We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was an amazing experience and I would definitely recommend this trip.”

Costa Rica Monkey Tours - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$649.00*
and up
Essential Costa Rica: 8-Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Costa Rica Monkey Tours is dedicated to provide the visitor of Costa Rica an experience. An authentic experience of Costa Rica Traditions, its roots and the vast wild life. We have over a decade of experience organizing Tours, expeditions and adventures.We guarantee to our clients to organize activities to fully license and registered locations with the highest safety rules and regulations. Let us work on your visit so you can simply kick back and enjoy from location to location transportation on our private shuttles to the most beautiful locations with the most magnificent views and adrenaline filled activities.
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Costa Rica Monkey Tours was excellent! We had a wonderful time travelling around Costa Rica. Our tour guide Hairo was wonderful. He taught us about all the different areas we went through. He was very knowledgeable. Or first day was action packed with horseback riding, tubing, ziplining, & hot springs. The best part of ziplining was rappelling down to a platform in the canyon and rock climbing up. It is optional but I highly recommend doing it..the view from the platform after rappelling was absolutely breathtaking. The next day was the Monteverde Cloud Forest which was amazing. The views driving through Monteverde were just beautiful. We had a delicious lunch at Mar y Tierra. The hotel El Establo was the best hotel of the trip. The rooms were wonderful, view was spectacular. We watched the sunset from their heated pool. They also offer a night walk which was very fun. We got to see some insects, a Mexican Porcupine, and an Olingo. The next day we did a river boat tour where we got to see some beautiful birds, bats, crocodiles, howler monkeys, and lots of iguanas. After that we had my favorite lunch of the trip unfortunately I don’t remember the name of the restaurant. I think it was part of Palo Verde Boat Tours. We also had a demonstration on making pottery and we saw the oldest church in Nicoya before heading to Samara for the rest of the trip.

I really enjoyed this trip because we got to see so much of the country, do so many fun things, and also learn a lot about the area. Hairo from Monkey Tours did an amazing job and made this a fantastic trip.

At Hotel Villas Playa Samara Luis was wonderful he guided us on a scooter tour, kayaking, and surfing. And Jenny was a huge help in straightening things out. Hector was also wonderful. There is a restaurant in Samara called El Lagarto that has delicious food.

The only negatives I have about the trip are hotel issues. At The Hotel Villas Playa Samara we had some trouble getting all inclusive. We had tried to get it via email before the trip but the price per day and the total charge didn't add up so we were told to purchase it when we got there. When we got there they gave us a higher price per day which we straightened out. We also had trouble with charges on the final bill which they straightened out. And our room wasn't cleaned one of the days. The last hotel was not my favorite but it was close to town and there were a lot of fun things to do. At the Hacienda Guachipelin which was the 2nd night we had no hot water in the shower. To me these were minor issues.

This was an amazing experience and I would definitely recommend this trip. I would absolutely plan another trip with Monkey Tours.

Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMonkeyTours, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Monkey Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Kelly,

Thank you for the time you have spent in writing this review! It's amazing to read about your experience here in Costa Rica and what a great impact it has made.
So much detail, I'm glad you enjoyed the costarican casado, it truly is tasteful.

I'm glad the confusions with the all inclusive were fixed and we are glad you got to enjoy it! We're sorry about the issues you had, we truly appreciate all the feedback!

We hope to see you some other time.

We are glad you got to enjoy Costa Rica with us!

Lots of love from Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"white water rafting"
in 68 reviews
"through groupon"
in 52 reviews
"hot springs"
in 70 reviews
"cloud forest"
in 42 reviews
"horseback riding"
in 120 reviews
"zip lining"
in 171 reviews
"tour group"
in 34 reviews
"sky tram"
in 26 reviews
"costa rica"
in 297 reviews
"el establo"
in 18 reviews
"pura vida"
in 64 reviews
"mud bath"
in 15 reviews
"photo package"
in 13 reviews
"bus driver"
in 22 reviews
"hotel borinquen"
in 11 reviews
"action packed"
in 16 reviews
"final destination"
in 12 reviews
Filter

500 - 504 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

My bestfriend and I took this tour this past July and we had a great adventure! The tours, accomodations, and tour guides were fantastic. We loved Hector! If you can, pick him as your tour guide. He's smart, informative, and easy on the eyes. ;) Not only did we enjoy our time in Costa Rica but we also made friends wth some of the locals. We hope to visit again next summer. :) Here's to the simple life, Pura Vida!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank garnabocor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMonkeyTours, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Monkey Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you so much for the review, it is great to let people know that this tour is not only meant for couples but for friends and family too!

It would be great to have you here next year, you can be a part of the new circuits we'll be launching very soon! It was great meeting you and we appreciate the feedback on our employees I will make sure he knows about it!

Thank you for taking the time in writing this review! Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Still coming off of the joy from the trip. Every activity exceeded expectations. Did optional extreme zip line in Monte Verde and that was amazing too. Would highly recommend but if you have kids leave them at home. Not for them. First hotel is fine (at airport). Second hotel is rustic and basic but food is decent and you are so tired from the day that you just want to sleep. Third hotel is great and the tour should spend two nights there. We all thought this. Last hotel at the beach is owned by the Monkey Tour folks so the whole reason for the tour is to get you there. It has its dated elements and the maintenance is just enough to get by. 3 out of 5 stars for the resort. Beach is much better closer to town. Do the 3 hour horse ride and don't pay a penny over $20. In all, a great group and a great trip with a few things to work on but not enough to take a point off of the review.

1  Thank Todd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMonkeyTours, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Monkey Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time in writing us a review! It is great to see how much fun you had, we know our adventures are full of adrenaline and they are great for experiencing what Costa Rica has to offer. I'm glad you enjoyed the Adventure Expedition Tour.
In regards to the last hotel, there might have been a misunderstanding. Costa Rica Monkey Tours has no other affiliation than a travel agency contracting provider hotels, which is the same agreements we have with all the hotels you stayed at.
This tour is all about adventure and relaxation, reason why we decided that the best way of ending this tour, was relaxing next to the beautiful beach of Samara, which has been voted as the #2 best beach in Central America by TripAdvisor.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/TravelersChoice-Beaches-cTop10-g291958

Once again thank you for all the time you took in writing the review! It would be a pleasure to have you here once again!

Its great news for us to find out you arrived home safe and sound.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We did the 8 day trip via Groupon and had an amazing time. It's tough getting the trip booked in the beginning because Monkey Tours can be a bit unresponsive sometimes, but in the end they do make sure to get you all set, so don't stress over it. We didn't do anything upon arrival because we were tired from the long flight - but the hotel is very relaxing. The next day is action-packed fun so we were glad we rested. Zip lining was incredible (and I am terrified of heights - you can do it!!!) with stunning views and a great rush. The tubing was quite possibly the most fun and beautiful experience of the whole trip. The scenery is UNREAL and it's really exciting going down the small rapids (not dangerous!!). You really have to pinch yourself a few times to make sure you aren't in a dream. The horseback riding was fun, and the hot springs and mud bath was also a really neat experience. You learn a lot on this day as well - the guides are great, friendly and informative. You stay at a decent hotel (nothing special, but its a place to sleep, and that's all you will really want to do) and the next day you are off to the cloud forest. You won't see animals, so don't expect to. Instead, ask as MANY questions as you can to the guides - they are full of information and you won't get any of it unless you ask. The best part of this day is the hotel you arrive at for the night - it is stunning! Bring fun games, most people make a bunch of friends on the trip and it gives you something to do at night. The next day is the river boat tour, which is pretty cool. We saw an anteater, lots of lizards, crocodiles, exotic birds, etc. The lunch this day is really great, it's a meal cooked by a very small restaurant that is very authentic, flavorful and healthy. Probably our favorite meal. You then go to a local potter where you can buy some of his amazing pottery. It is a bit pricey, and the piece that we bought ($50 bowl) broke when we got home and put it on the counter. We were pretty upset about that because it was our only souvenir. After that you will stay at the Playa Samara. MAKE SURE YOU HAVE EXTRA MONEY FOR THIS! You will probably be pretty bored if you don't dish out some cash - but it's worth it. We did horseback riding through the mountains (through Monkey Tours - there are other vendors in the city but this was definitely the best option) and we had some pretty incredible views. The best of the trip. We saw more wildlife here too - monkeys, hawks, etc. We also did a surf lesson through Monkey Tours (SO FUN - they take you out on long boards and instruct you step by step. The waves are the perfect height to learn and do some good surfing when you get the hang of it). Anyway, we would highly recommend this trip. It is a great way to see the country and enjoy all it has to offer!

2  Thank Nadia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMonkeyTours, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Monkey Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Nadia,

Thank you for being so descriptive about the tour, this is what trip advisor is for! Once again a great review from our customers. It was great to have you here and we are glad you got to enjoy many areas Costa Rica has to offer!

We would love to see you here some other time!

Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

we just came back from our stay in samara and took the kayak tour to isla chora this is a beautiful island located just in front of the hotel it is completely virgin and you can swim between the island and the bay "tutenka" i hope i wrote that right luis was a great guide i highly recommend thid tour to everyone and it is for all ages

1  Thank nicaviajero1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMonkeyTours, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Monkey Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Im glad you got to enjoy the Island Chora Tour, its amazing what you can find there in such a short distance from the beach. Thank you for encouraging the rest of the people to do the tour. Im glad you had the opportunity to travel with Luis (tutenca) since he is very knowledgeable of the area.

Thank you for your time in creating a review!

Lots of love from Costa Rica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Costa Rica Monkey Tours - Day Tours also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Costa Rica Monkey Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing