We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Gem !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gem !”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We had a month long trip in Costa Rica travelling all over. We had the pleasure of spending 9 days in Samara staying at the Hotel Samara Pacific lodge and it was fantastic! By far the best place we stayed, the rooms are lovely and clean with lovely views. The pool is beautiful, the food was fantastic -the evening meals were all delicious and great value. The breakfast was delicious every morning.
We were looked after so well - Clemence and Lionel are wonderful hosts - they helped us out with hiring bikes ( which turned out to be 50% cheaper than hiring them in town!) trips - fishing, horseriding, suggested other restaurants to eat at and private beaches. The cocktails were fab - Lionel makes a fantastic Daquiri and i am still dreaming of the pina coladas!
The beach is 300 m walk and to walk into town takes 10 minutes along a very well lit road - or you can walk along the beach. The fact that this hotel is not in the centre of town is a bonus - the surroundings are stunning and the monkey's are always close by. I'm slightly ashamed to admit this but i had a tear in my eye when we left - it felt like we were leaving good friends.
All in all a fantastic place to stay which i would recommened to anyone and everyone.
we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Room 14 is fab - with a wonderful view of the 'National Gepgraphic' and it's wn little t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polliei79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    119
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
166
233
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Nice, clean hotel w/salt water pool. Good breakfast. Owners were very helpful and let us store our luggage when we went to the beach. Nice bar. Not on the main strip - far away but very quiet. Saw horses walking down the street by themselves. Peaceful. Good security. No TV - but have the "National Geographic" channel out the back door. Told us about a secret beach only accessable during low tide due to the crocodiles - very cool to walk over a crocodile estuary to reach a secluded beach only frequented by locals.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeandcoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seward, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We really enjoyed our 4 nights here. The food was the best we had in Costa Rica!! Wonderful and accomodating hosts. We were traveling with children and enjoyed the pool as well as the game area. The rooms were clean and spacious. We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 570 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Samara Beach is a relaxed beach town with a great expanse of sand, supported by a small beach town with just enough services to make it conformable, without being too large that it attracts the chain hotels.

Samara Pacific Lodge is a perfect fit for this type of location. The owners care, and they are very welcoming and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant was quite good and well-priced, and the pool and rooms were clean and decent. It's not brand new so showing some signs of age compared to the photos you see on the website, but not so different as to disappoint. Plenty of options walking in different directions to see local attractions. Worth a 3 or 4 night stay.

It is a little walk from town but there is a grocery shop close by. We didn't have a car and it was a pleasant walk into town, and you could also walk to town along the beach at low tide.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1800hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights of our honeymoon. At first we were not sure what we thought of the place. We arrive just as the sun was going down and had to travel down the sketchy back road to get there. The owners and staff were very friendly and accommodating! We had quite a large room in the corner with doors that opened up to a table with 2 chairs. Not much room out there but it was nice. The rooms around us looked very tiny, so I'm glad we got a good one. There is only a shower in the bathroom. A/C & ceiling fan, No tv or radio in the rooms.

Breakfast is included and is excellent. Your choice of Pancakes or toast and fruit OR Eggs with bacon or ham (cold deli meat) and toast with coffee, juice or hot chocolate. We ate lunch here one day and dinner one evening. The tenderloin we ordered well done, but had to send back twice before the blood stopped running out of it. It wasn't great. The bar has a large cocktail menu and are made with fresh fruit and very tasty!

The pool is nice, and has chair and lounge chairs around it with umbrellas for shade.

The walk to town is about 10 - 15 minutes and we had no problems walking at night. The locals are very friendly. The beach is about 10 minutes from the hotel, but you can only get to the main beach in front of town when the tide is out because you have to cross a river.

There is also a secluded beach about 10 minutes further down the dirt road and again, you have to go when the tide is low due to having to cross 2 rivers.

There were howler monkeys in the trees right by the hotel, so we were fortunate enough to get lots of great photos of them hanging out! But they definately wake you up in the morning.

Overall, it was a nice hotel. Quiet and relaxing but you had a little walk to get into town to the restaurants, shops and beach. If your looking for quiet, and don't mind having to walk 10 - 15 minutes to get anywhere its a great place to stay! You can also rent bikes in town for about $10 USD/ day.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner suite (#14) its quite a bit larger than the rest of the rooms we saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank w0rldtravelers037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

A wonderful place...peaceful! A real pleasure to stay in this Hotel. Lionel and Clemence (the owners) are just so nice...and available for you ...They can give you such good ideas ..and good places to go.. to enjoy Costa Rica and above all Samara in best conditions. What is funny is to be awake by monkeys "songs"...., to share cocktails ( I suggest it....hummmm)....and to finish your day in the pool ...where water is just sweet...! For sure, my next stay will be in Pacific Lodge !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HEIDI197011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We really enjoyed staying at the Samara Pacific Lodge for multiple reasons.
The beach is beautiful and if you want to see other ones you can always hope on your car or book a horse back riding tour.
The food in the little town of Samara...is not good so we really enjoyed our dinners at the hotel.They are a bit pricy but it is so delicious that it is worth the premium.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulothetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.5 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
841 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
874 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
216 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge

Property: Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Address: Camino Playa Buenavista, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Samara Pacific Playa Samara
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing