We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This is a good budget hotel with a lot of facilities and very solid round experience. The rooms were clean and airy enough with a well functioning air conditioning (rare place where the air conditioning is placed in a way that you don't get ill). The hotel provides breakfast on a lovely veranda with a great view and a very nice pool which is large enough to swim in and has lounge chairs around it to catch some sun.
The location is slightly away from the main street which is probably not bad for a good night sleep. Samara is tiny so it is still within 10 minutes walk of all restaurants.
It is not located on the beach though, the beach is about 10 minutes walk through the city.

The wifi is available in the hotel although like in a majority of places, the signal was not strong enough to catch in the room. There was always a possibility to sit near the pool which had plenty of chairs and tables and where the signal would work well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chear_up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    80
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
70
184
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Wow , thinking back to the month we spent at this fabulous Hotel ,I find myself running out of superlatives to lavish on this place . Michaela and Manfred, the owners of this special Hotel , have created a little Paradise . We rented one of the appartments , which was great for an extended stay, and just drifted into ecstasy . I would like to say thank you so much Manfred and Michaela for one of the best "Overwinterings" we have ever had !

Viva la Pura Vida at Hotel Belvedere !!!!!!!!!

Lee Morris , The Netherlands .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

My wife and I have been regular visitors to Samara staying at the Hotel Belvedere for at least a month for the past 10 years. Each year we find the hotel just as charming as it was on our first visity. Michaela and Manfred work very hard to maintain a very high standards and still manage to create a relaxing atmosphere. Indeed, it is difficult not to relax and feel completely at ease when surrounded by beautiful gardens and have the use of two large clean pools. There is also a huge breakfast in a casual setting overlooking the bay. The hotel is a short walk to the lovely beach of Samara. We look forward to many years of enjoying the Belvedere experience! Well done Michaela and Manfred!!
Dave and Liz, Windsor, Canada

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fuzzy1155021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

This very friendly family hotel is everything you need for a holiday,. We had a lovely room overlooking the luscious and well maintained tropical gardens. The pool was very clean with plenty of shade. From here you can hear the waves crashing on the beach. You can reach this beautiful beach full of waving palmtrees within 5 minutes. We stayed at this hotel for 4 weeks and i could have stayed easily another 4 weeks.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

....ask for rooms in Belvedere II (new hotel)...great rooms, great breakfast, great services, good beds, wonderful garden areal, cosy atmosphere........................................................................?.........................................................?......................................................................

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank radiomaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Jervis, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This small owner run hotel is a great value. Spotlessly clean and beautifully maintained with lush grounds, there are two sets of rooms, each two story. The newer section has eight units, each with small balcony overlooking a lovely pool surrounded by landscaped jungle. New section rooms (where I stayed and which I thought I'd prefer as more private/tranquil) are simple, large with a king size bed and a double bed, tv, ac, small fridge & bath with shower and solar heated hot water. Individual safe deposit boxes and range of good full breakfasts are included in the tariff. No phones in rooms. Owners and some staff speak good English and are courteous and trying to please. The Belvedere is a ten minute downhill walk from the beach, same or less to most restaurants & Samara center through which one must pass to reach the beach. Laundry service is available. Very quiet with some comfortable guest socializing around the pools and a common area. The office is happy to suggest/help with restaurants, car rentals, activities, etc. A great value for money, convenient, comfortable, attractive and safe.

Room Tip: My preference is the second floor of the new section where I had room 22. A bit farther away than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rider0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We had an apartment with kitchen. Would be great for a small family, suite was pretty big. Fridge was very welcome after a hot day on the beach. Breakfast was perfect, good variety, and good portions. Just far enough from the beach to be quiet, not too far though to walk back and forth as you need.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davidlowyyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.8 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rancho De La Playa
Rancho De La Playa
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara

Property: Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Address: Playa Samara, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Playa Samara
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing