We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet retreat in gorgious nature”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2009

It was my first trip to Costa Rica and I loved the Samara Pacific Lodge. If you like to be surrounded by gorgious nature in a quiet retreat near the ocean with warm weather, this is the place.

The 10 minutes walk to the beach is a superb dirt road along a forest with monkeys hanging out in the trees, very friendly sqirrels and beautiful exotic birds. The beach is pristine, with very few people, warm water, and next to a wild life refuge for the tortugas, where their eggs are watched until they hatch.

The village is a 10 minutes walk as well, where you can find small restaurants on the beach, ATM machine, rental cars and boat rides. I did the latest for 2 hours and was lucky enough to see 2 tortugas and 2 dolphins swimming on the side of the boat. Wales can be seen as well, but not that day.

The rooms at the hotel are clean, with air conditioning and WiFi, the restaurant is good and service is very friendly. I cannot wait to go back and discover more of the region, which is filled with other wild life refuges.

Actually, Costa Rica is the greenest country in the world when it comes to preserving nature. Enjoy !

Francois Jantzen, Los Angeles USA.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francois-Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2008

I could not disagree more with many of the comments included in the prior review about the Samara Pacific lodge. While some basic facts are certainly accurate (indeed do not touch the ill-installed shower head for fear of electrocuting yourself and yes, the location of this property is roughly a 15 minute walk to the beach), our experience with the Lodge's management was precisely the reason why we would choose to stay here yet again should we have the good fortune to return to Costa Rica.

The property's owner and his daughter were both highly responsive to our various requests, and both were a genuine pleasure to talk to. Their charm and kindness during our stay and their humility at the time of our departure punctuated just how much they do truly value their guests' experience.

I delighted in being awakened each morning by an ever-changing rural cacophony featuring the screech of howler monkeys in nearby trees, mooing cows and crowing roosters from the adjacent pastures, and/or the occasional bird or iguana scurrying across our metal roof. Yes, our room was small, the structure in which we resided was hardly soundproof, and the bathroom featured a dozen or so tiny ants at any time, but such are the sacrifices that we were happy to make in exchange for attentive and thoughtful property management; a genuinely chipper restaurant and housekeeping staff; and lush, well-kept grounds. Like the other reviewer, our breakfast, too, was initially included as a line item on our final bill but was removed prior to our check-out without us having to bring this to the owner's attention.

It seems unreasonable to apply American or European standards to any accommodations in a developing country such as Costa Rica, and I'm afraid that the prior reviewer perhaps arrived at the Samara Pacific with unrealistic expectations. For $65/night (during high season!), this property is a tremendous value to which we hope some day we'll be able to return.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank adanzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2008

The location and accommodations are adequate for most travelers, but what disappoints most is the management style of the family that runs the hotel.
The hotel is pretty far from Samara center and the beaches (the popular free map of Samara is not to scale!). This is fine, if you have a car; plus there is a decent convenience store within 5min walking distance. The place is surrounded by farms and forest, so be ready to wake up from a lot of loud animal noises (cows, horses, birds, etc.) at night and early morning. Also, we could hear every sound in the next room.

The rooms are in two buildings: a two story structure by the pool and a one story building at the edge of the property, where my girlfriend and I stayed. The first thing that struck us was a strong odor in the room. Hotel staff tried to explain this by recent pest control efforts, but there were still plenty of ants in the room and bathroom. When we opened all windows (which do not have the insect nets), the smell receded somewhat after three days. The room was tidy, if not very spacious. The floor is covered with a red-brown paint which stains even dry feet, socks and shoes. After a streak from the bathroom to the bed you are guaranteed to have brown spots on your sheets. The electric water heating element is built into the showerhead and worked fine, aside from spraying water all over the floor and giving you a stimulating jolt of electricity if you touch the showerhead with the water running. The safe in the room was locked and we could not get anyone to open it for us during our four night stay.

The breakfast was supposed to be included in the price, but they actually had a menu and it was NOT cheap even for basic stuff (an extra toast costs around $2). When we asked what we could order for our included breakfast, they told us that we could get “anything you want from the menu”. Imagine our surprise when we got charged for every fruit plate (included in breakfast EVERYWHERE ELSE we stayed in Costa Rica) which is considered extra in SPL. The owner refused to correct this mistake despite our best efforts to clarify the deal from the start. In addition, the French family that owns the hotel lives on the premises and management seems lax and not very professional.

Our stay in beautiful Samara was spoiled by the unfortunate choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank dem0krat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samarapacific, propriétaire at Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2008

we would like to answer the critics from our unsatisfied russian clients. If you do not like to be awaken by monkeys and animal noises, you should have picked up a hotel in the center with trucks and drunk people's noise. This is at this stage, the only bad critic we've had over 1 and 1/2 years of operation. We did our best to satisfy their needs but when breakfast is included, you can choose any breakfast on the menu ( choice of 5 ) but they took both and every day 2 different breakfasts !!!

We are exactely 0.7 miles from both beaches and 10 minutes walk from town center. We must emphasize the fact that this customer had a car.

Our rooms are perfectly clean with important janitorial staff.

We are a small 65 dollars hotel with family atmosphere. I would suggest that the next time they book with Hilton'stype of hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

Some french friends recommended this hotel.
We went over there during the rainy season and it was perfect.
I never slept so well ! The food was awesome! Especially the "religieuse au chocolat" ! :)
And the hotel grounds were impressive!
Thanks a lot to this cute french couple who found their way!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank walmer400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 544martial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 468claudieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank parente006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.5 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
865 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
304 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
222 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
408 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge

Address: Camino Playa Buenavista, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range: £47 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Samara Pacific Playa Samara
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing