tv and wi-fi free at the room Hotel and Pool surrounded in a tropical garden with fruits trees, Possible Transport to / from Airports, Laundry service, Parking, Free Internet WiFi. You can enjoy a cocktail poolside, free high speed internet, enjoy various kind of breakfasts, The restaurant is open only for big events and every saturday we serve a dinner at the hotel when we arrange a Live Music night. Also let us to arrange a variety of tours for you during your stay. We speak English, Italian, and Spanish. Come to enjoy your best travel with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rancho De La Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho De La Playa Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing