We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful first class experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Giada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Giada
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“wonderful first class experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

on our first trip to Samara Beach my wife and I stayed at the Hotel Gaida for about a week and were treated to a first class experience. Close to the beach, restaurants, nightlife and shops made this hotel the perfect location for us and it felt like a home away from home due to the care and attention of the staff and the wonderful breakfast. We especially enjoyed watching the family of monkeys in the nearby trees while relaxing in the pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosineli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed Hotel Giada and Playa Samara. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    128
    40
    13
    2
See reviews for
48
138
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Playa Samara is such a wonderful, simple place to relax and have fun. Hotel Giada keeps it relaxed and simple as well. The rooms are clean with A/C and TV. The bed is really nice with a very supportive firm mattress, which helps after a long day of play! A selection of two pools (one in the back is more private) is another way to relax and cool off. A free delicious breakfast every morning is a wonderful treat and great value.

Management and staff are exceptional. They are friendly, very helpful and accommodating, especially the restaurant staff. Oh, and yes the restaurant is excellent as well!

We hope to be back again. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runningman5k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We was glad to have you here and that you enjoyed the hotel. We hope you will return to Hotel Giada as well as Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a great hotel for the price. It is right in the heart of Samara so you won't need to pay for taxis to get around, The beach is a short walk away. The rooms are basic but comfortable. The onsite restaurant is very good. The staff is very friendly. There are two pools. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A room at the back next to the back pool would be great. We had a room right on the restaurant which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jillburynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We was glad to have you here and that you enjoyed the hotel & restaurant. We hope to have you to return to Hotel Giada as well as Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel Giada

First to note is that samara is not a very touristy town and therefore many of the hotels are a lot more basic. If you are looking for a North American type hotel I think you'll be hard pressed to find it here. We are Canadians who have travelled throughout Central America and found the hotel almost too basic for our liking (and we are used to basic budget accommodations).

Pros: staff is very friendly, restaurant on site is tasty, great location on Main Street, easy walk to the beach, restaurants and anything else in town, tour office on site (however we booked and were very happy with the info centre across the street), AC was great, pool was very nice as was the landscaping around it.

Cons: would be nice to have a mini fridge and telephone in the room.

What may be cons for others but didn't bother us much- plumbing (you can't flush your toilet paper, have to throw in the garbage, I believe this is quite common in the area), lots of ants in the room, but not in the bed, room 8 has likely the worst balcony view (the roof of the restaurant), could use a bit of updating in general. From what I understand though, due to the fact it's not a very touristy town all this is common. Don't go to samara looking for a 5 star hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ndlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We hope you will return to Hotel Giada as well as Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

First of all, do not go to Samara if you need accommodations that are American "standard". Costa Rica just isn't there yet...tough to find luxury in this lazy little town, but I quite enjoyed the break from materialism. Hotel Giada has all the essentials and it's fairly quiet compared to other places we stayed in Samara. It's clean,the little dining/bar area is nice, breakfast is good, service is great, friendly staff! I would stay here again. My only suggestion would be to improve the bedding. It's basically a sheet and two flat pillows. But who's to complain while in paradise? We slept just fine.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tipicotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We was glad to have you and that you enjoyed the hotel and the restaurant. We hope you will return to Hotel Giada as well as Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Playa Sàmara is a great little town with a pretty impressive number of hotels. Hotel Giada is not bad, but it isn't great. The rooms are a good size, they have air conditioning and are kept clean. I think all rooms have a balcony - some facing a pool and others facing the street. There just is not anything to get excited about, except the restaurant, which is very good, both for breakfast and for lunch or dinner.
The staff are service minded and speak English.
The hotel pool is within a courtyard where there is no breeze but some shade. You can rent pool towels for USD1 per day.
The hotel is on the main street and feels like it's on the edge of town, which means it's about a five minute walk to beach, just across the street from a very useful tourist information and next door to one of several good restaurants in town (Coco's).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoya91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and restaurant. We hope you will return to Hotel Giada as well as Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We really lucked out to have visited Playa Samara - and to have stayed at Hotel Giada. Everything was easy at the hotel. Being right down the street from the beach, we couldn't have asked for easier access and it was smooth coming and going from the hotel to explore around. I also appreciated the friendly staff and when I had an emergency call back to the States, they let me use a calling card from the reception phone with no trouble at all.

I strongly recommend visiting Playa Samara and this was a great place to stay there.

Room Tip: Towards the back is probably better, but it isn't a loud town at all so you don't have to wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We was happy to have you here and that you enjoyed the hotel. We hope you will return to Hotel Giada soon as well as Costa Rica,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rancho De La Playa
Rancho De La Playa
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giada

Property: Hotel Giada
Address: Main street, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Giada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giada Hotel Playa Samara
Hotel Giada Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing