We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Located on the edge of Playa Samara the Belvedere was a peaceful place to stop. It was spotlessly clean and our room was ready despite an early arrival. Our room opened on to a small patio and then straight into the pool. Room had a fridge, hairdryer and coffee maker. The owners were welcoming and helpful even providing glue to mend my husbands trainers. It was nice to have freshly prepared breakfasts rather than buffet style. The hotel is in 2 parts with 2 pools so there were just 11 rooms using our pool. 5 minutes walk to the beach in 32f is quite hard work so we found it easier to drive to the next beach, Playa Carrillo, where you can park on the edge of the sand and swim. 4 days here was just the tonic we needed. Beware mosquitos.

Room Tip: Rooms 15 - 19 have direct access to the pool and a small patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

This place was a gem. We made our booking by e-mail the day before our arrival, and everything was ready for us on arrival.
Our room had been very lovingly prepared, and was very clean and comfortable. Michaela and Ralf (the German owners) were very attentive to our needs and you can tell that they both work extremely hard to make this hotel the success that it is.
Breakfast was excellent, served in a terrace at the top of the hotel complex with nice views over the Pacific.
The hotel is ideally situated, just a couple of hundred metres from the beach but still away from the main street which would certainly have been noisier.
The hotel has a nice pool and also offers a laundry service.
All in all, a great place to stay in what was probably the nicest town we stayed in during our holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This family-driven Hotel Belvedere has a "soul" created by the owners, Mikaela and Manfred.
Rooms, garden, pool, the five minutes walking distance to village and sea is perfect. The self-
-service bar "Trust and Karma" makes a feeling you belong to the family!

Leif, Sweden

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leif505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I stayed just for 1 night, but as soon as I arrived I got a really clear idea of the kind of hotel I was. Great staff, great breakfast, great price too. The owners attended me at the reception and guided me to my room, which by the way is right in front of the pool. The room was very clean, the bed was perfectly accommodated, it even had some flower petals on top.The whole room had an spring odor and that is really difficult to find. The bathroom had an odor sprayer, details like this would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Samara. Perfectly located just 100 mts from the bus stop and just 2 minutes from the beach. This is the kind of hotel that you really feel welcome and willing to come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I was thrilled to find Hotel Belvedere! My room was charming and spotless. The owners and staff were very kind and helpful. I think my favorite part was the great breakfast, served in an outdoor dinning room with a great view of the ocean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The hotel is in a great location - close enough to walk to the small town or beach yet just enough distance for peaceful reflection in the morning and evening. The setting is just what I wanted - in the middle of gorgeous jungle plants/trees and flowers with occasional visits by raucous monkeys and shy iguanas!
Hotel Belvedere is very lovely and the owners (Manfred and Michaela) are friendly and kind - taking great care to make sure their guests are happy and satisified.
The two pools are lovely, the grounds are clean, and the rooms are immaculate. Breakfast was wonderfully delicious (fresh picked fruit every morning) and the dining room - set on the second floor - has a marvelous view of the town and and the Pacific Ocean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherylfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Hotel is just up the hill from the beach, which makes it very quiet and tranquil. Yet, the beach and restaurants are an easy and quick walk.

The room was clean with a refrigerator and air-conditioning. The breakfast was delicious, with a menu that you could choose from several freshly prepared items. The breakfast room had a nice view. Both pools were very pretty and refreshing. There was also an honor bar for $1 beers.

The hosts were very kind and accommodating. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Guidebooks seem to say to choose a room in the new wing, but the ones in the original wing appear to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeidiKenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.8 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
856 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
544 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
897 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
296 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara

Address: Playa Samara, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range: £37 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing