We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A RACKET RUNNING HOTEL!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Las Brisas del Pacifico
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Reviewed 2 February 2010

I don't even know where to begin. After a great experience in Monteverde my sister, her boyfriend and I arrived to what seemed like a nice hotel, with its private parking. We had gone to check in and they said it would be a little while for our room. So we walked to the sand to look at the beautiful beach. We walked back to our vehicle to collect our luggage. Thats when we found that our car had been broken into. They didn't take everything but they stole over $3,000 worth of items. I immediately went to the front desk looking for some assistance. The young recepcionist looked perplexed and went to get the bartender, Francisco ( not the manager because he was sleeping!!). The bartender then walked with me back to our car and started looking for the guard. He was up on this hill somewhere out of sight. Now we had only been there for maybe 20 minutes.
Long story short, the manager was of no help. The owner took no responsibility. He said that he had a sign in the parking lot that stated he had no legal responsibility, but there WAS NO SUCH SIGN. The whole time we were treated as if we did something wrong to the hotel. The service was absolutely terrible. I've never had such bad service in my life.
Please do now support this hotel and tell as many of your friends about the danger of staying here. We filed a police report and they told us that this happens regularly.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachcruzer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2010

My room had a huge kingsize bed and was the cleanest hotel I have stayed in during my tour of Costa Rica, there wasn´t a cobweb or bit of dust in sight. The only disapointment was the miniscule portion at breakfast time. You can only order a continental, american (eggs) and typical (rice). I even asked for a larger portion on the second day and got 1 slice of toast in addition!
My friends were staying in the locura apartments which I refused to stay in as it was very dirty and very basic. I had to walk along the beach at night to meet up with them and that was very safe.
Also the staf are very friendly, shame about the owner who has to ration the food!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sordnaxela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

we were leary because of all the bad reviews, but fortunately, did not have any problems or issues here. the location is great, the rooms were fine, the pools and the grounds were nice as well. leonardo and neela were very nice and helpful. we enjoyed our stay and our expectations of this hotel were met. the owner is somewhat standoffish, so we could see how some people might be put off by this, but it was not an issue for us.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecsi2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

We had to pay considerably more than our so-called guaranteed Expedia room rate. Despite our protestations, we were so tired upon arrival we capitulated to their rip-off. Even less pleased to find small critters in our room and an almost two foot lizard-like creature on the stairs. After we bailed, and stayed elsewhere we enjoyed Playa Samara.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paxamica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Such a pity for this great location...
At least you can forget the mediocre services they have, the only true thing from the description is the name of the hotel.
The recommendation is not related to the hotel itself...
Theodore

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theodore40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

The hotel is at a great location and the rooms we stayed in had a high standard. As we checked in, the hotel manager gave as a cash rate for the room (incl. tax, braekfast etc.), but as in other Costa Rica places, no documentation. As the AC was not working properly we had to change the room to a less favorable location. At that time the manager told us, that the owner said we need to pay a higher rate (+40%) for the room. They told us that this was the rate as posted on the intranet. It was off season, just a few more guest there, so instead of spending 4 days we left after one night and di just pay the initially agreed rate. No desire to stay with a badly managed location and with frustrated employees and owner.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koli-TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

We stayed in one of the centrally located duplex units. The plumbing is having difficulty and toilet paper is not permitted in the toilets. The cockroaches love hanging out around the toilet and garbage cans, and feasting on each others dead bodies.

The beach location is beautiful, but I woke up covered in bug bites and my partner hadn't slept a wink due to the huge cockroaches running around all night. Needs maintenance.

We went into Samara and the town is shut down by 8 or 9 o'clock, so it's good if you're looking for quiet. The pizza at Hotel Giada is amazing! The Tree House Inn looked nice (just up the beach between the Pacifico and town)

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calgary86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
103 reviews
0 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
320 reviews
0 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
233 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
241 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Samara Inn
Hotel Samara Inn
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Brisas del Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Brisas del Pacifico

Address: Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range: £71 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Las Brisas del Pacifico 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Las Brisas del Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Brisas Del Pacifico Hotel
Hotel Las Brisas Del Pacifico Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing