We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet spot in paradise”
Review of Mirador de Samara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mirador de Samara
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Reviewed 2 January 2010

It is a graceful place. Located steps away from beach, shops and restaurants, the place is still has a nicely feel of being away from getting somewhat cluttered center of Samara.

The rooms are spacious and more then adequately equipped (you wouldn't find here luxury, but the furniture and fixtures are functional and well maintained; kitchen is more sufficient for simple meals; bathroom is large and clean). The pool sits between flowery bushes; the balconies are huge and offer stunning views.

It is the ideal place to relax - listening to ocean waves, cicadas, occasional barking dogs...

We did recommend this place to our friends - and will return there.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eovdedn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2010

The owners were relaxed and helpful. They gave us plenty of privacy but were available when we needed them. Rooms were huge with cooking facilities and incredible views. Location is perfect-only a few minute walk from town and the beach. We met interesting and very friendly people from Europe, Canada and the US. We enjoyed the pool and amazing walks right out the door where we saw monkeys, iguanas and beautiful birds.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanleybellingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

My husband and I have been to Samara several times and love this place. We loved it so much, we decided to get married here in April. If you are looking for a location that hosts 5 star hotels and luxury accommodations, Samara is probably not the place to go. Samara is more laid back and offers mostly casual accommodations.

We did some extra research and decided to pay a little more for accommodations considering we had a six year old, family, and friends to think about.

The owner, Max was very accommodating. Actually, he's my hero. We had a wedding party of eleven, that all had different needs and requests. Max did everything he could to make sure he met our needs to include finding a notary for the wedding (saving us $150), locating an iron and iron board, offering day tours, suggesting hair salon locations, allowing us to pick flowers for the bridal bouquet, etc.

The night we arrived, Max had seen that our rooms were well prepared. He had our honeymoon suite decorated especially for us. This was a very nice and appreciated gesture.

The hotel set up was absolutely perfect for what we needed. The honeymoon suite had a two-sided balcony that was large enough to host my entire wedding party in the evenings. The honeymoon suite also had the best breeze in the evenings.

My family really enjoyed the monkeys in the mornings. However, some of the monkeys were up a little early.

Max did a great job with our wedding. My husband and I wanted a stress free wedding. We did absolutely no advance planning, and it turned out better then perfect. Max had arranged for the notary in advance. The notary was very professional, polite, and well organized. Max and the notary even met us on Playa Carrillo, a beach area just south of Samara where we had the wedding ceremony. The ceremony took place around 5 pm (perfect time for sunset pictures). Not only that, but we received our wedding certificate within one month of the wedding (from what I was reading online I didn't expect to see a wedding certificate for four months). Max also offered to provide a wedding dinner, which we declined.

My one and only complaint was the payment situation. I had been led to believe Max accepted credit cards but preferred cash. I had brought some cash and wanted to pay the remaining balance by credit card. Max stated he did not accept credit cards, which was not what he had told several of my family members and myself prior to our arrival.

Even with this little “hiccup,” I would highly recommend the Mirador De Samara for anyone traveling in groups, with children, or couples planning a wedding.

Pura Vida

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asprag127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

I fully agree with modena1964 and his review. The panorama from the balcony is glorious, but the place is not terribly well kept. Lots of bad weeds in the garden, parts of the furniture seem to be waiting for the bulky waste removal. The pictures on their website are very, very flattering!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YvesLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

I have been coming to Samara for over 5 years now, both with my family and without. I have stayed in many hotels in the area and Mirador is out favortie by far. It is located on a hill in the middle of town which provides both convenience and a beautiful view of the bay and pacific ocean as well as a 3 minute walk to the beach, restaurants and shops. All rooms have views and decks and some have full kitchens The views are fantastic! The property is excellently maintained and cleaned and the staff has been there for years which provides a safer environment. The pool for sunset swims is my favorite. Max the owner is very friendly and helpfull with all things. I give it my highest recommendation.

The sta

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontanaCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2009

The Mirador is an unpretentious family run hotel just up the hill from the center of Samara. All the rooms have a stunning view of the town just below, the ocean and the setting sun. I had a wonderful stay and enjoyed working on my computer on the balcony, while looking out over the beautiful well kept grounds at the ocean and the town of Samara.

My nightly ritual of swimming in the pool and watching the sun set over the town was the perfect way to end the day. The Wifi was good and the simple breakfast of fruit and either French toast or scrambled eggs on the roof top restaurant was a great morning ritual. I highly recommend this charming and unpretentious hotel.

Note - some of the bigger rooms even have a kitchen, which is great for families or those staying longer term. The staff were all sweet and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DigitalVagabonding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2008

we stayed few day at Mirador de Samara, after read the good review here and in Lonely planet.
Unfortunatly the situation is changed, nevertheless the kind welcome of Max, the room was very clean, and the breakfast not good in a dirty restaurant, that now is closed for dining.
our feeling is that was a good hotel, but now is in way of decline and need some restoration.

Samara is a good place to stay, with a large beach and many place to eat and drink, but, generally spoken, we prefere the caribe coast of Costa Rica.

Anyway also pacific coast should be visited and there are more other place that I can image are better than Samara and, in particular, Mirador de Samara

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lombo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
228 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
874 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
313 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rancho De La Playa
Rancho De La Playa
#10 of 16 in Playa Samara
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirador de Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirador de Samara

Address: Guanacaste Samara, Playa Samara 1200, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range: £59 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mirador de Samara 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aparthotel Mirador de Samara is built high on a hill, about 40 meters above sea level, commanding a panoramic view of the village, beach and ocean from every room and terrace. The beach is just a five-minute walk away. The building is constructed in stricty north – South position which allows the ocean breeze entering into the rooms during daytime and atnight bringing cool breeze from the mountains behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mirador de Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirador De Samara Hotel Playa Samara
Mirador De Samara Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing