We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, private, clean, romantic and fun for all ages”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
bjag2010
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, private, clean, romantic and fun for all ages”
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We arrived with mixed feelings because some of the reviews were not so great. We were pleasantly surprised that the negative reviews were all wrong. Our villa was really nice, clean, white walls, clean bathrooms, sheets crisp and towels fresh. We had a two bedroom, two bathroom villa with full kitchen and living room. The villa's don't have tv's or phones, but you can use the phone/computer with free internet at the office. If you are going there to watch tv, talk on the phone and play on the computer, then it's not the place for you. If you're going there to relax on the hammock, take long walks on the beach, have drinks at the pool bar (with the nicest bar tenders!!) and have fun, then you belong here. The staff was really nice and helpful. Everyone spoke English, but it's always good to remember that you're in another country and it might make sense to at least try to speak their language. We bought a small travel book for Costa Rica Spanish and it was great. You can buy them at most book stores like Barnes and Noble or Boarders. The restaurant was perfect for a nice meal, but nothing fancy or amazing. We didn't get sick from any water, but we tried to stick to bottled water anyway. A good plan is to buy some food, snacks, jugs of water and a few kitchen essentials before you get settled. Town is about a 25 minute walk on the beach or a 5 minute car ride. The kitchens had everything else, we just bought some paper towels and dish washing soap for the sink. The beach bars are really relaxing and fun and just a short walk away down the beach. The grounds of the hotel are nice with green grass and clean walkways that are lit at night. We didn't have any bugs in our villa, but one night we had a cute little lizard, but they don't want anything to do with humans. We left the doors wide open in the day when we were home and we had birds around and big lizards in the yard, was really cool. I'm not a bug/lizard person either, and it didn't bother me at all. I 100% recommend this location to anyone who wants a great week away. Also, we met the owner and his wife and they are so friendly and down to earth. It's always nice to share a drink at the bar with the owner and you think you're just hanging with another happy person on vacation. They are even updating more parts of the resort, so who knows what is going to be changed or built, but it's just getting better all the time.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bjag2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    240
    149
    100
    103
See reviews for
285
331
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

A group of 9 of us stayed here for 6 days. We chose this hotel because it was on the beach and only a 5 minute drive to Carrillo, which is where some of us went deep seafishing from. All rooms have full kitchens, air con, and a porch area (some w/ hammock, some w/ chairs). The hotel grounds are full of beautiful vegetation and flora. The location on the beach can’t be beat. The beach is amazing, with easy surf for swimming, and lounge chairs to laze on.

Unfortunately the good parts end there. We immediately had issues with our safe and fridge. Neither ever got resolved, causing the groceries we bought to spoil. When we persistently asked about getting our safe open, the ONE person who had the key could never be found. Eventually we gave up. The hotel had no bottled water for sale and when asked about a possible water filtration system, no one seemed to know.

The food in the restaurant was disgusting (actually causing one person in our group to vomit) and they were horribly understaffed. When the weekend came the hotel filled up due to a wedding. However, no additional staff were there and the ones that were there were highly unorganized and really didn’t seem to know what was going on or even care.

Saturday night there was a wedding reception at the hotel in the common pool area. The restaurant was closed down and no one informed the guests who were not involved in the wedding. Extremely loud music from the reception went on until 2AM! It was so loud it sounded like they could be in our living room!!

For the priced charged the value was not there. If you do decide to stay here make sure you rent a car as it is not really close to the town and the walk is long, hot, and on a winding dirt road.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJ9462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa Samara hotels

Sneek, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2010

the hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. nice place to stay

Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank DominiqueD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

What a shame! Lovely location, looks good in the website.Terrible service. Manager lives in San Jose and does not care. Services Manager was the most unpleasant man I encountered in the whole of Costa Rica.
Food in the restaurant was terrible! Left overs served for breakfast.
The sink in our villa was blocked and it took 2 days for it to be repaired. An unpleasant smell in the Villa was due to this blockage.
Room service was very poor, the maid only turned up after 4:30 pm when I complained in front of a newly booked guest.I hope he did not stay!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ViajeraBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BradAnderson, marketing manager at Hotel Villas Playa Samara, responded to this review, 9 March 2010
Please accept our most sincere apologies, we truly wishes to fulfill all of our clients’ needs, we have taken the proper actions and measurements to ensure that future friends do not encounter any of the mention issues, we would love to extend our hotel at your disposal so that you may renew your opinion. I trust you find the beauty of Costa Rica and the worm of its people more appealing next time.

Best wishes,

The Hotel Villas Playa Samara Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We had been to Costa Rica 7 times before and decided this was the best beach, 400 feet wide and 3 miles long of firm, flat, beautiful, clean sand, gentle surf protected by a reef. We asked for and got the same Villa we had enjoyed so much 8 years ago. A beautiful pool but the ocean is so great that we didn't make much use of the pool except for the swim-up bar. The gardens are spacious and beautiful, improvements have and continue to be made, including the addition of a Mini-Mart. The town of Samara is a 45 min. walk on the beach. Villas Playa Samara is a geat place for families and kids.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcgOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2010

If you are looking for a resort with a TPC approved golf course and an onsite golf pro and beauty shop this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a relaxing resort with plenty for a family to do in the Samara Beach area, this is it. There is a beautiful clean beach, a beautiful clean swimming pool, horseback riding, volleyball, soccer, zipline, scuba diving, snorkeling, kayaking. The restaurant on the property is first class and there are several first class restaurants in Samara. There are no televisions or radios which for me was great. Great snorkeling right off the beach.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diver_Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

We had stayed there about 5 or 6 years ago so we new what to expect. So we brought a sharp knife and cookware. We had Villa 8 which was a two Bedroom and had a nice view of the beach but still had a real nice tropical setting. The aptarment was more the comfortable for the 4 of us and the Staff was just wonderfull with all our concerns. If you get up by 5am you can heard the howling Monkeys. Lis the Activity young lady was great as well as the bar man at the pool side bar. The early morning security man even got me a hose to wash the car after going exploring through the woods and across the rivers. The maids came in every morning cleand the baths two of them and changed the towles and made the bed. Its not a 5 star resort by US standards but was clean and the beach was unspoiled and empty. They will arrange tours and fishing trips and anything you might need.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeraldHirsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Samara
0.3 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
833 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
388 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
216 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#4 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Playa Samara

Property: Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Address: South From the Center of Samara Going Towards Playa Carrillo 3km, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villas Playa Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel with fully equipped villas and deluxe rooms. We are located in front of the beach very close yo downtown Samara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villas Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villas Playa Samara Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing