We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very complete”
Review of Hotel Giada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Giada
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
1 review
“Very complete”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I visited Samara last year and just really enjoyed our visit! The town is low key and nice! Giada was the best option there because of the owners, we felt in the right place. Amazing pizza, food in general and a great peaceful feeling throughout the hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are happy that you enjoyed the hotel and we was happy to have you here. We hope you will return soon to Hotel Giada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    129
    43
    13
    2
See reviews for
50
141
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Giada is a great location, walkable to everything in town. Although in the center of town it is quiet and the howler monkeys are close by allowing you to be in a jungle-like setting but close. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and clean. The rooms have air-con which we enjoyed. The breakfast was sufficient, the coffee good. We did not use the pool but is was clean and many were enjoying it. The rate was reasonable for the amenities offered. A great choice in Samara.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ed4_vida_rica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your coments on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed yourself in Hotel Giada and Playa Samara and was glad to have you here. We hope you see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our room was clean, bug-free, and cool. We walked out of our room onto a small patio, to the pool. We loved the convenience to shops, restaurants and the beach. Kenneth and staff made our stay extra special by helping with the language and in other ways, accommodating our needs
I was leery about trying the pizza but it was excellent. The 'tipical' breakfast of fruit and pancakes were very good. We also enjoyed fresh grilled fish. I would stay here again in a minute. Loved it

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed Playa Samara as well as Hotel Giada. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile


We had room 23
nice clean rooms and grounds
Smaller rooms
Quite Ceiling fan and quite AC
Nice patio off 2nd story rooms with nice table and chairs good to play games at.
Ask for back building. It will be nice and quite.
Pool area ok Warm water with hot tub
only four deck chair of about a dozen have very thin pads on them.
Large Iguana around pool area every day
Ok breakfast, 4 chooses
Close walk to beach less than 4 small blocks
Close to a nice SODA restaurant for lunches
Hotel restaurant OK but a little over price for what you get.
Big Grocery store 1 block away.

MUST DO
Grab a sandwich from Soda for a lunch (go go) (take out)
Grab some cans of KERNS FRUIT DRINK from the convenient store at end of street and the beach ($1 each, good warm or cold)
and take bus to Carriolo Beach.
Bus stop around corner ask for times at front desk
Less than $1 each to ride
10 minute bus ride
Best Beach around
We did this 3 days straight. Loved it
Have a shaved ice drink from vender with wagon.
Just wave bus to stop for return trip back

The town of Samara
Felt safe day and night
Small old fashion town right on ocean
Very bad sidewalks, better to walk on streets.
Little traffic
Only 4 or 5 streets in town
Many Street venders near ocean sidewalks.
Many restaurants right on ocean right on the sand
Smoothes for about $3 all over town.
Pizza served everywhere
Food cost at full restaurants are 11 to 18 for nice meal.
Look for man making kabobs in the evening near end of street.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Altaboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoy Playa Samara as well as Hotel Giada. We hope you will return to Hotel Giada as well as Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
420 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed there on Feb 14 and 15 part of a big tour trough Costa Rica. The best thing that i remember is the shower. From San Jose and Arenal to Nicoya I went from one hotel to another and none had a decent shower. Here was heaven. Large shower with good pressure. I loved the place right off the bat!
The room was really large, nice double bed and a beautiful balcony facing the street. I was worried about the street noise in the night time, but it dies out after the restaurants around close, about 10 pm. Staff is very helpful, they all speak English well, parking is right in front of the hotel. Food, everywhere around. I ate twice at a restaurant on the beach and breakfast across the street in a small house garden, I liked it.
Samara is a a small beach town, small shops, little restaurants and bars, all kind of people. it is a very safe place to be by yourself or family with kids.
Hotel has also a swimming pool, dint use it, i went around and checked all the beaches around Samara. Nice drive on the country roads with beautiful small beaches and small local restaurants. I was there for the scenery not the beach.
Yes, the hotel is somewhere in the middle of the ranks for Samara but it is nice and affordable. I only pair $127US for two nights. Fully recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquauomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We was happy to you and your group here at Hotel Giada and that you enjoyed the hotel and Samara and the beaches. We hope you and your group will return to Costa Rica and Hotel Giada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My wife and I had the opportunity to stay at the Giada Hotel (on Feb 2014) for the third time and as usual it was not a disappointment. The personnel and the facilities are up to our standards. It is very convenient located in Samara downtown where all the actions is happening.
The hotel is very clean and the employees are very friendly. The morning breakfast was very good with a varieties ranging from "tipico" which is rice and beans with scramble eggs (named "gallo pinto"), Continental and American; so there is a little bit for everyone to choose from.
I am from Costa Rica and my wife from Canada y we did really enjoy the Giada Hotel. The only recommendation that I can make is that they should start to think in replacing the TV for flat screens (not a major thing) so it will be up to the rest of the hotel facilities.

Odir Rodriguez A.
Human Resources Manager
Carnival Corp.

Room Tip: There is a lot of options in Samara, but the Giada Hotel is one of the "oldest" (which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ODIR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We was glad to have you back here at Hotel Giada. We are happy that you enjoyed the hotel and the restaurant. Yes we are changing the TV's to flat screens little by little. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crescenta, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The room was charming with a balcony that overlooked the garden and one of the pools. The room was very comfortable, clean and attractively furnished. It is right on the main street with numerous restaurants and shops all along the street and the beach is a very short walk away. The hotel had a restaurant where we had breakfast, which was excellent. The staff was friendly and we would stay there again and recommend it to friends planning a visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We was glad to have you here at Hotel Giada and that you enjoyed the hotel as well as Playa Samara. We hope you will return soon as well as to Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
388 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
506 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
855 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
289 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giada

Property: Hotel Giada
Address: Main street, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Giada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giada Hotel Playa Samara
Hotel Giada Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing