We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience Well Worth the Time and Money”

Costa Rica Monkey Tours - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$699.00*
and up
8-Day Tour: Jewels of Costa Rica
More Info
US$649.00*
and up
Essential Costa Rica: 8-Day Tour
More Info
US$669.00*
and up
8-Day Best of Costa Rica and Nicaragua Combo Tour
Ranked #3 of 28 Tours in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Costa Rica Monkey Tours is dedicated to provide the visitor of Costa Rica an experience. An authentic experience of Costa Rica Traditions, its roots and the vast wild life. We have over a decade of experience organizing Tours, expeditions and adventures.We guarantee to our clients to organize activities to fully license and registered locations with the highest safety rules and regulations. Let us work on your visit so you can simply kick back and enjoy from location to location transportation on our private shuttles to the most beautiful locations with the most magnificent views and adrenaline filled activities.
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Day 1 - We landed in LIR airport. We didn't know if we had to call for shuttle but the hotel shuttle was waiting right outside the airport (not just for us, I suppose it makes frequent rounds). The hotel is about 3 minutes from the Airport. We arrived at the hotel and our reservation was not in the system but our name was on a printed list. The food at the hotel was reasonably priced with a good variety. We did not go to the town but passed by it the next day and it's only a couple of blocks so we did not regret it. Hotel had free Wi-Fi.

Day 2 - The next morning after a very nice breakfast buffet at the hotel, the Monkey tours guys showed up and after a brief overview, loaded our luggage into the two vans (we were a large group). After a couple of hours drive we were taken to zip-lining. It's not as scary as it sounds. There were a total of 7-8 zip-lines and you are practically sliding on the line without too much effort. The only place of effort was rock climbing in the middle but that was optional. We did it anyway. It was our first time doing this and we really enjoyed it. You are harnessed every second from start to finish. Then we got our horses and went to a small waterfall. This is more scary than zip-line because my hours just wanted to overtake everyone for some reason. We did river tubing last and it was very fun - You will get soaking wet so wear your water shoes. You will check in at the Hacienda Guachipelin which is right on the property where you did all these activities. You will each lunch, dinner and next days breakfast at this hotel's restaurant (dinner on your own). DO NOT set any expectations for this hotel otherwise you will be disappointed. Remember you are there for fun and activities and not for luxury. We were so tired that we just crashed. Hotel had free Wi-Fi.

Day 3 - Its a long 4+ hour ride to the Cloud forest with every bumpy roads - enjoy the experience. We did the Sky Tram and Sky Walk, ate lunch in town and then opted to skip the walking around the town because it was raining. We did a coffee making tour instead in town. Then we were taken to hotel El Establo. This is a 4+ star hotel and is probably the best hotel room of the whole trip with a nice open view. The main door had a big glass window on top for all the light to come in from the lobby - They should do something about that. The restaurant was the most expensive of all hotels with limited breakfast options as compared to other hotels on this trip. Hotel publicized free Wi-Fi but there wasn't any signal in our building.

Day 4 - A long 3 hour trip again for the river boat ride. The river was a dump but I guess that is where you go to spot crocodiles, monkeys, iguanas, all sorts of birds, etc. It was really fun. On the way back we stopped at the lunch place where we were served some real Costa Rican food with all sorts of side (all included in the tour). This was the best food for the trip in my opinion. Then 1 hour ride again to the pottery place and then 1-2 hours to the final destination Playa Samara.

Day 5-7 - Monkey tour has a reception/representatives 24/7 at this location. Upon check-in to Playa Samara we wanted to upgrade to the Ocean View room (We had emailed earlier and were told since this is not busy season we could upgrade when we got there). They wanted us to charge $20 more per night just because we didn't do it online. After showing proof of emails, we were allowed to upgrade for the regular online published price. The room that was given to us was probably build 100 years ago. It had a living room and bed room, but there was mold on the fridge, blinds would not close, lizards roaming around freely in the room, etc. I had read online that they have upgraded rooms so I wanted back and demanded to see some upgraded rooms. After some more arguments we where shown a couple of other rooms. We finally got an upgraded room view a new Ocean view. Although, Monkey Tour staff were very helpful, I am taking 1/2 star off because of this inconvenience. This was off season, they should have given us the best room available to start with - we were paying for it. A tip for whoever is trying to upgrade to Ocean View - Demand to see the upgraded rooms.

You can sign up for Kayak tours for any of the remaining days. There are 4 kayaks there so its a maximum of 6 people per trip. The Monkey Tour guide uses 1 kayak and goes with you. On the island he cut some fresh fruits for us and gave us bottled water. The water was not clear enough for snorkeling on any day.

On the 6-7 days we rented scooter and went to the town (5-7 minutes straight on one road), ate lunch and got some souvenirs. There is Mexican place - KoKo or JoJo something like that, that has amazing food.

We paid for the Pictures and Video from Monkey tours which is not cheap. We were disappointed to see that MOST pictures have a drop or two of water on the camera lens even though the pictures where taken on the dry land - it wasn't wiped from the previous activity/day. They don't look good at all. When they were being edited, the person doing it should have noticed it and should have offered for 1/2 price for their mistake. The Monkey Tour lady who was doing the editing was at the hotel with us for the last 3 days. I am taking 1/2 star off for this.

Overall it was an amazing experience that I would recommend to anyone. We snagged a Groupon. Total five Monkey tour people were with us - 1 Guide, 2 drivers and 2 cameramen. Two people spoke fluent English while the others barely. We had a large group but regardless every Monkey Tour employee was committed to helping us in any way they can to make our trip enjoyable.

The next morning we were taken to the Airport. On we way we made a quick stop to spot a big family of hauler monkeys.

4  Thank A_Reviewer_11a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMonkeyTours, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Monkey Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this amazing, detailed review.
We are truly sorry about the situation with the upgrade you got to experience in the last hotel. There might've been a confusion. The upgrade to an Ocean view villa is $6 USD + per day, once you do it onsite. So the online price is $50 USD + tax per night, and in the hotel it would be $56 USD + tax per day. We are making sure we let everyone know before they get here to avoid this inconvenience!
Besides this im glad you enjoyed all the activites and places we visited.

It was a pleasure to have you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 479 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

This tour is geared toward those who would like adventure, there is a lot of driving to get to all of the destinations but it is worth the drive for the adventure.

For this tour our guide was Hairo and our driver was Henry. From the
moment they arrived at the Hilton in Liberia to pick us up we could
tell it was going to be a great trip. There was a decent amount of
driving on the trip and Henry was fantastic, always courteous and made
sure we arrived promptly at all of our stops, had well planned out
restroom and snack breaks. Not all of the roads are paved but this really should not be a surprise if you are traveling to Costa Rica. Hairo exuded excitement everyday of this
trip. He was always happy to answer questions not only about the tour
but to provide information about the history and culture of Costa
Rica. He is extremely knowledgeable and so pleasant to speak with. We
were very spoiled by the fact that all of our guides spoke fantastic
English making the trip a breeze.

The first day of horseback riding, zip-lining, tubing, and the hot
springs were amazing. The views from the zip line were breath taking,
it was a fantastic and thrilling adventure. On our way to the hot
springs (which was the perfect way to end the day) Hairo stopped to
explain to us the Geothermal projects the country is undertaking by
using steam from the volcanoes. His knowledge of the country is
amazing.

The second day was a trip to the Monteverde Cloud forest. Again
everyone was executed with precision and the day was wonderful. The
guides at the cloud forest were wonderful an provided extremely
detailed information about the diversity of the ecosystems in the
forest. For lunch we all went to Mar y Tierra which was fantastic as
well. Without the local knowledge of the guides you would not know about this gem of a restaurant. We checked into El Establo which was gorgeous with spectular
views, a wonderful swimming pool and great restaurant. We ventured out to the night hike
with Eduadaro into the surrounding area to find a olingo
and a porcupine, numerous stick bugs, and some great frogs.

Day 3 we were on to the river tour where we saw monkeys, crocodiles,
birds and many iguanas. After this we stopped at a local pottery
makers home where he demonstrated his expertise in making a vase for
us using traditional Aboriginal techniques. His talent and that of his
family is amazing works of art. If you want to purchase something here
you need cash (American or Colones) there is no ATM nearby.

There are many activities at Playa Samara where we were greeted by
more wonderful Monkey Tours staff. The majority of the activities at Playa Samara are not included in the price of the tour and maybe purchased with cash (American or Colones) or with credit.

We took a scooter tour with Luis, he was a wonderful guide extremely
knowledgeable about the area and took us to a waterfall as well as a
scenic overlook where we saw more monkeys. We also went to a beach
with stunning views. He finished the tour by taking us through the
town of Samara to help us understand where the supermarket and
restaurants were. He also was more than willing to answer any
questions we had about the area and the culture. He made the scooter
tour a memorable experience. That afternoon almost our entire group
went surfing with Luis and Hector. Both of them are fantastic instructors
everyone in our group was able to get up on the boards and ride a few
waves it was a blast. We spent a lot of time talking with both Luis
and Hector learning many interesting details about the area, the
country and the customs. You could not ask for a kinder more
accommodating group of tour guides. We also went kayaking and
snorkeling with Luis and Hector, again they made sure we had
everything that we needed for a fun trip. Luis even filleted up a
pineapple and watermelon for snacks on the beach. We had a great trip
saw some fish and an octopus.

This group of guide devoted a tremendous amount of energy to make sure
we were having a good time and that we had everything that we needed.
All of the activities were well planned and a lot of fun.

If adventure is what you are looking for this tour is a great one, there were some issues at some of the hotels but they certainly did not in outweigh the experience of the tour.

3  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMonkeyTours, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Monkey Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time in writing us such a detailed review, i'm sure that many other travelers will appreciate the details you have placed in it.

We believe that our guides are very knowledgeable and we thank you once again for reconfirming it!

Once again we want to thank you for your time and foe choosing us over so many others! We would love to see you here some other time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Costa Rica Monkey Tours was excellent! We had a wonderful time travelling around Costa Rica. Our tour guide Hairo was wonderful. He taught us about all the different areas we went through. He was very knowledgeable. Or first day was action packed with horseback riding, tubing, ziplining, & hot springs. The best part of ziplining was rappelling down to a platform in the canyon and rock climbing up. It is optional but I highly recommend doing it..the view from the platform after rappelling was absolutely breathtaking. The next day was the Monteverde Cloud Forest which was amazing. The views driving through Monteverde were just beautiful. We had a delicious lunch at Mar y Tierra. The hotel El Establo was the best hotel of the trip. The rooms were wonderful, view was spectacular. We watched the sunset from their heated pool. They also offer a night walk which was very fun. We got to see some insects, a Mexican Porcupine, and an Olingo. The next day we did a river boat tour where we got to see some beautiful birds, bats, crocodiles, howler monkeys, and lots of iguanas. After that we had my favorite lunch of the trip unfortunately I don’t remember the name of the restaurant. I think it was part of Palo Verde Boat Tours. We also had a demonstration on making pottery and we saw the oldest church in Nicoya before heading to Samara for the rest of the trip.

I really enjoyed this trip because we got to see so much of the country, do so many fun things, and also learn a lot about the area. Hairo from Monkey Tours did an amazing job and made this a fantastic trip.

At Hotel Villas Playa Samara Luis was wonderful he guided us on a scooter tour, kayaking, and surfing. And Jenny was a huge help in straightening things out. Hector was also wonderful. There is a restaurant in Samara called El Lagarto that has delicious food.

The only negatives I have about the trip are hotel issues. At The Hotel Villas Playa Samara we had some trouble getting all inclusive. We had tried to get it via email before the trip but the price per day and the total charge didn't add up so we were told to purchase it when we got there. When we got there they gave us a higher price per day which we straightened out. We also had trouble with charges on the final bill which they straightened out. And our room wasn't cleaned one of the days. The last hotel was not my favorite but it was close to town and there were a lot of fun things to do. At the Hacienda Guachipelin which was the 2nd night we had no hot water in the shower. To me these were minor issues.

This was an amazing experience and I would definitely recommend this trip. I would absolutely plan another trip with Monkey Tours.

Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMonkeyTours, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Monkey Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Kelly,

Thank you for the time you have spent in writing this review! It's amazing to read about your experience here in Costa Rica and what a great impact it has made.
So much detail, I'm glad you enjoyed the costarican casado, it truly is tasteful.

I'm glad the confusions with the all inclusive were fixed and we are glad you got to enjoy it! We're sorry about the issues you had, we truly appreciate all the feedback!

We hope to see you some other time.

We are glad you got to enjoy Costa Rica with us!

Lots of love from Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My bestfriend and I took this tour this past July and we had a great adventure! The tours, accomodations, and tour guides were fantastic. We loved Hector! If you can, pick him as your tour guide. He's smart, informative, and easy on the eyes. ;) Not only did we enjoy our time in Costa Rica but we also made friends wth some of the locals. We hope to visit again next summer. :) Here's to the simple life, Pura Vida!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank garnabocor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMonkeyTours, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Monkey Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you so much for the review, it is great to let people know that this tour is not only meant for couples but for friends and family too!

It would be great to have you here next year, you can be a part of the new circuits we'll be launching very soon! It was great meeting you and we appreciate the feedback on our employees I will make sure he knows about it!

Thank you for taking the time in writing this review! Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Still coming off of the joy from the trip. Every activity exceeded expectations. Did optional extreme zip line in Monte Verde and that was amazing too. Would highly recommend but if you have kids leave them at home. Not for them. First hotel is fine (at airport). Second hotel is rustic and basic but food is decent and you are so tired from the day that you just want to sleep. Third hotel is great and the tour should spend two nights there. We all thought this. Last hotel at the beach is owned by the Monkey Tour folks so the whole reason for the tour is to get you there. It has its dated elements and the maintenance is just enough to get by. 3 out of 5 stars for the resort. Beach is much better closer to town. Do the 3 hour horse ride and don't pay a penny over $20. In all, a great group and a great trip with a few things to work on but not enough to take a point off of the review.

1  Thank Todd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMonkeyTours, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Monkey Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time in writing us a review! It is great to see how much fun you had, we know our adventures are full of adrenaline and they are great for experiencing what Costa Rica has to offer. I'm glad you enjoyed the Adventure Expedition Tour.
In regards to the last hotel, there might have been a misunderstanding. Costa Rica Monkey Tours has no other affiliation than a travel agency contracting provider hotels, which is the same agreements we have with all the hotels you stayed at.
This tour is all about adventure and relaxation, reason why we decided that the best way of ending this tour, was relaxing next to the beautiful beach of Samara, which has been voted as the #2 best beach in Central America by TripAdvisor.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/TravelersChoice-Beaches-cTop10-g291958

Once again thank you for all the time you took in writing the review! It would be a pleasure to have you here once again!

Its great news for us to find out you arrived home safe and sound.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Costa Rica Monkey Tours - Day Tours also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Costa Rica Monkey Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing