We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewell off the beaten track”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
271 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A jewell off the beaten track”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My group and I visited this lodge last month (Feb). I had read the reviews and had an idea of what to expect. The rooms are small but ample and clean. Some have an outside area. The swimming pool is wonderful after a day of sightseeing etc. Having stayed in Samara previously, I found this lodge to be a little oasis off the beaten track but close enough in to walk to Samara or drive in easily. I enjoyed discovering Buena Vista Beach (check with he owner concerning the tides for the day), a 15 minute walk. Walk further to your right along Buena Vista beach and you will discover a non-profit trutle concervancy! We saw many monkeys and birds in this area - an added asset. Samara Beach is always colorful and enjoyable with lots of good restaurants. For beautiful sunsets, peace and fun in the waves visit beautiful Carillo Beach. Clemencia and Leonard were very gracious hosts as were the staff. Breakfast is good and the food at the restaurant excellent! The current chef had very little experience until she trained with the former chef - now she would be a match for some of the top chefs! The food has a wonderful French influence to it.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are located alongside the pool while a few are in the back. It depends if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank costaricatravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    116
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
158
231
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We planned to stay at the hotel for 3 nights eventually. We stayed 5 and we actually still did not want to leave. The rooms are clean, the bed comfortable and the pool excellent. It is actually quite deep so swimming in the heat was very comfortable.
The owner Clemence was very helpful and always available to help us with everything we needed.
Make sure to have the pancakes. The breakfast is very good and there are plenty options to choose from, but I liked the pancakes best. Also ask Clemence directions to the deserted beach. It is well hidden and absolutely utopic.
Thank you Clemence and everyone else, we had a wonderful stay and we'll be back.
Watch out for the howler monkeys since they love to hang out in the tree by the pool. No hiking in natural parks necessary :)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna251186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The hotel is comfortable. The owners are delightful, caring, thoughtful people. The food was fabulous--a wonderful chef. Excellent breakfast came with the room with delicious coffee. We ate dinner in their restaurant and found it to be the best meal of our 18-day trip. We all applauded the chef and thanked her. We also enjoyed our time in the pool after a hot day on the beach.

Room Tip: I believe the poolside rooms may be larger than the rooms back behind the restaurant. Travelers wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stronglyretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We had a month long trip in Costa Rica travelling all over. We had the pleasure of spending 9 days in Samara staying at the Hotel Samara Pacific lodge and it was fantastic! By far the best place we stayed, the rooms are lovely and clean with lovely views. The pool is beautiful, the food was fantastic -the evening meals were all delicious and great value. The breakfast was delicious every morning.
We were looked after so well - Clemence and Lionel are wonderful hosts - they helped us out with hiring bikes ( which turned out to be 50% cheaper than hiring them in town!) trips - fishing, horseriding, suggested other restaurants to eat at and private beaches. The cocktails were fab - Lionel makes a fantastic Daquiri and i am still dreaming of the pina coladas!
The beach is 300 m walk and to walk into town takes 10 minutes along a very well lit road - or you can walk along the beach. The fact that this hotel is not in the centre of town is a bonus - the surroundings are stunning and the monkey's are always close by. I'm slightly ashamed to admit this but i had a tear in my eye when we left - it felt like we were leaving good friends.
All in all a fantastic place to stay which i would recommened to anyone and everyone.
we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Room 14 is fab - with a wonderful view of the 'National Gepgraphic' and it's wn little t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polliei79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Nice, clean hotel w/salt water pool. Good breakfast. Owners were very helpful and let us store our luggage when we went to the beach. Nice bar. Not on the main strip - far away but very quiet. Saw horses walking down the street by themselves. Peaceful. Good security. No TV - but have the "National Geographic" channel out the back door. Told us about a secret beach only accessable during low tide due to the crocodiles - very cool to walk over a crocodile estuary to reach a secluded beach only frequented by locals.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeandcoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seward, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We really enjoyed our 4 nights here. The food was the best we had in Costa Rica!! Wonderful and accomodating hosts. We were traveling with children and enjoyed the pool as well as the game area. The rooms were clean and spacious. We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
521 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Samara Beach is a relaxed beach town with a great expanse of sand, supported by a small beach town with just enough services to make it conformable, without being too large that it attracts the chain hotels.

Samara Pacific Lodge is a perfect fit for this type of location. The owners care, and they are very welcoming and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant was quite good and well-priced, and the pool and rooms were clean and decent. It's not brand new so showing some signs of age compared to the photos you see on the website, but not so different as to disappoint. Plenty of options walking in different directions to see local attractions. Worth a 3 or 4 night stay.

It is a little walk from town but there is a grocery shop close by. We didn't have a car and it was a pleasant walk into town, and you could also walk to town along the beach at low tide.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1800hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.5 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
833 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
853 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
216 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge

Property: Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Address: Camino Playa Buenavista, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Samara Pacific Playa Samara
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing