We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still 2 thumbs and 1 paw up” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas Kalimba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas Kalimba
Ranked #1 of 32 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
225 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Still 2 thumbs and 1 paw up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We recently stayed at Villas Kalimba for a fourth time. We reside in Costa Rica part time and on two occasions when we took visiting guests to Playa Samara and Playa Carrillo, we stayed at Villas Kalimba with our guests. The two bedroom casitas are perfect for bringing a guest along (or for couple with children).

This is our second tripadvisor review for this hotel and for a second time we rate Villas Kalimba at the excellent + level. This hotel is small (no more than 6 casitas - my math could be off by 1 casita mas o menos) and the casitas circle the pool. This means that wherever you end up casita-wise, you are virtually several steps from the pool. The grounds around the pool are well maintained and provide a tropical ambiance. Since the hotel is small, it is very easy to meet the other guests. As for access to Playa Samara (the beach), the beach is right across the street so you are maybe a I or 2 minutes walk from being in the ocean.

Roberto the owner is an Italian gentlemen who is the perfect host. He is a wonderful cook and all 4 times that we have stayed at Villas Kalimba Roberto has cooked a gourmet dinner for his guests. The other staff members (e.g. Diego) are extremely welcoming as well.

Playa Samara is HOT so you will want air conditioning in your hotel. The A/C at Playa Samara is wonderful and makes for an outstanding sleep experience. The casitas have small kitchens with refrigerators and cooking facilities. - we are ice people and really enjoy the freezer on the refrigerator.

But the biggest plus for us is that Villas Kalimba is pet friendly. Our small dog Neemo is now a regular there.

Almost forgot - 2 times (including the most recent stay) we have been visited by howler monkeys who come to the nearby trees. We have seen many howlers during our time in Costa Rica but never so close.

In a nutshell, we have enjoyed our four stays very much.

Bill, Linda and Neemo

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    75
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
357
181
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
229 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

our expectations based on the information we got before our trip was fully met. The villas are probably the best offer in this small and beautifull beach village! We enjoyed also 2 excellent Italian dinners prepared by the boss. Very nice choice of Italian wines, including a very good prosecco. Perfect for family with younger kids. With a jeep nice excursions are feasible in both directions along the coast. Friendly staff! Price/quality ratio is good, certainly if you pay cash. We left plenty of good souvenirs in spite of ... the mosquitos.

Room Tip: All villas are very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kr1069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We greatly enjoyed our stay at Villa Sandy, which is about a fifteen minute walk along the road from both the main Villas Kalimba complex and the long, shallow beach. Sandy is a comfortable, well equipped and spacious Italian-style villa; it also boasts a covered, tiled patio with a dining table, and a private pool. Our closest neighbors were Howler monkeys.

The maintenance guy was exceptionally friendly, several times testing our halting Spanish, or drawing our attention to wildlife that we would otherwise have missed. Twice during our five-day stay the owner, Roberto, invited us to a cook-out at Villas Kalimba. He is a first-rate host and chef (multiple-course alert: make sure you turn up hungry!). We were very sad to leave.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PhantomTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I returned for the third time to Villas Kalimba just days after my father's passing and thanks to Roberto and the staff we were able to let our worries melt away. We stayed in a villa facing the pool with all the conviencences of home. We made watermelon slushies everyday at 3 ( with a spash of vodka ). The beach is steps away and each day was amazing. People in Samara are just the best and restaurants are abundant not to mention the food in Costa Rica is the best. Don't miss Roberto's famous dinner when he cooks you feel like your in Italy. It took me a few months to write this review for obvious reasons but we can't wait to go back. Pura vida P&J Zuk

Room Tip: There all really beautifully authentic tico style
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Sigh. By chance, we needed to find a place to stay for two more nights in Samara (Treehouse was booked). We checked out a few spots &, thankfully, found Villas Kalimba. Beyond the entrance gate, our two-bed/two-bath villa with kitchenette & outdoor seating was dreamy. The pool and lush landscaping were escape-worthy. And the hospitality shown by Roberto and his staff (Diego in particular) were of the four-star variety. We were told that Roberto cooked "when the mood struck" and were fortunate that it struck twice while we were there. Pasta with lobster and shrimp one night and mixed grill another; both served with ice cold white wine and incredible antipasti. I'm still dreaming about our time here and hope to visit again, soon.

Room Tip: These villas are PERFECT for a family of four. Villa #1 overlooked the pool and was within close wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyAmyfromMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Warm and attentive staff; safe, attractive and well-maintained grounds and swimming pool. Dining area by the pool was site of a wonderful 4-course dinner prepared by Roberto (one of the top 3 meals we had during our 12-day stay in C.R.). Each of the two bedrooms in our villas had AC and a fan. Gas stovetop needed to be unplugged to turn off the electronic ignitor. Microwave malfunctioned with 1st use, and they offered to replace it immediately. Wireless was high-speed and reliable. Villas Kalimba was an excellent value. Generally quiet except when the howler monkey clan visited. Adjacent to a decent market, down the street from an excellent restaurant (Casa Esmeralda) and 1 block from the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

this was our first visit to Costa Rica. We stayed at 3 places and Villas Kalimba was by far our favorite. The villas are nice, clean and the staff is attentive, friendly and very helpful. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
12.4 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
10.2 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
11.3 mi away
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
#4 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Kalimba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Kalimba

Property: Villas Kalimba
Address: Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just steps away from one of the most beautiful beaches on the Pacific Ocean and within easy walking distance to restaurants, bars, shops, grocery, and other services. Our villas feature fully equipped kitchens, air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, internet connection, in-room safes, and 24 hour security. We offer a perfect and safe place from which to explore the many attractions of the area, or for relaxing in the swimming pool and inviting jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villas Kalimba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Kalimba Hotel Playa Samara
Villas Kalimba Costa Rica/Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing