We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat and have fun!”
Review of Rancho de La Playa

Rancho de La Playa
Ranked #54 of 73 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Restaurant details
Pensacola, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great place to eat and have fun!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Rancho de la Playa has become one of our favorite places in Samara. Wednesday and Saturday nights they have live music and there are always nightly specials on food and drinks. The ambiance is wonderful with very friendly staff, especially Megan with her always cheerful smile and the good food. The steak with peppercorn sauce and the grilled dorado are two of our favorites. Come join the fun, dance--you don't have to have a partner, sing at open mike if you want to!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sailorkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    3
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“All Around Awesome”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The Rancho de la Playa was one of the first restaurants/hotels I frequented while visiting Samara, and is one that I will continue to go to while living here. The prices are very affordable for the hotel and restaurant, the food is very good (both in taste and in the amount you receive), and the service is excellent. The owners and staff are friendly and very accommodating, and ensure that your stay is an enjoyable one. Entertainment at Rancho de la Playa is excellent, with live music many evenings throughout the week featuring a very talented local artist. They also have a number of other great bands and artists to add some variation to your experience. The live music and dancing ends at a respectable time to ensure the hotel guests have quiet time. Once a week they bring in an excellent local chef to provide some fine dining to the already great menu. The hotel is air-conditioned and the pool is a definite asset to this establishment. I would recommend this place to everyone; couples, families, solo travelers, etc. The overall atmosphere is welcoming and enjoyable, making it impossible to not make new friends while you're there, whether it be with the locals, tourists, or the great gang of Rancho. Muchas gracias!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry-Canada_Samara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“All Around Awesome”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The Rancho de la Playa was one of the first restaurants/hotels I frequented while visiting Samara, and is one that I will continue to go to while living here. The prices are very affordable for the hotel and restaurant, the food is very good (both in taste and in the amount you receive), and the service is excellent. The owners and staff are friendly and very accommodating, and ensure that your stay is an enjoyable one. Entertainment at Rancho de la Playa is excellent, with live music many evenings throughout the week featuring a very talented local artist. They also have a number of other great bands and artists to add some variation to your experience. The live music and dancing ends at a respectable time to ensure the hotel guests have quiet time. Once a week they bring in an excellent local chef to provide some fine dining to the already great menu. The hotel is air-conditioned and the pool is a definite asset to this establishment. I would recommend this place to everyone; couples, families, solo travelers, etc. The overall atmosphere is welcoming and enjoyable, making it impossible to not make new friends while you're there, whether it be with the locals, tourists, or the great gang of Rancho. Muchas gracias!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry-Canada_Samara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

have had 2 different dishes here and they were both good. The music was amazing and our kids were dancing for over an hour. The locals seem to come here for the music as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mpresdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tasty food, great vibe, good service”
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

We truly enjoyed our eve at Rancho. Loved the food, live music, and service. We had 8 people including 4 children and we all had a blast. We really liked the grilled snapper, chicken curry, and kids enjoyed the burger and fries. Overall good value, diverse menu, and cool ambiance. Family friendly early and then non families enjoying the live music later in the eve. Great spot!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rancho de La Playa also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Rancho de La Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing