We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average accomodations for the price”
Review of Hotel Samara Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Samara Beach
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very average accomodations for the price”
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Pros: Clean, air-conditioned room with wireless internet and a TV close to the beach. Nice looking pool and pleasant staff. Parking is free but the lot is so small you'll likely get parked in by other patrons.

Cons: Two twin beds shoved together does not equal a king sized bed. The sheets and pillow were thin and pilled which didn't help the comfort of the lumpy bed. My room was furthest from the street so it was fairly quiet although I could hear the thump-thump-thump of the music from a nearby club.

No phone, no hairdryer, no refrigerator, no coffee maker.

The included breakfast was a few cold pancakes, a couple pieces of cold toast, a little fruit, juice and coffee. Hadn't had a bad cup of coffee until this. Like the rest of the Hotel Samara Beach experience it was weak.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angeladumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    39
    21
    8
    14
See reviews for
17
60
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2010

I stayed here with two girl friends for 4 days while traveling through Costa Rica. We decided to splurge and stay in a hotel rather than a hostel during our short stay in Samara. The decision was worth it. Samara beach hotel is right in the center of town and only a two minute walk from the beach. In the mornings we would walk to beach and return to have breakfast and then relax by the pool in the hot sun. We were a little startled when we heard a noise by the pool and saw a giant iguana start to climb up one of the tall palms that surround the pool in the lush tropical garden. The night life is great in Samara there are lots of nice restaurants and beach bars to choose from but we always started the night in the hotel's happy hour. The prices are half off on all mixed drinks so about 2-3 dollars for a margarita. The beds were worlds more comfortable than the thin hostel mattresses we had become so accustomed to and the rooms were kept very clean despite the huge amount of sand we tracked in after our trips to the beach. All in all we had a great time in Samara and the helpful staff help us to set up a turtle tour, surf lessons, and a zip line tour.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lr2010lr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
homestead,fl
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2010

nhotel samara beach is a nice hotel. you can enjoy yoour vacation to the fullest. aqnd i like the people very much.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mone40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2010

First of all, their are 2 Hotels in Samara. One is called Samara Beach Hotel (I will write about this), the other one is called Playa Samara and I think a few people wrote about this one.
Samara Beach Hotel is located at the main street, but not really loud. Of course you here something, but if you have the aircondition turned on, you just hear that and the aircondition is not too loud. We had a safe in the room (2$ per day) a really big and comfortable bed and hot water in the shower. The breakfast was good, but allways the same.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jnew01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

The room was not clean, the shower head broken, the breakfast was poor, and the price was way too high for what you get. Charging extra $2 for using the safe in the room is just uncool.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rani_and_Dikla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa Samara hotels

Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

Checked in and the room they put us in was dirty and no where near to the $100 they charge per night...
You can walk around and 3 lots down you will find a much better hotel at the same rate. The towels they provided were as dirty and had holes as my high school gym socks. The morning breakfast was a JOKE!!! the staff ate first and whatever was left they gave it to the guest and would not make anymore. Since they are so close to the coast, they said, their drainage wasn't working well. So during our showers we had a puddle going on..

  • Liked — nothing at all
  • Disliked — everything was horrible
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJunkie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2008

Some of the Reviews that have been written (in English and Spanish) are way too tough on this place. You get what you pay for. I have been coming back to this hotel for the last 4 years. The location is excellent, the rooms are adequate, the grounds and pool are more than you would expect in this price range. The breakfast is a nice bonus. The people condemning this place are out of their minds- obviously for $60-$70 bucks you are not getting a luxurious accommodation- you do get a clean room, cable TV, a decent pool, a balcony and ice cold air (except room #1). I stayed here with my wife and 4 year old daughter for a week and we had a great time in Samara. Some of the rooms have fridges- ask to get one brought in to your room!

  • Liked — Location and Pool
  • Disliked — Poor Maid Service- Rooms could have been kept cleaner
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaestroNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.8 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
388 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
856 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samara Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samara Beach

Property: Hotel Samara Beach
Address: Main Street, Next to Alamo Rent A Car, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Samara Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samara Beach Hotel is located just 50 meters from the beach, on the Main Street of Playa Samara. Our Hotel is decorated in a tropical style with a Garden with unbelievable blooming flora everywhere and swimming pool where YOU CAN RELAX AND ENJOY A PEACEFUL ATMOSPHERE. Our Hotel has 20 spacious rooms, everyone equipped with a private bathroom with hot water, air conditioning, king size bed and one double bed, TV, mini-refrigerator, security box and balcony overlooking our garden and pool. For those arriving by car, vehicles can be left in our private secure parking lot. THE BREAKFAST IS INCLUDED IN THE RATE and it is served in a typical "Rancho" SURROUNDED WITH A RICH AND VIBRANT VEGETATION full of flowers, plants, and unexpected surprises. SAMARA BEACH HOTEL's wonderful location offers our guests RICHNESS AND COMFORT. Our friendly staff will help and assist you in organizing a wonderful holiday in Samara. Guided tours available for those who wish to truly immerse themselves in this BEAUTIFUL PARADISE. For those looking for adventure we offer horseback riding, boat tour, diving, canopy, kayak tours, surfing, sport fishing, turtle tours, and more. We also offer transportation and assistance. We are very close to bus stop; taxi service is available from Liberia Airport (2 hours away) or from San Jose Airport (4 hours away). Bus service is available from San Jose (get off at in the center of town), and Nosara Airport (1 hour a half away) offers domestic flights to and from San Jose Airport. Our Hotel is the perfect place for replenish yourself with the positive sensation of this enchanting atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Samara Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samara Beach Hotel
Hotel Samara Beach Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing