We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rip-off with room rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Las Brisas del Pacifico
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Morristown
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Rip-off with room rate”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

The hotel is at a great location and the rooms we stayed in had a high standard. As we checked in, the hotel manager gave as a cash rate for the room (incl. tax, braekfast etc.), but as in other Costa Rica places, no documentation. As the AC was not working properly we had to change the room to a less favorable location. At that time the manager told us, that the owner said we need to pay a higher rate (+40%) for the room. They told us that this was the rate as posted on the intranet. It was off season, just a few more guest there, so instead of spending 4 days we left after one night and di just pay the initially agreed rate. No desire to stay with a badly managed location and with frustrated employees and owner.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koli-TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    52
    28
    18
    25
See reviews for
33
54
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2009

We stayed in one of the centrally located duplex units. The plumbing is having difficulty and toilet paper is not permitted in the toilets. The cockroaches love hanging out around the toilet and garbage cans, and feasting on each others dead bodies.

The beach location is beautiful, but I woke up covered in bug bites and my partner hadn't slept a wink due to the huge cockroaches running around all night. Needs maintenance.

We went into Samara and the town is shut down by 8 or 9 o'clock, so it's good if you're looking for quiet. The pizza at Hotel Giada is amazing! The Tree House Inn looked nice (just up the beach between the Pacifico and town)

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calgary86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa Samara hotels

Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

Warning! Robbing location!
Similar experience like ProfTravel ....during the 3-minutes checking in at the reception my cars' rear window was smashed and parts of my luggage stolen. Guard is obviously cooperating with thieves giving information about arriving travellers. When trying to call police from the reception phone the line was always busy ...when i personally reported at the police station they said there was no phone call all day. The manager Jurgen MArder was not interested at all...AVOID this place!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happygrisly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2009

First of all we contacted the hotel directly from Canada, there was nobody on site who spoke any English. We opted to email them our needs. They asked us to fax the credit card information. As soon as we arrived in samara we went to make sure that our reservations had been made; and they seemed fine. We showed up to check in on our reservation day for the sky rooms only to find out that they had put us in a room over the office, not what we booked. We rescheduled our stay for the next week when they assured us the sky rooms would be available. We showed up for this reservation for them to tell us we had no reservation! Holiday ruined twice. Don't book here, you might not have anywhere else to stay when they simply can't find your reservation, even after you give them your credit card number passport number and sign on the dotted line.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BabyRasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Cocles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

Excellent, beautiful, well-maintained Hotel. Somewhat a bit expensive! Can recommend it to anyone and anybody!

  • Liked — Front of the beach
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brasildemora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledon, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2008

The original room they gave us was no better than a prison cell. No shelter from the sun and no comforts. We moved to another room and it wasn't much better. Finally, we got an upgrade (at our cost) to a decent room but the a/c didn't work well. The breakfast there is abysmal. The coffee was weak sludge. The beach in front is great but you have to be there early to "reserve" a decent location with some shade. If you have read some of the travel guides and are going to Playa Samara for snorkelling, don't waste your time. Head further north around Playa Panama.
The water was so murking that my wife and I couldn"t see each other when we were a meter away. On the other hand, if you are looking for beginning surfing, you've hit the gold mine.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Teslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wall, NJ
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2008

We had the pleasure of visiting Costa Rica this past April 15-21, 2008. We chose Playa Samara and stayed at the Las Brisas Del Pacifico Hotel. The hotel is right on the beach and we chose to stay in a "sky room" with air conditioning. The view of the pacific was magnificant. The beaches are white sand and the beds of shells were wonderful for those who love to collect shells and sea glass. We kayaked out to Chora Island with a guide and snorkeled from the beach. A 3 hr tour, the kayak, fruit and water and the snorkeling was only $30 a person. Horse back riding along the beach was only $10 an hour. We rented bikes and rode the beach at sunset. At night we walked the beach to the many restaurants and bars that were along the stretch. You could walk to town along the beach also and hit the restaurants there. The people were friendly and we felt very safe. I highly recomend the Samara area if you love hot, sunny weather and love the beach.

Helpful?
Thank CathyWall_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.0 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rancho De La Playa
Rancho De La Playa
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Brisas del Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Brisas del Pacifico

Property: Hotel Las Brisas del Pacifico
Address: Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Las Brisas del Pacifico 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Las Brisas del Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Brisas Del Pacifico Hotel
Hotel Las Brisas Del Pacifico Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing