We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to have fun and relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice place to have fun and relax”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I really liked that place. Very nice and with some good services. The rooms are clean and the food is good. We had a lot of rain but we were still able to do some nice activities and relax. We arrived there after the Monkey Tours trips and I will definitely recommend to everyone to do this tour.

Room Tip: Beach front is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raph_2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    241
    149
    100
    103
See reviews for
286
331
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altona, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Villas Playa Samara for 3 weeks. The villas were alright. There were definitely some glitches, but the town of Samara got hit by a large earthquake just over a year prior, and they are still recovering.

Our first villa's AC quit two days in a row, but within an hour each time it was fixed. It also had a smell problem coming from the sink, which is not all that uncommon outside Canada or the States. This was easily temporarily remedied by leaving a trickle of cold water going in the bathroom sink, but should be fixed permanently as I believe it would be a very simple fix.

Our second villa was beachfront, and we have no complaints about that one.

The food was excellent, and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Beachfront is best. Would definitely stay again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My family and I went to this resort and had a wonderful time. After researching several different vacation spots, we were excited to go to Costa Rica. We were hesitant to take our older children because of the previous reviews we read on the internet about Hotel Villas Playa Samara, and we even considered cancelling the trip. After we arrived at this resort, my husband and I didn't understand why people had such negative experiences. The resort was beautiful, our villa was nice, the beach amazing, and the staff incredible. We went horseback riding on the beach, We walked along the beach to Samara a couple of times, had dinner while we were there, bought a few local artist's creations. We even rented kayaks and kayaked to Chora Island, where we all snorkeled. Our family is very active, and we had a fantastic time at this resort, the location is perfect. We went on a one day excursion to the Arenal Volcano, although if you are susceptible to motion sickness, bring Gravol (the road to the volcano is very winding). On this day excursion, we also went to The Baldi Hot Springs, and to La Fortuna Waterfalls, which was so beautiful and quite unexpected. The resort itself was very clean, well-kept, and overall beautiful. The sunsets on the beach were gorgeous. The maid kept up with our villa, even though our family is a family of five, with three active older children. The food was quite good, the service fantastic. We read reviews about the service being slow, but we didn't have any problems with the servers, or service. They were even accommodating to our youngest son's picky palate. The language barrier at times was a little difficult, but is to be expected traveling to a foreign country. The staff were absolutely lovely to us, especially with our children, and made us feel very welcome in their country. Although we could understand their frustration, with some other guests being quite rude, and unhappy no matter what the staff did to please them (some people just seemed to have forgotten their manners entirely and made us feel uncomfortable, being tourists ourselves). Our family loved the entire experience and loved the resort. We felt very safe, which as parents, we were worried about traveling to a smaller resort. A huge thank you to Diego, Stephanie, John, and Warren. These staff went above and beyond for our family! We went on vacation to give our children an opportunity to experience another country, culture, language, people, and to have memories. We did go to Costa Rica to sit in the villa for the duration of our trip. We read people had issues with the villas not having televisions. If this is an issue for you, maybe save yourself some money and watch travel shows on the television! Our family absolutely loved this vacation, this resort, and we all had such a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Garden Villa, a minute walk to the beach. The villa was not far from the Main Area e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Norway, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We got flats close to the beach and hammocks on the patio was great. The view was beautful. But when you book and pay rooms for 4 single people you expect to get a bed for everybody. We didn't. We got 2 flats in two different villas with only one bed in each flat and a kitchen without any glasses, cups and so on. One of the flats didn't have any towels when we arrived and when we went to the frontdesk we were promised to get towels immidiately, which didn't happen at all. We was also promised that they would open up the extra bedroom in connection to the flats we already got, which didn't happen either. We went to the frontdesk to get towels and keys, but they just told us to relax, someone will come, don't come back here and complain anymoore! The result was that two of us had to sleep on a sofa! The next day we went to the frontdesk again to complain with the result of angry replay from the staff, but after a couple of hours they came an unlocked one of the extra bedrooms. When we got back from beach, we didn't have any towels at all. Again we went to front desk to ask for better service and again we was told with angry voice not to come to frontdesk to complain anymoore. The answer about towels was that they had to wash and dry them before we could get them back. We got them after several hours, after we was at the front desk once moore complaining. We never got the last bed we were promised. Breakfast was good With a lot of fruits, eggs, bread, coffee and so on. The restaurant service at dinner was an catastrofy. It looked like the waiters was brand new and didn't know anything about service which also was very slow. We observed several guests leaving their tables because they didn't get any service. We wanted both starters and dinner. We got dinner for 2 people at the table first(we were 4 people). When we asked for our starters the waiter didn't understand what the problem was but he took the dinnerplates out again, and we waited over 40 minutes for our starters. Then it was time for dinner and 2 of us got their dinner, cold cause it was the same food we got earlier and was send out with message to make new food. Dinners for the rest of us wasn't coming and when we asked for it they hadn't started to make it yet. Everything was a disaster and we just wanted to go. Samara beach is a great place, the cabins located right on the beach and has a wonderful view. It is a pity that the place will be destroyed by lack of equipment, poor service and unskillful waiters. Recommend no rent at this location with the current owners

Room Tip: If you go here we recomend cabins close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa Samara hotels

New Kensington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Villas Playa Samara for the last 3 days of our Monkey Tour. We upgraded to a villa and were glad that we did. We were the closest villa to the beach and our room was beautiful. The patio with hammock was great. The kitchen didn't have much but we didn't need to use it. The breakfast buffet every morning was delicious. Lunch and dinner were mediocre but we knew this from other reviews so we weren't surprised. The pool with swim up bar was great - sometimes the bartender was MIA and that should never happen. The front desk staff and the Monkey Tour staff (Genevieve and Marcello) were very responsive and customer friendly. In general, the wait staff were inexperienced, couldn't speak any English and had no idea what was going on. They were also understaffed. I blame this on the management which I was surprised to find out that the resort is owned by the owner of the Monkey Tours. This is shocking because you would think this resort would be the finest of all resorts that we stayed at during our trip. I do want to commend the dining staff because on our last night, they really stepped up to the plate when the guys in our group went deep sea fishing and the resort grilled all the fish and made great side dishes that looked beautiful. This made our last night with our new friends one to remember. Overall, we were very happy but I think we were one of the lucky ones…...

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apalachicola, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Was not impressed with this resort at all. Basic 2BR unit, good for 4 adults, definitely not for 6. Old furniture, hard beds. Kitchen not well equipped with dishes, utensils or anything extra. Building next door was practically falling down...hole in ceiling, broken glass. Hard to believe they haven't done any reconstructing. Bar was understaffed. Breakfast buffet was okay but ran out of items as we were eating. Not enough beach chairs for everyone who wanted one. Not a place I would stay again.

Room Tip: Beware: Oceanfront lawn houses the septic system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank storytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a great time and experience for most of our trip at other resorts but experienced problems upon our arrival to Villas Playa Samara resort. During our entire vacation we were accommodated in two rooms for our family. At Villa Playa Samara we were given keys to a 1 bedroom villa and 1 king size bed room on the second floor of a separate unit. The room for our teenaged sons had a king size bed, was in good condition and had the following: safe, bar fridge, microwave, coffee maker and air conditioning. My husband’s and my own room was not up to par. There was no safe (no safe place for our passports, identification, travel papers or money), no fridge, and no microwave. There were spaces for these items but all were empty. In the bathroom, the shower door was rusty and falling off it’s hinges. The door would not close and appeared broken. The room door would not lock. The windows were all open and would not close or lock. Some of the windows did not have screens. Those that did have screens had big holes in them. This was a problem since we saw many signs warning of dengue fever due to mosquito bites. Finally, there was no air conditioning in 33 degree Celsius weather. It took a long time and much discussion with the front desk to get a second room. They told us it would be ready by 7 pm. At 7pm, they gave us the keys for the second room and we went to look at it. When we entered and turned on the lights, many cockroaches scattered. The front desk told us that cockroaches were normal for staying in Costa Rica. We knew this to be false as this was our fourth destination and had no problems with bugs before this resort. That night we were told that no rooms were available so we ended up staying in the king sized bed room with our sons. The next day we were given a two bedroom villa that was just okay. It appears that it is a time share since they were trying to sell time shares each afternoon of our stay. It is not in a suitable condition. Many of the accommodations are dilapidated and appear to be occupied by workers, who by the way did not mind standing on your front porch and smoking. We were worried about safety and theft since the workers would come right up on the property and relax. The beach was a nice setting but really not suitable for swimming since the water was so murky and the coral cut into your feet when you went into the water. I would not recommend this resort again. While we waited in line the many times to speak to the management, almost every person in front of us was there to lodge a complaint. The staff was rude, which I believe was due to the high volume of complaints and looked as if their management had given directions not to offer anything above and beyond to anyone. Most people were unhappy. Again, I want to reiterate, I would not recommend this vacation destination to anyone.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. If you must, ask to see the room before committing to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Samara
0.3 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
833 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
388 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
216 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#4 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Playa Samara

Property: Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Address: South From the Center of Samara Going Towards Playa Carrillo 3km, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villas Playa Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel with fully equipped villas and deluxe rooms. We are located in front of the beach very close yo downtown Samara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villas Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villas Playa Samara Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing