We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“fun at Coco's” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coco's Mexican Restaurant

Coco's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 73 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sámara, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“fun at Coco's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Last week my friend and I had lunch at Coco's. The nachos could have feed three. Nachos were great, I usually have tacos. Now I'm not much of a drinker but my daughter said try the Margaritas, Fantastic. The service was great and made you feel like home. The staff was happy to see you, can't wait to go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LlanyaDomeniconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    159
    55
    22
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in CR”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We'd been looking for Mexican food FOREVER!!!! This place had amazing food. It was total off seSpn, so you had to wait a bit, but it was totally worth it. Get your Mexican food fix here! Delicious!!!

Helpful?
Thank LisaVander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good mexican style food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Ate here twice, reasonable price and good Mexican-style food, the atmosphere was a bit more lively than some other restaurants and service was fine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank co_fragment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alachua, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant in downtown Samara, Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

While visiting Samara Adventure Tours we were pretty hungry and apparently made it known to Tony, the gentleman helping us. He told us to go next door to Coco and have margaritas and nachos. We did and what an awesome choice The nachos would have been a complete meal, but we did share and get an entree. Took most of entree to hotel because we were so full of the pitcher of frozen margaritas and nachos Went there the next day also, and I must say we also went there the next. So three days in a row we went to this restaurant and had a pitcher of Margaritas and food. All the food was exceptional. Guess they were getting used to us coming in because the last day we were there not only did they bring the glasses with the margarita pitcher but that day they actually filled the glasses before bringing to our table, needless to say we did not finish the pitcher....oh, so full! Big perk is the free wi-fi for your iPhone if you come from states.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummie!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Me and my colleagues came to this restaurant, even though there was nobody inside.
We all ordered something different and very much liked it!
I had the Quesadilla's and they were delicious and filling for dinner. I would come back for sure..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nadieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coco's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Coco's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing