We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villas Kalimba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villas Kalimba
Ranked #1 of 33 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
quebec
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We really enjoy our stay here! Every thing is perfect, cleanliness, security. Personnel is very helpful. Particularly Diego( not sure about his name), young man at the reception is so wonderful, polite,likeable...He made us feeling like at home.

Would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank thi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    75
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
363
182
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We just returned from an incredibly blissful week at Villas Kalimba. Roberto, Diego and staff are warm and gracious and made our stay perfecto! This is also a great place for families. All the villas surround the pool so it was very convenient for us and the kids. Having a kitchen was also great and even your own private laundry room/luggage storage too. We enjoyed eating breakfast on our terrace every morning and kids loved sitting in the hammocks (which I want to buy now!) Also, you must take advantage when Roberto cooks. His meals were incredible and it was lovely to sample this homemade cooking. The location is across from the beach and was very close to everything. We fell in love with this laid-back surfer beach town and never want it to change. We will definitely be back again. Muchos gracias Villas Kalimba! - The Hansen Family

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veracelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed in Villa Gauchito for 3 nights and it was great. Villa is located walking distance from beach ( 200 meters ) and supermarket Pali is very close. Villa itself has all you need ( including the iguana's and occasional monkeys in the garden :) ) with secure parking and pool. We cannot comment on Roberto's meals as we unfortunately did not get a chance to taste them. Staff is really friendly and excellent service from Diego at reception.
Can definitively recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanceke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had an amazing stay at Villas Kalimbas for 3 weeks! It was perfect for our family! We have a 5 year old and a 3 year old and between the 6 villas there was a constant flow of families with kids that our kids could play with. I would definitely recommend Kalimbas for a family vacation. While it's not right on the beach, it is directly across the street, which was very convenient when packing sand toys, bags with snacks, and other kid "necessities". :) Other hotels mention that they are "short walk" to the beach, but be careful, because once we actually arrived in Samara, a "short walk" according to other hotels was about 15 to 20 minutes for an adult. It would have taken us an hour to walk to the beach if we would have chosen one of those hotels. I can assure you though….Villas Kalimbas is literally a "short walk" to the beach!

The service at Kalimbas is AMAZING! Their main concern is making sure that you enjoy a wonderful stay in Samara. From planning excursions to cooking amazing meals, and keeping your villa clean, they will attend to your every need. And, if you are ever unhappy with anything, they will be sure to fix it as soon as possible. If you stay here, you MUST eat at Roberto's restaurant next to the pool. He does not cook everyday, but will let you know what nights he will be, and trust me…you will want to sign up. It is an amazing 4 course Italian meal. We ate there 5 times for dinner during our 3 week stay. I miss his cooking so much!

The grounds were kept up very well and the pool was great for our kids when they needed a break from the sand at the beach! Both our kids learned to swim at Villas Kalimbas! :) It was also great to have a kitchen. We shopped at a grocery store that was less than a block away and were able to save money by making breakfast, lunch and some dinners in the kitchen in our villa. The villas are simple but very clean and have everything you would need (stove top, microwave, fridge, but no oven….I can't imagine wanting to bake anything anyway when it is soooo hot!) There is also air conditioning which is a must in Costa Rica. Oh, and you can flush your toilet paper at Villas Kalimbas…in most places you can't (you have to put it in a garbage can). :)

All in all, the staff is very helpful and friendly and felt like family by the time we left. We miss them and we hope to return someday to visit!! A big thank you to Roberto, Diego, Jose, Isabella and the rest of the staff! Sorry it took us so long to write a review! We miss you and hope to come back soon!!!

Room Tip: All the villas are located around the pool except for 1. I'm not sure which one it is, but if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at Villa Sandy, (6 Adults), lots of room. Good location, great house with own pool. Staff exceptional around the house and at the hotel. We saw crocs in the local river, took a gyrocoptor ride, paddle surfed and explored all the beautiful beaches close by, Playa Barrigona was my favourite! Also great to watch the sunset, sipping a cold beer at one of the bar/restaurants on Samara Beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenSh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights just last week and loved it. Diego was great and very helpful with everything from making our reservation to extending our stay. In fact all the staff were friendly and nice but that just seems to be the way in Costa Rica. I heard the food Roberto cooks was also amazing although we did not have chance to try as the nights he cooked we had already made arrangements. The villas are lovely all set around the pool. Hopefully we will be back

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anj_Ahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halton Hills, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Roberto and Diego were perfect hosts. As the Villa we had requested was not available , they notified us of an upgrade to another Villa at no extra cost.
Villa Sandy was perfect, though larger than we needed with 3 bedrooms. The private pool was sparkling clean, thanks to Marco, the friendly and helpful staff on the property.
You do need a car to get to this property about 2 km down the road from Samara.
A perfect Villa for a family or couples wanting the beach, as well as, privacy away from the beach.
The property is also gated with secure parking.
.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JQTsoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Pequeno Gecko Verde
El Pequeno Gecko Verde
#3 of 33 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Kalimba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Kalimba

Property: Villas Kalimba
Address: Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just steps away from one of the most beautiful beaches on the Pacific Ocean and within easy walking distance to restaurants, bars, shops, grocery, and other services. Our villas feature fully equipped kitchens, air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, internet connection, in-room safes, and 24 hour security. We offer a perfect and safe place from which to explore the many attractions of the area, or for relaxing in the swimming pool and inviting jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villas Kalimba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Kalimba Hotel Playa Samara
Villas Kalimba Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing