We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT NOT TO LIKE ???”
Review of Hotel Giada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Giada
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Boston
2 reviews
“WHAT NOT TO LIKE ???”
Reviewed 12 February 2010

This hotel is simply the best ! We spent three weeks travelling on the Pacific coast and we planned to stay at hotel Giada for a week. After two days we have requested the room for an extra week. The room and the hotel is immaculate and the restaurant is better than many great Italian restaurants we tried travelling in Italy. Rooms are spacious, with air conditioned .
The two swimming pools are perfect for a lazy day off the beach.
The location is central and a few steps away from the beautiful long white sand beach of Samara.
The water is very clean and warm.
The staff is very polite, accommodating and friendly.
It has become our dream vacation place , where dreams become true.
We can't wait to return with some friends for at least two more weeks ,soon.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    130
    43
    13
    2
See reviews for
50
143
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Over all we found this Hotel to be average. Room was clean and spacious. A bit noisy due to the Restaurant. Our first night was spent with interrupted sleep due to a car alarm that went off all night long. Hotel staff ignored it.
Good location with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bschilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel in Samara. Bargain for the price - they did a discount for paying in cash. Room was clean, with a large balcony overlooking the pool (try tp get one of these rooms - they look the best). Staff were pleasant and helpful. Pool area is really nice - small pool but ideal for relaxing in. Spent 6 nights here and would go back (if ever in CR again!)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollywomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2009

Staid here for a total of 2 weeks.

The rooms are mostly clean, the air con, sat TV & internet work reliably. The pools are clean.

Its nothing chick, but a very good deal for what you pay.

The restaurant is a bit weak, as the normal portion is smallish and staff makes you feel uncomfortable when you ask for more.

Their staff is hit and miss. the cleaning ladies and reception staff are friendly and try their best. With the restauarant staff you usually feel like you are bothering them whe you ask for something, with some notable exceptions.

The location is central, but about 2-5 minutes walk to the beach.

Would stay here again and its definitely a good place to stay in Samara (we tried around before settling here). Prefer it to the near by Hotel Belvedere, where our air con failed, the bathroom stank and the butter we got served for breakfast had reached a deep shade of yello that suggested it had gone off a while ago.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astienvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2009

I stayed at the Giada for four nights. The rooms are clean and nice. Unfortunately, I had a room with a view to the restaurant and the main entrance so you heard anything that was going on there. At 6.30 a.m. the staff starts preparing the breakfast - something you could hardly miss because of the noise!
The garden is ok but not comparable to the wonderful beach!

The resraurant is also ok but I would rather recommend the El Coco almost next door which offers delicious costarican food!! And the Casa Esmeralda - also fantastic!!

If you love beach life and think of spending most of the time there, I would rather choose a hotel right at the beach. There are enough lovely places to stay where you have the Pacific just in front of you.

  • Liked — central location in Sámara
  • Disliked — noise from the restaurant and the main entrance
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelingLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2009

Hotel Giada has a good location in a very small town. The rooms are more practical than nice looking and the two rooms we stayed in had AC, fan, cable TV and a safety box. I've read reviews discussing the noise level of the different rooms with regard to the street and the restaurant but the town goes to sleep at 10 PM so I don't really understand the problem. There were lots of mosquitos in the rooms in the back so bring mosquito repellent. The in-house restaurant was nice but I recommend the Casa Esmeralda and the beach restaurant El Ancla that were superb. Las Brasas was overpriced and the staff was not so attentive.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p-skijj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

Just got back from a week in CR and spent the first three nights at the Hotel Giada. The staff was extremely pleasant and very helpful. The room was not fancy but was very clean and the a/c worked great! Good food and nice cold draft beer. I would stay there again. Reccommend the restaurant Las Brasas right down the street for a nice dinner.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kpritchard162016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
392 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
291 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
874 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giada

Property: Hotel Giada
Address: Main street, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Giada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giada Hotel Playa Samara
Hotel Giada Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing