We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!”
Review of Mirador de Samara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mirador de Samara
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Mirador de Samara for one week and enjoyed it. Apartment is great with a million dollar view of the bay from our very spacious deck. No mosquitos and a pleasure to sit outside in the evening.
Pool area was a bit disappointing with not much shade but, hey, there is 5kms of beautiful sandy beach only five minutes away. Yes, the grounds are dry but it is the "dry" season and Costa Ricans are into conserving water.
The climb up to our apartment was considerable but we are two seniors (75 & 69) and it gets easier every day. Lighting is not great on the steps but we always carry a flashlight for walking at night.
Max, the owner, lives on the premises and takes pride in his property. He was always pleasant and helpful.
Don't be afraid to stay here. Location is the best and the deck always has a cool breeze.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mspcr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    21
    8
    8
    19
See reviews for
28
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Me and my friend stayed in the Mirador for three and a half weeks during our 2 month trip to central america. We loved it, the place, the location and the rooms. We stayed both in a sky room and a bigger apartment with a kitchen and living area.
Peaceful and quiet, but still 3 minutes to the beach and main street. A nice pool, wich we almost always had for our selves. A huge balcony with chairs and a big table, and a beatiful view. Yes, there are 2 celltowers, but don't we want our cellphones to work???
l wouldn't stay anywhere else if l go back to Samara.
And yes, there are a lot of steps to get up to the buildings, but that's why you have a beatiful view, and it's good exercice for the legs:)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsnhk h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We spent 3 weeks in Costa Rica, from Feb 14th to Mar 6th, 2012, and we stayed twice at Mirador de Samara. We first spent 7 nights during the first week of our trip; we had rented a sky room, but thanks to Max the owner and to a couple who wanted our sky room to be close to their friends, we ended up with an appartment, which we found marvelous because of the kitchen, the living room and, most of all, the large balcony (10 ft by 30 ft) with a magnificent view ot the ocean. The beach and the stores are only five minutes away from the hotel.
The hotel is located on a small hill and you have to go up some stairs if you do not have a car, but the wiew from up there is worth the effort. There is also a nice swimming pool with a large deck, where you can swim at all times of day or relax in a long chair.
During the following week, we went to visit Monteverde and Montezuma and then we decided to finish our vacations close to the beach; since we prefered Samara to Montezuma, we sent an e-mail to Max and were lucky to have an appartment for the last 5 nights of our stay in Costa Rica.
We would recommend the appartments of this hotel to anyone who likes to feel at home while being on vacations. Great stay garanteed.

Room Tip: Appartments on second floor have an even greater view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2012

With its unique architecture and location, the Mirador is a very special place in Costa Rica. The appartments and rooms are very spacious. Each has a large private veranda overlooking Samara and the ocean. No american style luxury here: think of this as an authentic tica "boutique hotel" from which to take in the breeze and the incredible view. There is a nice pool and the beach is a short walk away through a shaded footpath.
You can always count on the staff to provide you with friendly service. The best overall place in Samara.

Room Tip: Appartments, specially on the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mibourmibour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We loved the Mirador. The view is beautiful, although recently two cell towers have been added to it. Nonetheless, there is plenty of view to compensate. We have no complaints other than the internet was sporadic; and Max, the owner, was working to fix it when we left. The hotel is on a hill so if you do not have a car be prepared to get in shape. Max was very accommodating whenever any issues came up and was available to resolve them.

Room Tip: The upper floor is a bit better appointed and costs more. The lower floor has better access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meighley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Me and my Fiance stayed here during the rainy season for 3 months and we absolutely loved it! They speak english (bonus) and the view is large!! Very friendly people. The building is a little old but the space combined with the set up makes it great. Best Bang for the Buck!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I was in Samara for 5 days visiting my girlfriend and this was a great find. The rooms were spacious and stayed a comfortable temperature during some hot days. We had a refrigerator malfunction but Max brought us a new fridge in less than an hour. The view is incredible and we saw the most amazing sunset from one of the highest points in the area. It was awesome to be able to wake up and look out of the french doors and see the ocean from bed. With a beautiful porch with a table and a kitchen unit we were able to comfortably entertain a great group of friends one evening. 2 beds in one room and a fouton in the front room, a huge shower with hot water, and a private kitchen unit make this an amazing value. The unit was clean and neat. Everyone that visited commented on what a great little place it is. The pool is nice as well. The stairs can be slippery after/during a rain so I strongly recommend using caution and walking down in the grass once you are past the pool. Also, because of my taste bottled drinking water is recommended.
Over all, we could not have picked a better place for extended stay. The view, comfort and kitchen made this a perfect spot. Highly recommended for anyone staying more than a few days that would like to have a kitchen and a gorgeous view and wants a great value. I will stay here again.(check out the pictures)

Room Tip: We were in the downstairs corner room #4 and love the wrap around porch. Upstairs has balcony that p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleRooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
841 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
875 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirador de Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirador de Samara

Property: Mirador de Samara
Address: Guanacaste Samara, Playa Samara 1200, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mirador de Samara 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aparthotel Mirador de Samara is built high on a hill, about 40 meters above sea level, commanding a panoramic view of the village, beach and ocean from every room and terrace. The beach is just a five-minute walk away. The building is constructed in stricty north – South position which allows the ocean breeze entering into the rooms during daytime and atnight bringing cool breeze from the mountains behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Mirador de Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirador De Samara Hotel Playa Samara
Mirador De Samara Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing