We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel good, restaurant terrible” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Giada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Giada
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel good, restaurant terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. Rooms are clean and good. Restaurant is terrible. We had dinner with 4 persons. 2 for there food within 10 minutes. THE other 2 had to wait more than half an hour. Personal didn't offer any compensation, they even charged too much drinks! Don't wat here, there are much better restaurants in town.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reizen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgiada, Gerente at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
I find your comment a little strange due to one of the rules in the restaurant is that at a table everybody eat at the same time as we have communicators that we use between the pizzeria and the kitchen due to the 2 are in separate locations for this reason the communicators. Beside my partner or myself are alwaya here during rush hours. In case of any complaints the clients can request the waiters or waitress to speak with the manager or the owner, which is one and the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    128
    40
    13
    2
See reviews for
48
138
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Loved the hotel, the owners are such fun guys... two italian guys. Great food, and while the rooms where not super amazing, they were very OK for what we payed and had TV,cabler, A.C. and many more facilities. We stayed for 4 nights after leaving a horrible hotel in Playa Grande beach. I also highly recommend taking tours, dolphin tours, snorkeling, horseback trips, many tour companies offer them along the street.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael de Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Just finished a 3-night stay at this hotel and had a great time in Samara.

Hotel Giada is a nice, clean property at the entrance to Samara and walking distance to everything in a very small town.

We enjoyed our room in the back section of the hotel in the second level overlooking the pool. The upper level rooms have a good size patio overlooking the pool and was a great space for sitting down for a relaxing drink in the evening. Room, shower and bathroom were all clean and had a safety deposit box for storing valuables

All staff were friendly, the pool and garden area in the back section great and the onsite hotel offered decent meals at a decent price. The complimentary breakfasts were great too with the choice of Pancakes (served with fruit), Tipico (pinto, eggs and bread) or American (eggs, ham and bread).

The only negative would be the mattress quality. It was quite hard but nothing a good mattress topper couldn't fix. That said, after a long day at the beach and in the sun, we slept pretty well most nights but could've been better.

Overall though, we were very pleased all other aspects of our stay at Hotel Giada. A better mattress gets 5 of 5 but they do a lot of things right.

Room Tip: Back section of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrasMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

I´ve spent some time at this hotel. First time I found it nice and clean, near the beach and a reasonable price. After my second stance, I received a phone call from the security dept of my bank telling me they were cancelling my credit card due to an attempt of fraud (someone tried to use my card illegally). I remembered the only place I used my card was at the hotel.

Maybe it was just the act of a rotten apple inside the hotel (bad employees and bad people are everywhere, though) but I wanted to share this with you so you can take it into consideration.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cignusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgiada, Propietario at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
This is a very serious charge that you have brought up here, this hotel has been working almost 20 years and we never had any type of problem as stated here. When a clients check in and if the clients open up a line of credit then the front desk will make a copy of your credit card and ask you to sign this but note upon check out, the front desk will give this back to you or tear up in front of you if it was given back to you and then you lost the voucher I don’t see where the hotel is at fault. We will require proof of your charges that it happen here at Hotel Giada as in a letter from your credit card company stated what you are saying happen at Hotel Giada without this you are opening yourself up to a lawsuit from Hotel Giada however if you are correct we need all the information that you have to put a stop to this and discharge the person or persons in question and to turn over the name or names of the persons for you to press charges against the person or persons. We are VERY INTERESTED in meeting with you to clear this matter up and that if you made any error that you would take steps to correct your error on Trip Adviser.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
143 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

A nice, quiet & clean hotel with an excellent restaurant that is close to everything, but far enough away. Walking distance to everything in town. Beautiful beach, good shops, restaurants, bank, and fun things to do in town. Nice waves for surfing or body surfing, but not too rough for children and just hangin' and keeping cool.
The hotel staff is friendly & helpful. Food is good & fair priced. We will definitely stay here next time in Samara!

Room Tip: Two pools...we stayed in a room overlooking the back pool. It was very quiet and more private, less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBoatBums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed there from December 29th to December 31st. When we first arrived we were pleased to see we were in the middle of town and a couple of blocks from the ocean. Restaurants, bars, bakery, stores were all around us. Unfortunately, the fair was in town and was right next door. The music played extremely loudly from about 5 pm until midnight each night, and extremely loud fireworks went off that set off car alarms. None of that is the fault of the hotel, but just keep these dates in mind and if you want to stay in Playa Samara during this time another year, pick a hotel further away from the main street. The beds and pillows were not that comfortable and the bathrooms were very small with no surface to lay things on. We had a balcony that faced one of the pools and the restaurant downstairs. We liked Gusto Creativo and Esmerelda for restaurants and Las Brasas for upstairs bar area for people watching. We did the stand up paddle and kayak/snorkeling trips with skytours and highly recommend both.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgiada, Gerente at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
We were glad to have you as guests here at Hotel Giada. On the fair this was the first time that it was across the street from the hotel and Hotel Giada and other hotels in Samara are taking steps to move the fair back to where had it or to move it outside of town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We wanted to go to Samara to check out the migration of the Pacific turtles and found this hotel on the internet. My husband was unsure about booking it on-line so we stopped to see if we liked it. It was easy to find from the main highway and it appeared clean and accessible. The staff at the front desk was very professional and anticipated all of our questions and assisted us in securing a tour to see the Ridley turtle lay their eggs. The low-season rates were still in effect for November so for 60 dollars a night, including breakfast, we decided to stay two nights. The hotel had two swimming pools with balconies and porches, air conditioning, fans, and cable television. Everything worked well and the room was comfortable. The hotel's restaurant specialized in pizza and pasta at reasonable prices and was busy much of the time. The breakfast included four choices, all of which were ample and tasty. We were glad to have found La Giada and plan to stay there again when we return to Samara.

Room Tip: The bottom floors have direct access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbymmclaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rancho De La Playa
Rancho De La Playa
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giada

Property: Hotel Giada
Address: Main street, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Giada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giada Hotel Playa Samara
Hotel Giada Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing