We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of Hotel Giada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Giada
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Reviewed 28 December 2006

My wife and I stayed here for three nights while in Samura. Rooms here were very clean and the hotel overall was well kept. Only a couple of blocks from the beach, this hotel was a good value at the price offered. Food at the restaurant was tasty and the service was not great but not bad either. The pool seemed nice although we did not actually use it. I would recommend this hotel as a good value.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrldtvller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2006

We checked out a few other hotels in Samara and Hotel Giada had the best price and good location. Our room was small but comfortable and included air conditioning, cable TV, room safe, and a deck that overlooked the back pool (the one in the back of the complex is the nicest with a grass lawn and chairs and tables for lounging). There is an excellent Italian restaurant at the hotel and breakfast was also included in the $55/night (low season) price.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2006

this was our last stop during our costa rica trip and what a treat. we stayed the first night at an expensive european place but decided to leave and ended up here. i'm glad we did! the price was right, the food was great, comfortable beds, a pool plus AC & tv. the staff was very helpful. we had booked a shuttle bus to get back to san jose which never showed up. the staff was extremely helpful with booking another transportation company which arrived in good time. the other places we stayed all lacked something or another but hotel gaida was it. we went in july 2004, i recommended this place to my aunt just last month and she loved it too.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yohutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Philadelphia
432
Reviewed 14 July 2005

We were supposed to spend four days at the Hotel Giada. We were very pleased with the hotel...lovely grounds, two nice pools, AC, cable, etc. The hotel also has an excellent restaurant (a wonderful breakfast is included in the $55 price) and it has many excursion options available to visitors at the front desk.

Our single biggest complaint was the restaurant staff, who we found to be very rude. We were traveling with our young child and innocently asked the waiter if there was a non-smoking section. My husband and I speak fluent Spanish, so we were not stumbling through our words. We were in Costa Rica because we were considering to move there. So, we were very aware of the cultural nuances, such as Costa Ricans do not like pushy, confrontational people, so we really went out of our way to be extra nice. After asking about the non-smoking section, we were ignored and left sitting at our tables for a ridiculous amount of time for each meal. Perhaps, the staff thought that we were annoying Americans, but whatever the reason...we got intentionally rude service (if anyone looked at us at all) from there on out. We actually checked out of our hotel 2 days early because of the restaurant staff!

The hotel is about two full blocks from the beach. The town of Samara has much to be desired. We found it shabby and just generally it had poor sanitation. The beach is nice, but I've seen nicer. Hotel Giada was nice despite it's shortcomings, but I wouldn't recommend it or Samara beach.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2004

The location of the hotel is great, the hotel restaurant and continental breakfast is excellent (5/5!), the staff here is fantastic. My only complaint about this hotel is that it is SUPER LOUD. The restaurant and pool is located almost right outside all the hotel suites so you will be woken up around 7am every morning by the shouts of staff members, construction workers (they are renovating the hotel), loud guests, restaurant workers, people jumping into the pool....seriously, it is REALLY LOUD. I am not normally that affected by noise but this was pretty out of the ordinary "loud". If u want a hotel with some peace and quiet, don't come here. Other than that, it is a really great clean and economical place to stay.

11  Thank travellots99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Fresno, CA
17
Reviewed 2 August 2004

Hotel Giada is a lovely place, the atmosphere is cozy and the place VERY clean!!! The only complain was the mattress a little too soft, but for the prise you 'll get your money worth. we loved it!!

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stefano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giorgio c, General Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.8 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
409 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samara Beach
Hotel Samara Beach
#14 of 16 in Playa Samara
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samara Inn
Hotel Samara Inn
#10 of 16 in Playa Samara
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giada

Address: Main street, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range: £48 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Giada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giada Hotel Playa Samara
Hotel Giada Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing